We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Zoo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbus Zoo

Columbus Zoo
4850 West Powell Rd, Powell, OH 43065
614-645-3550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Attractions in Powell
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This world-famous 400-acre zoo is among the city's top attractions, featuring 600 wildlife species housed in spacious natural habitats. Director Emeritus Jack Hanna brings the zoo's most unusual inhabitants to millions of viewers through his numerous TV appearances.
Uniontown, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Columbus zoo was a great place to take all of our kids that vary in age from 16-11. Its attraction made you feel closer to the animals well giving a great variety!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    234
    57
    20
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford City, Indiana
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Surprising zoo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me start by saying if you read the 1 and 2 star review for this zoo, don't take them too serious.
We have been to many zoos, some cost more than others, some have free parking and some don't. You can do some research before you go to any zoo (or other attraction) and know how much you will have to spend and how much there is to do there.

We loved this zoo. This was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. There is a lot of walking, but there is plenty to see along the way. This is a very pretty zoo with plenty of stuff to do. The whole family loved the Dino Island ride. This was a 2013 thing only, so we barely got there in time to see it. The aquarium was a little small, but was still fun. The manatees were fun to watch.

Overall, this is a fantastic zoo with lots to do. The only bad part is that it is so big, we didn't get a chance to see it all!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This zoo was really amazing! Well set up and easy to get around. Great exhibits with lots of different animals. They have a petting zoo, train, and dinosaur water ride also. Lots of food stands ans souviner shops set up all over. Definitely make sure you have enough time to see everything, it took us 4 hours total (2 adults, no kids!) I really enjoyed this zoo and am really glad we took the time to come here!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Big Zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wasn't what I expected, but more. It was a great zoo. Lots of animals. Great gorilla exhibit. You can easily spend 1/2 the day there or more. All the animals were out and about so nothing was missed. A must see if you are in the Columbus area.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best zoo ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were staying at a water park about an hour away an decided to head down to the zoo. We have been there before and by far our favorite. The aquarium is small but sting ray bay is cool and the manatees and they have some of the most unique exhibits I have seen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbus Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbus Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.