We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Indiana, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Great Location - Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

I rated this because of the friendly staff and awesome location. I do feel it was a bit pricey for the room - but it was clean and within walking distance to everything. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving your furture lodging needs.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    21
    8
    5
    9
See reviews for
8
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
franklin, oh
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed at the Inn because it was the closet location to the head boats going out. Upon entering the room, it smelled very old and musky. We opened the window to try and resolve that problem. It was a very small room but since we were traveling without the kids, we didnt seem to mind so much with the exception of the bathroom. This bathroom was VERY disappointing. For starters, it was very outdated, the sink look like it was about to fall, the toilet ran all night long and when taking a shower it went from hot/warm to extreme cold. The worst of the stay was the first night after we turned off the lights and started to driftt off to sleep we heard critters running around. There is NOTHING to do in this town if the weather is bad and you cant fish!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay at our property. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you felt you experienced with us. We have addressed and corrected any problems with the room you had. Unfortunately we only can improve our hotel we have no control over the weather and fishing trips.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This is the second time this summer we stayed at the Lakeland Motel(America's Best Value Inn). The room was clean and the management was very friendly. The location is within a very short walk of the Jet Express dock which is why we chose this motel. The price may be a little high for the size and type of room, but is pretty comparable for other motels/hotels which are not as close to the dock. We will definitely choose this motel again for future trips to Put in Bay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and our location to the Jet Express. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This place is over priced for the rooms and the xtras. The room was small and the bathroom very very small barely enough room for one person. As far as breakfast cheap .50 cent danish is not my Ideal of food. Should at least have boxed cereal and real donuts. The shower water kept going from warm to ice cold not my ideal of a nice relaxing shower. The good points are the staff was very friendly and easy to get along with. The room was clean for the most part. And they did let me dock my boat at the docks for free. Also it is in a good location close to ferrys and charters. over all Id give them a 5 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. He are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff. We sincerely apologize about the trouble with your shower. Please know that the shower has been fixed. I hope you give us another opportunity to help you with your lodging needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
270 helpful votes 270 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

I have very mixed feelings on this hotel. It is truly a Motel 6 property but for triple the price. You are paying for the location, but... I wasn't impressed with the area either. It's been several years since I've been to the area-- there's not much left to the little "town" 3 store fronts were empty--

As for the hotel itself--

The pros: every person we met at the front desk was very nice. Large deck on the back of the hotel overlooking the marina. Close to the Jet Express if you are headed over to Put In Bay.

The cons: VERY basic. Room has no character, old, nondescript furniture, old tv, pillows... very small bathroom. No coffee maker in the room. Coffee, juice and some packaged items out for breakfast in the lobby. over priced for what you get.

Overall, the room was clean and the people very nice, but.... I have an issue with paying Hampton Inn prices for a Motel 6 room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colon, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I traveled all the way from Colon, Panama to visit friends in the Northern Ohio area. Someone recommended that I stay here because of the views of the lakes. The rooms were very clean and gave a comfortable feeling. The price was also reasonable because of the closeness to the downtown area as well as it sitting right along the water. The people in the office were extremely pleasant. I had a few questions for the lady about the area and she seemed to know almost everything about the area and helped me a lot. I got a chance to meet the manager and he was also and very down to earth nice guy. It was my first trip back to the states since I graduated college 5 years ago and the people at this facility truly made it one to remember. Because of their kindness, I plan to stay there every time I come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write a review for us. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to assisting with your lodging needs in the future.
Thank you again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancater OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We felt very welcome. This motel has been in the same family since 1951. Has been kept up nicely; added rooms onto it too. On the waterfront; we sat on the patio watching the boats -- and the Jet Express go by, often. Room was very clean; if we asked for anything, it was provided ASAP. Within walking distance to the Jet Express, good restaurants, and shopping. We had a wonderful week end!!!!! Our room faced the water which was an added plus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake; there's no balcony on 2nd floor but you can see further out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviportclinton, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to know you enjoyed our friendly staff and your stay with. We take great pride in exceeding our guests expectations. We look forward to another opportunity to assist you in your lodging needs in the future.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton

Address: 121 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.