We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
Powell, Ohio
1 review
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is a good hotel in a very good location. We used points to stay here, it was too many points for a nights stay (35,000). I noticed I could book this property on the IHG website in August or September also. The cost of points remained the same however the nightly rate went from $325 in July to $230 in August and to $135 in September. This made no sense to me.

Room Tip: As a platinum IHG member we usually receive a top floor room, however we had a 1st floor room here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Mark C,

Thank you for being a IHG Reward Member we greatly appreciate your loyalty to our brands. Unfortunately, we do not make the point value for IHG Reward Night free nights; IHG Rewards Club determines the amount of points per night. We hope you will come back and visit us again.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    158
    63
    32
    18
See reviews for
163
135
25
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The room was very clean. The staff were friendly. The pool and hot tub were really nice as well. It would be nice if the pool and hot tub area could stay open until at least midnight though because we didn't arrive until late, so it would have been nice to get to use it longer. Also, it would be nice if the front desk kept bottle opens for wine and beer because we forgot ours and had to run to Walmart. Also, the location is good for put in bay visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jacqueline,

Thank you for the great words of praise and about the staff and cleanliness; we really appreciate it. Thank you for the suggestion on the pool hours, it will be something we look into. We hope to see you again.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 507 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This HIX meets that chain's standards. What sets it apart is its central location in the Port Clinton-West Harbour-Sandusky-Cedar Point area, a location that other chain hotels don't match since most of them are located out near the turnpike.

The hotel is at a crossroads less than a couple of miles from highway 2. There are several restaurants nearby, including a McDonalds across the parking lot and wild mexican place up the road. Kitty corner is a large grocery store. Behind the hotel is a marsh covered in large lilypads. This is pretty and it makes the back of the hotel quiet.

The rooms were very ordinary. The stairwells are well kept however they are at the ends of the building only, so if one doesn't want to wait on the third floor for the slow single elevator, one has a lot of walking to do. The breakfast room is large and airy, with a nice second floor breezeway.

Unfortunately, the HIX breakfast is looking pretty outdated and unhealthy compared to the offerings of rival chains. Too much pre-cooked stuff of dubious origins. My stay was marred somewhat by the room rate inflation associated with the "Christmas in July" event in town. If I had stayed the weekend, as I wished to do after 3 days working in the area, my room rate would have gone from the already-high $200 to $350.

Serviceable, but nothing special.

Room Tip: If you stay on the second floor, an open central staircase gives you access to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello NW_Raven,

We are nestled in the center of all the activities in and around Marblehead, Catawba Island, and Port Clinton. The ferries to take you to the Put N Bay and Kelly's Island is just six minutes away; our location is fantastic!! Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express as your choice for lodging while working in the area.

We are so sorry you did not like our continental breakfast. We just added some healthy options such as greek yogurt, apples, and turkey sausage.

We hope you will return again while working in Port Clinton. Take care.

Best Wishes,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athol, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Exactly what we were hoping for at the price we paid. Breakfast was yummy! Front desk staff were friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. We did not have a chance to use the pool, but it looked decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Marczsport,

Words cannot express how much we appreciate you letting us know about your recent stay. We love reading such glowing and awesome words of accolades and praise. Your kind words mean a lot to us. We hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was the worst mattresses I have experienced since my Girl Scout Camp bunk bed. The room smelled terrible, mostly from cigarettes. The Wifi connection was very on and off. When I complained to the desk they told me it was often this way 'especially when it rains'. We were in room 102 which is next to the lobby. The noise level was incredible as the rest of the hotel moved past us toward breakfast. Perhaps the problems with the mattress, smell and noise level are peculiar to this particular room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Hello Susan Y,

We appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to let us and other travelers know about your recent visit. I am so sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. Please accept my deepest apologies. We hope ypu treat this as a isolated incident and give us a second chance.

Best Regards,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

sometimes being at the right time at the right hotel is the experience itsself.
the hotel is conveniently with a free shuttle to the port,
the customer in the recepation were nicé the roome was clean and the breakfast was good

Room Tip: all rooms facing the lake beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Bilha y,

You made our day with such a fantastic and rewarding review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Your wonderful words of praise means so much to us and we look forward to seing you again. Once again THANK YOU!!

Best Wishes,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stayed at this property many times. The front desk managers and staff are excellent...very friendly and make you feel right at home. The rooms were updated since our last visit, nice bedding, no dirty comforters (my pet peeve), and very clean. The refrigerator in the room was a bit noisy and you had to be careful as the unit started to tip over when you open it. Needs to be better secured in place. You cannot beat the shuttle to the Jet Express...it is free (plus we were given discount coupons for Jet Express to the Islands), comfortable, could not be more convenient, and the driver is super nice and very courteous. The breakfast (included) is convenient. While I was not a fan of the eggs and sausage, there were plenty of choices like bagels and various breads for toasting, cereal , milk, juice, greek and other yogurt and decent coffee. If you want egg and sausage or are too late for breakfast, head next door to McDonalds. Thanks for another nice stay!

Room Tip: Our 2nd floor room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Adventurer957,

Thank you for choosing us as your choice for lodging. Your review about our staff and Holiday Inn Express and Suites means a lot to us. You are most welcome and please come back and visit us again.

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Clinton
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Port Clinton
4.3 mi away
The Island House Hotel
The Island House Hotel
#2 of 19 in Port Clinton
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
8.9 mi away
Bay Lodging Resort
Bay Lodging Resort
#1 of 7 in Put in Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 19 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#6 of 19 in Port Clinton
3.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
4.9 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.