We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Work in Progress” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Aviation Museum

Liberty Aviation Museum
3515 E State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
+1 419-732-0234
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Liberty Aviation Museum is a newer museum that opened in July of 2012 at the Erie-Ottawa International Airport (KPCW Carl Keller Field) in Port Clinton, Ohio. Our museum consists our B-25 Mitchell, WWII bomber "Georgie's Gal" built in 1945, recently restored by Aero Trader out of Chino, CA.Ground vehicles include a 1941 Dodge ambulance, 2 Jeeps, German 37mm AA gun, German Horch Truck, German Field Kitchen, German Kubel, 3 BMW Motorcycles, Tiger Tank Replica, Hetzer Tank Replica, Panther Tank Replica (currently undergoing restoration away from the museum), & 2 WWII PT boats under current restoration (Currently not available for public viewing. View the PT 728 Thomcat facebook page for photos of the restoration of the boat!) The PT-728 Thomcat will be available for boat experiences after restoration is completed! The boat will also be on display once our new hangar expansion is complete in early July 2014. Please visit us on facebook & Twitter for the most current information! $5 for adults to the museum. Children under 14 FREE with an adult. Museum Hours: Sun-Thurs 10am-4pm, Fri-Sat 10am-5pm or call to schedule a tour after hours. Don't forget to check out the Tin Goose Diner attached to the museum! Open year round, open 7 days a week (7am-7pm), serving breakfast, lunch and dinner! You can fly in or drive in to visit us! When flying in, please radio the FBO to verify that our ramp is open for parking. If it isn't, you can park at the airport and we have a shuttle that will bring you to our facility next door!
Kuwait city
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Work in Progress”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It was a cold, snowy day, and we had a little time to spend, so we went to the new aviation museum. Well, it didn't take long to take in the whole thing. There are a few interesting things to see, especially the Ford Tri-Motor exhibit. The staff are welcoming, very helpful and extremely enthusiastic about the place. It is just the right place for enthusiasts of Amelia Earhart, antique planes and war vehicles. I forget how much admission was, but it wasn't cheap. I'm glad I went, but I must admit I won't be going back.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    18
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Clinton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Scenic Lunch or Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Not only is the museum interesting, but the attached diner-style restaurant has excellent food, and service. While eating, you can enjoy watching airplanes take off and land. Thoroughly enjoyed the museum and the lunch.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Liberty Aviation Museum - 1950's Dinner - Airport all in one.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

On November 26, 2012, I was invited to a aviation friend's 70th birthday at the Liberty Aviation Museum in Port Clinton, Ohio, next to the Griffing Sandusky Airport. Flying in is very popular. This facility is only about 18 months old. Located within the museum complex is the Tri-Motor Heritage Museum. I was really impressed with what I saw. It is described as a full "hands-on" museum. We saw their featured, fully operational, WWII B-25 Mitchell bomber "Georgia's Gal" along with other aircraft, vehicles and artifacts. It has a restoration facility with an on site fabrication facility. We could see the progress that was being made on their vintage Island Airlines Ford Tri-Motor airplane. All fabricated structural parts are made to identical specifications of this particular Ford Tri-Motor airplane. Upon restoration, it will be a fully functional airplane with the original identification numbers. In addition to the planes and vehicles, we saw several display cabinets full of early armed forces clothing and memorabilia. We did not get to see their PT -728 WWII U.S. Navy Motored Torpedo ThomCat Boat. This is a fully restored PT boat and is the only operational PT boat in existence offering rides to the public. It is ported in downtown Port Clinton, Ohio. Anyone interested in early aviation and memorabilia, this is a must see stop.
While at the Liberty Aviation Museum, you must enjoy the fabulous food at their fully restored 1950's vintage Tin Goose Diner. See Tin Goose Diner review

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liberty Aviation Museum also viewed

 

Been to Liberty Aviation Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Aviation Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.