We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Deer and LLamas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Safari Wildlife Park

African Safari Wildlife Park
267 South Lightner Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
800-521-2660
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Drive-through safari park features more than 100 acres of land where hundreds of rare and exotic animals roam free in simulated settings.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Battle Creek
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots of Deer and LLamas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

You want to stay in your car while driving through. The animals will come right up and put
their head right in the window. They had a special the day we went. Buy one package of food
and get another one. Worked out good. Like the Giraffes. Had a good time. Also have a
walking place with a wart hog and other animals. Not a bad place to take kids.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are happy that you had such a wonderful time. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    157
    64
    26
    32
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Check Off The Bucket List!! We Loved It!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We live in Southern Ohio and Got a Groupon for the Park, so I was unsure about driving 3 1/2 hours and staying the night just to go to the park. Boy was I glad we did!! I never laughed so hard at the animals sticking their heads in the windows to eat!! Our two younger kids ages 5 & 13 thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We drove through twice and I recommend getting the $24.00 feeding kit and like the others stated break up the carrots to make them last longer! Hold on to that cup with two hands (because we lost three). The Groupon was a great deal!

We can also say we saw a warthog and a capybara!!

All these crazy peoples' reviews whining about the slobber, animals etc. shouldn’t go to a drive thru animal park!!! Bring some towels with you, don't drive your brand new car through and complain ( just go to a zoo!!) and don't feed the animal, roll up your window if your worried about aggressiveness! These are helpful tips for the timid!

My husband and I are in remission from cancer right now and we can say we hand fed zebras, bison and giraffe's!!! Who else can say that unless you go to a park like this!!! Yes the carrots and feed are expensive, but it was a once in a lifetime experience and we got to experience it with our kids!!! and that is priceless!!

If I had one complaint (and its small) I wish the camel rides were during the week as well because my kids were looking forward to that :(

Maybe someday in the future we will go again!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such a wonderful time!! We are currently in our off season so camel rides are not available during the week, but during full season (which runs from Memorial Day weekend to Labor Day weekend) we offer the camel rides every day. We hope to see you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is quite an interactive excursion for kids to see deer up close, as well as a couple of buffalo, zebras, and giraffe's. In fact we were able to feed the giraffe's through our sunroof, and they seemed quite friendly. The deer were a bit aggressive, wanting to jump up to the window, and some of them with long antlers could really scratch/dent your car so be advised! The carrots and feed are outrageously priced. Bring your own carrots, although they tell you that you can't. There is a walkable section with some unique animals, including a white alligator, 3 African porcupines (up to 45 pounds...much bigger than other porcupines).
For a family with kids, this is a good way to get up close to some animals. Just don't drive a nice car, and be prepared to spend some money. We had Groupon coupons which saved on the admission fee. You will pay a fortune for their carrots though if you don't bring your own.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had a fun time. We do however ask that you do not bring your own carrots. Our park is regulated under the United States Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) division of Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. This means that many times per year a government agent will tour our park and ensure the highest quality of animal care. We are governed by the Animal Welfare Act under the USDA, according to this act if public feeding is allowed, food must be provided by the animal facility, be appropriate to the type of animal and be appropriate for the animals nutritional needs and diets.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood River, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Up Close Animal Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Driving through the Park is close to being in the African wild--except for the fact that the animals want to be up close since you are probably going to feed them. My sister had fun feeding the deer, but a moose was too much for her and took the food cup out of her hand. As you drive through the Park you encounter many animals, deer, elk,llamas, bison, etc. Besides those in the open, you see others behind fences, including giraffes, zebras, elans and many others. After the drive you can enjoy the animals in cages--warthogs, chimpanzees, capybara, etc. Also, you might enjoy the pig races and animal shows held every two hours. Fun for adults and children. I was able to get some great up-close pictures of the animals.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad that you had such an amazing time and look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Follow us on Facebook for chances to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Thomas, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An Exciting Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We live in the Cincinnati area. My wife saw the African Safari on the Internet and thought it might be interesting. We made the 220 mile drive to Port Clinton. Yes, it is a Safari. You drive yourself through and the animals come right up to your car. If you have your window open, you get heads in your car. You are given food to ffe the animals and, of course, they're looking for handouts. There are no lions or tigers but there are llamas, many varities of deer, buffalo, giraffes elk, and others. You can circle the area as many times as you wish. After the drive, they have many animals in cages - mostly from Africa and South America. Bottom line - I was impressed. A fun time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASWPASWP, Public Relations Manager at African Safari Wildlife Park, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is always a great feeling to hear from our guests who have been coming for years. We can't wait to see you again soon!!!

Follow us on Facebook for a chance to win free passes to the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed African Safari Wildlife Park also viewed

 

Been to African Safari Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Safari Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.