We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, Just Ok” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn to your Saves list
Quality Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1723 E. Perry St., Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Clinton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Ok, Just Ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Went there to get a day away. The cost was $49 for a king Jacuzzi suite. (I understand it was the off season.) The hotel was passable for the price. However, they need to spend some time with some elbow grease and update the place. Sealing the deck; updating the rooms; and just overall remodel are needed. Don't get me wrong, it is not totally out of date. It is just getting pretty close. It is unfortunate because the location is tremendous. The breakfast food was also pretty poor. You could have used the cooked eggs as coasters for your drinks. Would I stay again? For $49, probably. For more than that, I would be disappointed..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    24
    25
    16
See reviews for
33
47
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I want to give this place a better rating because the staff are excellent and the room does the job. The "lake view" is heavily obscured by Burger King and trees but the room is fine and clean enough. The location is right on the lake with various junk food, grocery and other stores at the doorstep and the area seems safe. But there are a few problems.

The wifi didn't work in my room. I suspect it would work in the rooms closest to reception though as it was fine in the breakfast room.

There are ants in the jacuzzi and centipedes in the room. I'm pretty sure the centipedes are harmless but I hear their presence can sometimes be a clue to deeper insect problems.

The water pressure is pretty bad. I was all set to give this place 3/5 until I couldn't get the shampoo out of my hair in the morning. It takes a long time to warm up too.

Definitely not the worst place I've stayed but I suspect you can find better in the price range.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

A big group of us stay in Port Clinton every year and it has migrated from hotel to hotel as some end up being pretty terrible. It's not easy to find a hotel on the lake with ACCESS to the lake and the Comfort Inn is one of the few in the area that does.

What this place has going for it is location and the pool area which is one of the nicer ones in the area. The pool is really nice and is kept clean and the cabana is nice to have some shade. I wish they had more chairs but it is what it is. The sunsets from here are unreal. The breakfasts here are also pretty decent for being "free" and I loved the change of flavors for the belgian waffles (the vanilla is delicious!).

What this place doesn't have going for it is the rooms. They aren't the greatest. If you know you're going to be in and out of the pool area often request a room toward the end of the hall so you aren't constantly hiking back and forth. The bonus is that you should also have a nice lake view from your room as well. The beds are pretty stiff and uncomfortable and are not the cleanest you will find. However, this area is not really a high end place and it could be worse (I'm looking at you Best Budget Inn).

It's nice to be able to walk to some food options from here (Big Boy, Burger King and the Jolly Roger) as well as to be able to use the ramp to get into the lake.

Also note: keep an eye on your credit card charges especially if you are renting with a group. Last year despite my changing the reservation to my card prior to check in and AT check in they still managed to bill the person that made the reservation's credit card despite my asking, many times to verify the charge was in fact going to MY card. When I figured it out and called no one would give me the manager and when I finally resorted to email I never got a reply.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north end are all suites with king beds and a whirlpool. However note that the rooms h...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn Port Clinton in August 2011. Very nice and clean hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. They have a free shuttle to the Put-In-Bay ferry. The best thing was the pool and outdoor deck. Beautiful views especially at sunset. Will definitely stay again. Very enjoyable!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was quite the room I tell you. We booked the room as an overnight stop on a road trip and took a punt on the hotel. It is on the lake front.

The hotel is older, and well it lacks any refinements that indicate the management is trying to make it better. Everything is basic and functional, nothing is done with an eye to improving style. The hallways are kind of dirty, that old dirt that a makeover can only fix. There was a broken door near the exit to the lake front that was slamming in the wind, it needed a new auto closing arm, yet seemed to have been broken for a while.

The room I booked was a king hot tube suite. Here was an eye opener, yes it had a nice sized hot tub, BUT, it was set in the wall area between the bedroom and bathroom. Now picture this, a shower curtain between the hot tub and restroom, and another shower curtain between the hot tub and bedroom... what's missing from this picture? NO WALL between the pan and bedroom! So if you want to take a dump (number 2's), you need to be very comfortable sharing with your room guests.... there are two shower curatins between the pan and bedroom!!!!, Ironically it did have a closing door to get into the bathroom, but that's just to create a place to walk through I guess.

Our solution was to use the restroom downstairs in the pool area.

Also, and maybe it's because of the near lake location, there seemed to be a number of other "guests" like centies and spiders about the place in hallways. I think they stay for free.

Breakfast was good. Full hot breakfast and plenty of it. That's about all tat I can say was above par. The rest well below expectations.

Ok you could stay here at a pinch but I would say, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I used my rewards points to stay at this hotel with my wife. I expected to get a standard room since I was using my rewards points instead of paying. I was pleasantly surprised on entering a Lake view room with a hot tub! The room was clean and roomy even though the hotel had some obvious signs of use. The pool area was very pleasant and a great place to watch the sunset. We wished we had allowed enough time to spend another day. Staff was pleasant and very helpful. By the time we got to breakfast, the pickings were slim.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis MN
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel is clean and very convienent to the ferry service to put in bay. There is no actual beach but there are stairs over the rocks to the sandy bottom lake. Port Clinton is far nicer area to stay then sandusky. Area around the hotel is not very toursity and there isn't a whole lot to do on the main land but it is a great pit stop before the island. Free breakfast is average and well stocked. We had no problem with noise traveling with our 2 week old baby.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 1723 E. Perry St., Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Comfort Inn Port Clinton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Quality Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.