We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Portsmouth to your Saves list
Super 8 Portsmouth
4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Prospect
1 review
“stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The renovations in the room we had were done partially and I really liked the new floors and counter. The tub had a considerable drip, the alarm clock is defaulty, switches to midnite and flashes for no reason. The biggest issue was the security latch was cracked on the door side and when attempting to repair, was not lined up with the wall side and was completely unusable. I would hope these items are scheduled for replacement with the completion of the remodel. I would suggest though that the security devise be fixed immediatly. The desk clerk was very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thanks for letting us know how were doing. The latch has been replaced and we are redoing everything including alarm clocks. I invite you to please let us know whenever you have a problem or concern so I can take care of right than for you. Glad you like the renovation so far, it's going to be a brand new super 8 when were done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    46
    28
    26
    24
See reviews for
63
25
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leo, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed the night of Nov. 30, 2013. We were on the 2nd floor which is all non-smoking except for two rooms right by the elevator. we were in the room farthest from elevator but it smelled of stale cig. smoke. The bed covers had numerous hole, the window shades had holes. I returned to the desk and asked for some air freshener only to learn they had none. The lady gave me some Simply Green which I used on the curtains, the carpet, and the bed covers. I opened the window for several minutes to get fresh air. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Public Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Sorry you had problems with your stay. We wish you would have told someone the reason you wanted a new room. We have our third floor which has been redone and is newly renovated. We are sure you would have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Tipp City, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at your Portsmouth, OH location last night and found this experience to be very unpleasant. We arrived in town for my fathers funeral and checked in around 3. After spending all evening at the funeral home and returning back to our room we found the bedding to be disgusting once the sheets were revealed. One bed had cigarette burns in the sheet and the other bed appeared to have dirty bed linens. It was late I was drained from the day so we crawled into the clean bed with cigarette burns. As we woke in the morning and went for breakfast the experience got worse. The waffle maker wasn't working properly the waffle was cooking all the way through so I closef it for a longer period only to find that the waffle was stuck once it was done. After peeling the waffle out and trying again for same results we were done with waffles. We were going to try biscuits and gravy however there was a thick crusty film ocer the top of the crock pot were they obviously had not
been stirred. So we decided to be safe and eat cereal which suprisingly was fresh. But the apple juice and then the orange juice after trying apple were both watered down to the point of being almost tasteless. I have never had a bad experience with your chain but this is by far the worst hotel experience ever. Would've been better off sleeping in our truck and going iut for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Sorry to hear you had a bad expereince at our hotel. the waffle machine requires that you spray it before using it. The spray sits beside the machine, with a sign on the wall telling you how to make one. The gravy is fresh daily and many guest love it. We have many different items on our breakfast but it sounds as if you were wanting more of a sit down breakfast. There is a Bob Evans right down from us that serves many different selections.
Our hotel became smoke free as of December 1st, so im not sure how a burn hole slipped by us but i can assure you all of our linen is fresh and have not had a problem with burn holes. This site is intended for accurate and true reviews. We would appreciate you adhearing to the guidelines.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauseon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We asked for the "non-smoking room ". It was surrounded by rooms that were labeled smoking. Not very effective. We left the next morning with us and our belongings stinking of smoke. There were seveal large cigarette burns in the comforter and stains on the blanket. The sheets smelled of bleach so I had hope for them. The comforter and blanket should have been thrown out. The bathroom was clean but no soap. The entire building smelled of smoke. The buffet was lame with very little to choose from. We will never stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
randyo446, General Manager at Super 8 Portsmouth, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
We are sorry you had a problem with your stay. We are redoing all of our rooms and the entire hotel is non smoking as of December 2013. As far as breakfast, we have gravy and biscuts, waffles, dontuts, yougart, fresh fruit, cereal, milk, juice and cereal. and warm cinnimon rolls. Im not sure what else you could ask for. There is a Golden Corral down the road from us that has a huge buffett for a huge appeite which sort of sounds like that is what you were in need of. Thanks again for leaving feed back but the purpose of this site is to leave true and accurate feed back. Untrue remarks like yours sort of defeats the purpose of this web site. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.