We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Erie's Party Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Bass Island

South Bass Island
1523 Catawba Ave, Put in Bay, OH 45346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Put in Bay
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Theres plenty to see at South Bass Island, such as the Marblehead Lighthouse, the Cedar Point Amusement Park, and the William Perry Monument, and its fishing opportunities cant be beat, especially if you're fishing for Walleye and Perch.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lake Erie's Party Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is the place to go for single, adult night life. It's not very kid friendly. Attractions are limited and the bigggest attraction is the bars and social scene. If you're looking for something family friendly try something different. I was suprised that there is only one beach on the island and it doesn't even have sand, but is covered in rocks/pebbles. Not what you expect from an island, even if it is in the middle of lake erie. Fun, but a specific kind of fun..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    43
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Feels like you are at the beach! Nice little town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We went during the week and it was very peaceful. Although villagers told me to avoid Friday and Saturday. Realizing and the whole family enjoyed the experience. Driving a golf cart instead was a blast. Outdoor chicken patio was the best chicken I ever ate.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malinta OH
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is a Party Place for big wallets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had our first trip to Put-in-Bay, First of all you need to have a Big Wallet as everything is very expensive! Jet Express with rack you $60 for 2 people, a day in a golf cart for 4 was $80 (no coupons accepted on Saturdays) food and drink is just as bad...it is more of a party place then a tourist attraction, it was fun for a day trip but I couldn't afford to be there more than one day. I would never bring children with me, just stuff they shouldn't hear or see! they have a few attractions that are not really much to see or do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent Labor Day weekend on Sound Bass Island. The island was celebrating the bicentennial of the Battle of Lake Erie with the Tall Ships so there was a lot going on. The history of the island is interesting. A visit to the historical society museum is worth the time. Didn't spend much time visiting the bars but there a plenty of them if that's what you like to do. Leave your car on the mainland and take Miller Ferry service then rent a golf cart. It's much easier to get around the island on foot or by golf cart (plus it's just fun). If you like boats and laid back living Put-in-Bay will meet your needs.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“nice place to wonder about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The island makes you a lay back. You can wonder about on the train, bike, golf cart or on foot. It is a small town created just for fun. The attractions are expensive, and really not very attractive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Bass Island also viewed

 

Been to South Bass Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Bass Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.