We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McCarthy's

McCarthy's
101 Madison Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
419.732.8800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
CARY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great place for lunch or dinner. Wat staff wonderful. Our food was great, what more ca I say? Saurkaurt balls interesting and good

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    60
    16
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Decent pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I had the shepherds pie which was tasty and a great chocolate desert. Good selection of beers to wash it down. Service was also friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Boxty is a must!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I ordered the Boxty Beef Stew and it was delish! Definitely try to check it out if you've never tried a Boxty.

My husband tried the fish and chips which was good as well.

I tried the famous Guinness beer and it was smooooth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Amazing food (try the Perch Wrap and the chicken wings)! Fantastic selection of beer on draft with reasonable prices. Excellent staff (ask for Ariel--she was helpful, friendly, down-to-earth, and just a great bartender). This is a perfect place for some afternoon/evening drinks, for dinner, and for meeting some of the locals.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on Friday evening. We just seen it, and decided to stop. It was great. Hubby had prime rib, an end cut, that he asked for. I had mussels Ina wine sauce, and we split a small salad, that was more then enough for two. They have a sweet onion salad dressing to die for.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCarthy's also viewed

 

Been to McCarthy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McCarthy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.