We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is Texmex” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Vaquera Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Vaquera Mexican Restaurant
9130 Dublin Rd, Powell, OH 43065
(614) 336-1128
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Takeout
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It is Texmex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I am a Latin person, visited Mexico many times, and this is not mexican food, it is more a texmex food. My son in law loves the place and enjoys many different dishes that they serve. Personally for me the flavor does not fullfills my taste.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Mexican Food YUM!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really, the title says it all. It's been a while since we have visited El Vaquaro, but it was always one of our favorites when we worked on that side of town. Food was delicious, service was great, and the staff super friendly. Go during non peak hours for the quickest seating.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pretty affordable and decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This restaurant has been around for years. It has seen a few changes but the food is relatively the same. It is authentic Mexican, which is made and served by ...you guessed it...Mexicans. So even though it has been slightly Americanized, it still brings back memories of the Yucatan when I go there. i would recommend it for the family looking for large portions and at small cost.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Went here with a big group of people. Pretty good find for Mexican food. Nothing really stood out as exceptionally good or bad but its not always easy to find even "good" Mexican food. I've been here a few times and had the Chimichangas each time. The chips are good, queso dip is good as is the salsa. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a good Mexican place.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We recently moved to New Albany from the Carolinas. Had a very hard time finding good mexican food. This is the place. I can only speak for the one on Morse and Hamilton, but it is excellent. The food and drink prices are more than reasonable. Good place for couples or families.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vaquera Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Vaquera Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.