We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location yet Average at Best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Put in Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Park Hotel
234 Delaware Ave, P.O. Box 60, Put in Bay, OH 43456   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
University Heights, Ohio, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Prime location yet Average at Best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The historic Park Hotel is certainly an antique. The original Victorian style may be charming, however the hotel is showing its 140 years. My advice: KNOW WHAT YOU ARE GETTING INTO. Park's location is fantastic and the rates are cheap. Service was friendly but limited. Unfortunately my room was the size of a large closet, so old/dusty I could barely breathe (allergies), and the window had no screen (and no way to keep it open-I used my shoe). The closet was large, but only had 4 hangers. (It became an ordeal when I asked for more) BE AWARE that there are no private bathrooms. The bathroom on the floor only had two sinks, two stalls, and two showers.

If you are into antiques and have few needs The Park Hotel could work for you, but I will never go back.

Room Tip: Book on the 2nd floor, there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
2
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This Victorian Hotel is in the center of town between the Round House and Frosty's. If you are coming to town and want to be in the center of everything, this is the place to stay. The hotel is very old, but clean. Like the other reviews, the rooms are very plain and the camp ground type bathrooms are interesting, but tolerable. If you are coming here to have a good time, this is your hotel. Put-in-Bay is not a good place for children! Especially after 6:00 pm.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed one night at the Park Hotel. The location is second to none. Right next to the Chicken Patio! The price was $125 after tax for a room with a full size bed. The setting is pretty neat. Very antique. Just like you walked back in time. The room is basic, with only a mirror, chair, nightstand, bed, and closet. Although old, our room was extremely clean! The sheets were brand new too. The bathroom situation is a bit odd, there are 2 communal bathrooms, the second floor has 3 toilets and 3 shower stalls and the third floor has 2 shower stalls. The golf cart rental is $10/hour when you stay with them and they are nice carts. The included continental breakfast consists of cereal, muffins, bagels, and orange juice. It was okay. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful except for the younger ones which could care less about you. Pretty much if you want a clean, decent, and cheap place to stay you have to stay here!

Now the bad part. When we arrived the bathrooms were clean but the women's had no hot water. The morning we checked out the men's didn't have hot water so I went up to the third floor. When I opened the shower stall there was a huge amount of vomit in there - and had been there for AT LEAST 5 hours. It was absolutely disgusting. I went up to the teenage cleaning staff and told them about it, they replied "We know" very rudely and you could tell they knew about it and could care less. That is unacceptable to me.

Other than the water and puke issues this place was good. I may stay here again because of the price but don't get your hopes up about the showering situation.

That being said, EVERYONE in Put in Bay was completely wasted drunk. I have never seen so many varieties of drunk people in one place. It was crazy. It was fun but just completely wild, so I'm not surprised that there was puke in the shower. They should have cleaned it promptly though. And in case you're wondering, beer ranges from $3.50 for a 12oz Bud Light to $6 for a 16oz and shots are crazy expensive.

Room Tip: There is a LOT of natural light that comes in so don't plan on sleeping in too late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fostoria, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night. It was right in the middle of down town pib and was a great Deal! The staff were nice and the building had a lot of charm. There are no tv's not a big deal and the only thing i didn't like were the common bathrooms witch the owner told me about when i called. The have a free breakfast that offers lots of great food. They also have good priced golf carts that i believe to be the best on the island. I was a little faster than other's and it was a nice cart. This is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel and I will deff. be back to visit again.

Room Tip: If you want to turn in early ask for a room that isn't next to the round house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The staff were professional, yet friendly and helpful. My room was sparse, yet clean. You can hear street noise, but that is to be expected when you are staying in the middle of the strip in downtown Put in Bay. After going out all day and half the night, the noise is not a hindrance to sleep. The rooms have ceiling fans above the bed as well as window unit air conditioners. The hallway bathrooms were smallish, yet clean and pleasant enough. There was an assortment of bagels, muffins and cereals for the continental breakfast. Overall, it is a basic accomodation that was clean and safe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is old and delapadated. The staff is rude an the communal bathrooms are disgusting. The air conditioning window unit are old, loud and do not cool. The owners should be ashamed of themselves...I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

What a crap hole. No service, filthy facilities, and a dorm-like atmosphere make this hotel a hellish stay on put in bay. No TV, no phone and a gang bathroom down the hall that hasn't been properly cleaned in months. But the finishing touch is the night help who treat their guests like prisoners in the local drunk tank.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: 234 Delaware Ave, P.O. Box 60, Put in Bay, OH 43456
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Put in Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Put in Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hotel is an Victorian-era hotel, Est.1873. Park Hotel is located in the center of town, on South Bass Island, known as Put-in-Bay, Ohio. A wood framed structure, with 25 rooms and shared bathrooms on each floor for its' hotel guests. The rooms are fairly small in comparison to todays style hotel rooms. Queen, double and twin beds are available thru-out the summer season. Open mid April thru end of October. Rooms are air-condioned, have ceiling fans and unique antique furniture. We offer our guests, clean, comfortable room, with clean shared bathrooms. When making a reservation via over the phone ( we do not offer online reservations) , we inform our potential guest of the uniqueness of the Park Hotel. Continental Breakfast is served daily. We offer golf cart rental, please contact the front desk for details. Park Hotel is adjacent to the RoundHouse Bar and Chicken Patio. Great view of the downtown harbor and Lake Erie. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Put In Bay, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Park Hotel to your Saves list