We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nasty service and pool problems” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cedarlane RV Park

Cedarlane RV Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Port Clinton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedarlane RV Park
Save
You added Cedarlane RV Park to your Saves list
2926 NE Catawba Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Nasty service and pool problems”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

With way too many rules and regulations and not enough sinks, the employees and management at this park left much to be desired. As a family of five, with three adults, the stay became frustrating when wifi wasn't available (our whole stay) and when the adult pool was closed (our whole stay). With these things advertised by the camp, we were unsatisfied with the lack of reason for the closure. Also, the ridiculous attitude of those employees enforcing the pool "wristband rule" which was an insult in itself to us paying customers who should be allowed unlimited access to all pools as advertised without having to wait for the busy attendant to physically place the wristbands on our wrists. Also, 5 mph is ridiculous. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our park. We are regretful that your visit did not meet your expectations. It is completely true that we had connectivity issues with our wi-fi. Unfortunately, this was a problem only Time Warner could fix and their repair schedule was less than ideal. (It is operational again now.) Our rules and regulations are more or less standard, except we make an effort to enforce them at our park in order to maintain a safe, friendly, enjoyoable environment for all our guests. Parts of your review, however, are inaccurate. "Paying customers" ARE allowed unlimited access to all pools as advertised; wristbands are used to ensure that those paying customers are the only ones using the pools so as to prevent overcrowding and a consequently poor experience. Furthermore, all pools are open daily contingent on weather. It is unknown why you received the impression that they were not, but had the weather been conducive to swimming and the question had been raised to the store personnel, it would have quickly become a non-issue. Finally, to disagree with our 5 MPH speed limit is certainly within your rights, but it is an argument against safety that we will never concede. We are a family owned, family friendly park, and the safety of our guests and staff supercedes any minor inconveniences it may cause. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve your family and for raising your concerns. We will use your comments to ensure we are fulfilling our mission of family friendly, quality camping in a quiet, safe, and clean environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, OH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We've been camping here with the kids for 2 years in a pop up. Just bought a perm. site and a 27 ft rv trailer just to camp here permanently. IT IS THAT NICE!
Expertly cleaned and run efficiently. Great staff and great pools. 3 awesome pools, one splash pad, close to the islands and Mon Ami Winery. It just doesn't get any better than this. Enjoy!

Room Tip: some camp sites are more shady than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner_or_Manager, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're pleased that you appreciate our cleanliness and the management of the operation. We try incredibly hard to exceed the expectations of our guests, and are humbled that you enjoyed us so much that you are now here for the entire season! Bring on the sunshine, the camping season is almost upon us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandusky
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

If you have a family and plan to camp for some relaxing family fun...then DO NOT CAMP AT CEDAR LANE!
Even if you follow all their rules (which are numerous) they will still find something to bug you about.
This is not a friendly atmosphere whatsoever. The bathrooms are dirtier each year. One time all the stalls in the women's restroom were clogged and not working. They hired less help this year than in years' past.
The employees in the office are rude and condescending. They seem unhappy to be there, which could result from an upper management problem. Treat your employees bad, then they treat your customers similarly.
Employees seem nice to their short term or weekend-stay campers, because they make the most money off of them. They are rude to the seasonal campers who may only visit periodically.

It is very expensive and a waste of good money! DO NOT CAMP AT CEDAR LANE!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarlane, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our operation. It saddens us to hear that you feel the way you do, however in your review, you have incorrectly cited and misrepresented many facets of our park. When the park is filled to capacity of 300 occupied sites, 1,200 people (half of which are children), 50 pets, and 450 cars and trucks, complete chaos would ensue if our rules did not exist or were not enforced. Based on the rate of our return campers, both seasonal and transient, most guests appreciate the attention and consistency we give to the rules that are 60+ years in the making. The restrooms and showerhouses are given an extraordinary high priority at Cedarlane, as evidenced by our 9-star “exceptionally clean” rating in the Woodall’s and Trailer Life directories. Unfortunately, with the sometimes large volume of guests, issues can occur quickly while we make our cleaning rounds and not be addressed until our next pass through. We do, however, appreciate hearing from our guests when issues arise so we can rectify them immediately. We continue to hire more help, not less, and most of our team has been here for several seasons because they do enjoy the friendly atmosphere and work environment. Furthermore, there is no plausible reason to believe why hourly, non-tipped employees would have any incentive whatsoever to treat short term guests any differently than seasonal guests. It is clear that you did not enjoy your stay, and for that we are regretful. We endeavor to exceed all our guests’ expectations, and are sorry to hear that we did not accomplish our goals during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently returned from 4 days at Cedar Lane. We have been there in the past and had a good stay but this time we were greatly disappointed. There are 3 pool areas there. One is only for adults, where alcohol is permitted. The first ,bigger shallow area is for children, but this weekend it was overrun by adults carrying coolers and doing too much drinking. There was actually an issue between two men that almost came to blows. I don't think it is necessary for adults to sit in the kids pool and drink their beer. The kids ended up being pushed out by too many adults. I hope that Cedar Lane is not trying to become the "party Pool" CG for the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarlane, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your past patronage, we truly appreciate and rely upon return guests to remain a viable operation. First, please allow me to assure you that we have always strived to be a family friendly park. We have absolutely no aspirations or intentions, nor will we allow ourselves, to become a party-friendly campground. Responsible consumption of alcoholic beverages is in fact permitted in the park and pool areas. However, we are extremely aggressive when it comes to any sort of overconsumption, inappropriate behavior or demeanor, excessive noise in pool areas or after quiet hours, or any other behavior that is deemed as generally unacceptable or inconvenient to our guests. While we try our best to police all areas at all times, issues naturally go unseen on occasion. Therefore, when issues of safety, inappropriate behavior, etc. reach the office team, they are handled as quickly and sternly as possible. As for the adults overrunning the wading pool area, we have not noticed this as an issue; however, that doesn’t mean that it wasn’t the case during your stay. We will continue to monitor that area and your concern closely once the season begins. Thank you again, we appreciate your feedback and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baxter, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We spent one night here enroute to the east coast. The pool was lovely after a day of travel. We were to late for ice cream, but they reopened just for us. Our tent site was level and had morning shade. But the best part was the shower. I have never seen a campground shower that clean. If they had been air conditioned, it would have been perfection. (It was very humid that day.)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarlane, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and for your patronage! It is rewarding for our entire crew to hear how our hard work towards making our guests’ stays pleasurable continues to pay off. We wish you safe future travels, and hope that you stop by the next time you are driving through!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

My family and I were told about this campground about 4 years ago and decided to give it a try. We have a pop-up and like to be toward the front of the park if at all possible. We have never had an issue at this park and the staff has never been anything other than pleasant with us. We look forward to the camping season so that we can return to OUR paradise! I have and will continue to recommend this park to anyone who is a camper and looking for a GREAT place to camp and of course will return again and again! Thanks for giving us a place to love and look forward to returning to, you are definately doing something right!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarlane, Owner at Cedarlane RV Park, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We appreciate hearing that you have enjoyed your stays with us! To be referred to as your paradise is extremely humbling; comments such as those are what give us the drive to do even better for you next time. Our team will be pleased to hear that their hard work makes such a difference in your family’s visits. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We have a 35ft motor home and I found the park to easily accomodate us, there was more than enough room and I did not feel like we were too close to our neighbors. When we travel we like to talk to our neighbors and this was an excellent park to do that. We enjoyed our stay very much and if we come through this part of town again would stay here.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedarlane RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedarlane RV Park

Address: 2926 NE Catawba Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Port Clinton
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Cedarlane Rv Park Hotel Port Clinton
Cedarlane RV Park Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedarlane RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.