We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Put In Bay alternative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Port Clinton
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Put In Bay alternative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Please understand, the high ranking is based on location and price. It was clean (no "musty" smell as previous reviews) and the front desk was friendly ... but if you're staying in town for a week, this may not be the hotel for you. It's just your basic, small, Motel 6 type room.

However, it's 2 blocks from the Jet Express - which is why we chose it. It was a little over $100, on a holiday weekend - which would have cost $250 - $300+ (with a 2 or 3 night minimum) for the same basic room on the island. While we normally do stay on PIB, this was a great, budget alternative.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOZ99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write a review for our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time while visiting us and the Port Clinton/Put In Bay area. We look forward to assisting you with your future lodging needs.
Thank you,
Deb
ABVI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June.. We were in room 102 and while it wasn't the ritz, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. It was 154.00 for two nights, including tax and we got a 4.00 each discount on the Jet Express ferry to Put In Bay. Within two blocks we found Marco's pizza, Mendoza's Mexican Rest, McCarthy's Irish Pub, Subway, Ala Carte Cafe (breakfast and lunch only), Fisherman's Wharf, the Jet Express dock, the fishing pier, and a small stretch of beach They have their own dock at the back of the hotel and there are tables and chairs to sit and watch boats go by since it is right on the harbor. Call for reservations before you go, the parking lot was full when we stayed! Will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: The double rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccann1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time while staying with usand we look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs
Thank you,
Deb
ABVI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed over the holiday weekend. The location was great for access to ferrys to the Islands and the ammenities in Port Clinton. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a water front room (233) and thought the view was great. Even though the place is older it was nice, clean, and the bed was comfortable. For the price I thought it was a good deal.
The only complaints we had was: 1. At night we turned our a/c off for the quiet but the a/c in the room next to us was still almost as loud. 2. It would have been nice if the room had sheer curtains. We would have liked to have had some privacy and still been able to have natural light. The only curtains there now were so dark no daylight comes in at all.
That said we will stay there again next trip. Bill & Sofie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beh920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to helping you with your furture lodging needs. Thank you for your suggestions with improving our hotel, we find all guests suggestions helpful when we upgrade and remodel our rooms for overall guest satisfaction.
Thank you,
ABVI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were very disapointed with the room accommodations.Everything was very old and in need of updating.Even though it was a holiday weekend,the room was way over price.
We will never stay at this Inn again!

Room Tip: Stay at a diffrent facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are in the process of updating our rooms with new linens and furnishings. We also addressed any problems you had in your room and fixed them. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a day (and night) trip to Put-In-Bay. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the price was right. As long as you set your expectations based on the price you paid, you should not be disappointed. My only gripe is that it seemed like this particular room (231) had the world's loudest AC unit. Good thing I'd been at the bay all day, or I may not have been able to sleep :-)

The front desk staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammy1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We have addressed your concern with the air conditioner and taken care of it. We take great pride in meeting or exceeding our guest expectations and look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I rated this because of the friendly staff and awesome location. I do feel it was a bit pricey for the room - but it was clean and within walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving your furture lodging needs.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, oh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Inn because it was the closet location to the head boats going out. Upon entering the room, it smelled very old and musky. We opened the window to try and resolve that problem. It was a very small room but since we were traveling without the kids, we didnt seem to mind so much with the exception of the bathroom. This bathroom was VERY disappointing. For starters, it was very outdated, the sink look like it was about to fall, the toilet ran all night long and when taking a shower it went from hot/warm to extreme cold. The worst of the stay was the first night after we turned off the lights and started to driftt off to sleep we heard critters running around. There is NOTHING to do in this town if the weather is bad and you cant fish!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. We have addressed and corrected any problems with the room you had. Unfortunately we only can improve our hotel we have no control over the weather and fishing trips.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port Clinton hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
BEST WESTERN Port Clinton
#4 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 18 in Port Clinton
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
OurGuest Inn & Suites
OurGuest Inn & Suites
#12 of 18 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Address: 121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing