We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were completely satisfied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Portsmouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Portsmouth to your Saves list
Super 8 Portsmouth
4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
“We were completely satisfied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Trudy at the front desk was just as helpful as she could be giving us directions and making sure that we were very well taken care of.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    51
    32
    28
    27
See reviews for
73
27
13
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I have stayed here a few times over the past 3 or 4 years. I haven't had any complaints. The rooms have always been clean and bug-free, and the staff have always been very polite and courteous. The indoor pool and jacuzzi are also nice, whenever it's not overrun by kids.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our stay was terrible! The only good thing I can say is the gentleman at the front desk at check-in was friendly. Other than that is was horrible. The hotel was dirty, all floors, elevator and carpets were filthy. The pool was dirty and milky looking. The hot tub area was disgusting. There were several men hanging outside the pool windows drinking and the profanity was bad, so we had to leave the pool area with our kids. The breakfast area was dirty, cereal holders and drink pitchers were visibly not clean. We did not eat the breakfast. The final straw was discovering bug bites and realizing both beds were infested with bed bugs. We had "lifted" the edge of the sheet and looked the first day, but later discovered they were all in the creases of the mattress where the stitching is, not along the edges. The bugs were visible when the sheets were removed and the mattresses appeared to have been infested for a while. We were mortified! We told the front desk who did not charge us for our stay. However, we spent 5 hours and well over $100 at the laundry mat washing and drying everything we own, not to mention how upset all of us were, including our children! We were told at the front desk that they "check all the time" for bed bugs and they must have come from the people who stayed before us. Anyone changing those sheets could have seen the bugs and the debris that they had left. It was not a "new" problem. We actually caught some bugs and took them to the desk in a ziplock bag after looking up on the internet what a bed bug looks like - only to see a perfect photo of what we had just captured! UGH! I understand hard times and expenses, but some diligent cleaning would go a long way. The mattresses, however, may all need replaced. Very, very upsetting! From now on, we will REMOVE sheets and thoroughly examine the beds at any place we stay! Several of our bags and clothing items were damaged during washing and the 1 hour hot drying that was recommended. Terrible and expensive experience!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

My Husband and I are used to staying at Hiltons, so when we were invited on a triip and this was the place that was choosen, we were quite leary. I am happy to admit that the stay here was absolutly wonderful. It is a Super 8 and not a Hilton, but the accomodations are clean and comfortable. The staff is what truly makes this an uplifting experience. They are friendly and hard working. The breakfast includes fabulous waffles, and there is no way to beat the price.
We look foward to retuning.
Sincerely,
Diane Dowd
Stafford, VA

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I stayed there with my spouse and it was a nice hotel for the price.. yea..needs some touch up work...but the rooms where clean and the hotel staff was nice.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We have stayed at this Super 8 on several occasions and the rooms are always clean, customer service is always helpful. Free USA Today, breakfast, and wifi. It's all pretty decent for the cost. The motel is pretty clean, hallway carpets need replaced, but hallway carpet? Really? Who cares? If you are looking for a good place to stay for the price, this is it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Portsmouth is a dying town with dying hotels. This hotel isn't much different. I recently stayed in this hotel on a weekend. Seven years ago, I used this hotel for a long term stay. Back then, it was new, in a recently developed part of town. Seven years later, the adjoining grocery store is now a building supply, local restaurants are now closed down, and the area restaurants have withered away, leaving little more than a McDonald's. This area, known as Rosemount, isn't exempt from the area decay.

Little itself about the hotel has changed, including the paint, carpet, furnishings, etc. It's wearing down. However, it's still OK.

It's a typical Super 8 Hotel. The lobby was small, but did have a public internet terminal. There was also a breakfast room. The pool and hot tub off were located off the lobby, and were the best part of the hotel. Behind the hotel was a clump of picnic tables, barbecue grill, and a sandbox for guest use that were worn out and atrophied. But, the pool was OK.

The rooms were well worn, but clean. There was a table with two chairs, but no lazyboy. However, there was a micro fridge, which was helpful. The bed was OK for one night. The bathroom was small, with the sink and mirror located outside the room. It was OK for one night.

The breakfast was typical bagel, oatmeal, and cereal. I didn't partake.

Overall, it was OK for the area. It competes in the local market just fine. Because of that, I would recommend it, but I probably wouldn't be happy with the facility if it were in a more competitive area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Portsmouth

Address: 4266 US Route 23 North, Portsmouth, OH 45662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Super 8 Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Portsmouth
Portsmouth Super 8
Portsmouth Super Eight
Super 8 Portsmouth Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Portsmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.