We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Value for the Money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Clinton
ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GREAT Value for the Money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June.. We were in room 102 and while it wasn't the ritz, it was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. It was 154.00 for two nights, including tax and we got a 4.00 each discount on the Jet Express ferry to Put In Bay. Within two blocks we found Marco's pizza, Mendoza's Mexican Rest, McCarthy's Irish Pub, Subway, Ala Carte Cafe (breakfast and lunch only), Fisherman's Wharf, the Jet Express dock, the fishing pier, and a small stretch of beach They have their own dock at the back of the hotel and there are tables and chairs to sit and watch boats go by since it is right on the harbor. Call for reservations before you go, the parking lot was full when we stayed! Will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: The double rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time while staying with usand we look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs
Thank you,
Deb
ABVI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    20
    8
    5
    8
See reviews for
8
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed over the holiday weekend. The location was great for access to ferrys to the Islands and the ammenities in Port Clinton. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a water front room (233) and thought the view was great. Even though the place is older it was nice, clean, and the bed was comfortable. For the price I thought it was a good deal.
The only complaints we had was: 1. At night we turned our a/c off for the quiet but the a/c in the room next to us was still almost as loud. 2. It would have been nice if the room had sheer curtains. We would have liked to have had some privacy and still been able to have natural light. The only curtains there now were so dark no daylight comes in at all.
That said we will stay there again next trip. Bill & Sofie

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to helping you with your furture lodging needs. Thank you for your suggestions with improving our hotel, we find all guests suggestions helpful when we upgrade and remodel our rooms for overall guest satisfaction.
Thank you,
ABVI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were very disapointed with the room accommodations.Everything was very old and in need of updating.Even though it was a holiday weekend,the room was way over price.
We will never stay at this Inn again!

Room Tip: Stay at a diffrent facility!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are in the process of updating our rooms with new linens and furnishings. We also addressed any problems you had in your room and fixed them. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel after a day (and night) trip to Put-In-Bay. It was clean, the bed was comfortable and the price was right. As long as you set your expectations based on the price you paid, you should not be disappointed. My only gripe is that it seemed like this particular room (231) had the world's loudest AC unit. Good thing I'd been at the bay all day, or I may not have been able to sleep :-)

The front desk staff was also very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We have addressed your concern with the air conditioner and taken care of it. We take great pride in meeting or exceeding our guest expectations and look forward to helping you with your future lodging needs.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I rated this because of the friendly staff and awesome location. I do feel it was a bit pricey for the room - but it was clean and within walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving your furture lodging needs.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
franklin, oh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Inn because it was the closet location to the head boats going out. Upon entering the room, it smelled very old and musky. We opened the window to try and resolve that problem. It was a very small room but since we were traveling without the kids, we didnt seem to mind so much with the exception of the bathroom. This bathroom was VERY disappointing. For starters, it was very outdated, the sink look like it was about to fall, the toilet ran all night long and when taking a shower it went from hot/warm to extreme cold. The worst of the stay was the first night after we turned off the lights and started to driftt off to sleep we heard critters running around. There is NOTHING to do in this town if the weather is bad and you cant fish!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. We have addressed and corrected any problems with the room you had. Unfortunately we only can improve our hotel we have no control over the weather and fishing trips.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is the second time this summer we stayed at the Lakeland Motel(America's Best Value Inn). The room was clean and the management was very friendly. The location is within a very short walk of the Jet Express dock which is why we chose this motel. The price may be a little high for the size and type of room, but is pretty comparable for other motels/hotels which are not as close to the dock. We will definitely choose this motel again for future trips to Put in Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and our location to the Jet Express. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Address: 121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.