We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POSIONOUS SPIDERS IN AIR COND/HEATER UNIT” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1723 E. Perry St., Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Clinton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Port Clinton
Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“POSIONOUS SPIDERS IN AIR COND/HEATER UNIT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

After driving 10hrs & arriving at 2:10.a.m. upon opening my deluxe lake front room...I am greeted by a extra large hooked claw spider traveling across the ceiling...I notified the front desk for help....I was told "Well I can give you a fly swatter to kill him with"...So I killed him....The next day when it was light out, I saw hundreds of dead fruit flies laying all over the window ledges/window runners/and carpet floor.,I found a 6-inch centipede on the window screen...3-spider sacks in the folds of the window drapes....My socks were picking up dead bugs from the dirty dusty carpet.....The water drain smelled like sulfur from the quarry....The wet bar sink tap had black sticky build -up....I had to clean the room myself...My trip was for 2-weeks long....I had to go to Wal-mart to buy Raid....The giant hermit crab spiders were entering the room thru the Rotten,.Wet hole under the air unit by the window....Spiders were coming out from behind the picture frame behind bed.....That room had not been cleaned for a very,very long time for there to be hermit crab spider nests in the drapes....The hallway on floor -2 had webs and nests by the windows...And the screens were bent on some of them....I had to clean the air vent from the heater unit...I was completley black with soot that caused me to cough and sneeze....I was more concerned about my baby Robo in the room, I was traveling alone....I was watching T.V. & the air unit cover opend by itself....Then out comes a spider.....Oh Yea! Lovely!.....I touched the drape handle to close the curtain...And out comes another spider for me to kill....The Windows in the room After I used Windex were not foggy anymore....Then I could see the webs & pinchers of the spiders real good....At night I saw one coming down on his web-line over the top of my bed......All it took was a housekeeper to clean the best she could before I arrived and my vacation in the room with the lake view would have not been a waste of my money...And a little "Shop of Horrors"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    23
    24
    16
See reviews for
31
47
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cabot, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Upgraded our room to lakeside ($200 nightly) which was just a window to look out of. You had to sit on the bed to look out. The window was completely covered with huge spiders and webs---so we saw nothing. We could not open the windows because of them. Bought bug spray but there was way to many of them. Every window in the entire hotel was completely covered with webs and huge spiders. No joke---every window! These spiders were the size of quarters! Two floors and they can't clean this! It was beyond terrible. The lamp shades were very stained and dirty. Bed was comfy, pillows nice. The pull out cot was terrible to sleep on. My daughter complained the whole time. Employees all were nice. Breakfast was fair. Extremely watered down orange juice one day---undrinkable. No bedbugs noticed. I would rate this fair if it wasn't for the spider poulation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was the worst Comfort Inn that I have ever stayed in. It is supposed to be the top of their line, but this one fell far short. It is run down and dirty. The lake view includes a nuclear power station. Loved that...can only imagine what is in the water. Bedding is old and uncomfortable. Towels were poor quality. Overall a very bad hotel for the money. One positive--the lady taking care of the breakfast was very nice and welcoming. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: None at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

[iminent=txCsqcgUWfOB] very nice for the price we were very happy with it. hot tub and bath room were sperated from the main room with a shower curten we didn't mind that at all it was GREAT....[iminent=txCsqcgUWfOB]

Room Tip: spend an extera $30 for a lake frount room its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My son and I stop here on a drive back from Wisconsin to NYC. We wanted to visit the peninsula. This place is the typical Comfort Inn establishment, not too modern, but efficiently run. We slept well and staff at breakfast and at the reception were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Our non smoking room stunk of cigarette smoke and was outdated. We checked out shortly after checking in and the staff were understanding and helpful with our request. We did not want the kids smelling the smoke. Would not advise non smokers to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
impactgal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just stayed one night because it was close to Put-in-Bay. There was an earwig crawling in the room in the tub. There was a spider in the corner and the room was stiffling hot when we got there. I don't think the A/C in the room worked correctly. The Bed was fairly comfortable, but the TV was terribly blurry. it was $215 with tax for one night - not worth the $ paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1723 E. Perry St., Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Clinton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Quality Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.