We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
East Palestine, OH
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband and I are Beaver Valley Power Station employees and recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton/Catawba for seven weeks on a temporary assignment at the Davis Besse Nuclear Power Station to support their Steam Generator Replacement/Refueling Outage.

The hotel is conveniently located near shopping and restaurants, which was a bonus. It was nicely maintained and clean, with a delightful breakfast selection. The pool and hot tub area was lovely, and impeccably clean. We enjoyed the hot tub on several occasions. The room was clean and quite comfortable. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They are what make this hotel outstanding! When encountering a few very minor snags initially, they were quickly and efficiently resolved. But what stood out for us was the fact that they accommodated the DB workers by making a beautiful breakfast available each morning by 0400-0415. That was VERY much appreciated by those of us who needed to be on the road by 0430!

I must say that ALL the employees we encountered were friendly and efficient, but the one that stood out to us was Carol. Her work ethic most certainly exceeded every expectation, and she made an outstanding effort to make sure we had what we needed before we headed out to work. She clearly took pride in representing the Holiday Inn Express

There were, however, a couple of negatives. The parking lot could have been better maintained when dealing with significant snowfall. Clearing thick ice away periodically would have made the parking lot much safer. The worst thing of all was the fact that the area under the canopy provided for check-in and unloading had a surface that was absolutely treacherous when damp or wet. It is an accident just waiting to happen. Not a matter of “if”, but when! I hoped every day that it wasn’t going to be one of us. Hopefully this will be recognized and resolved with perhaps a coating of a safer surface applied.

All in all, if given the opportunity to return for the next DB Outage, we will most certainly choose the comforts of the Holiday Inn Express for our lodging needs.

Room Tip: We had Room 309 and it was perfect. We did, however, hear folks comment that a room too close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Miss Pegs,

Thank you for the valuable feedback about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We place such a high value on our guests feedback and it impresses us that you were so happy to share your recent experience with us and other travelers.

We were more than happy to assist you in any way that we could. It was our pleasure to have the Express Start Breakfast set up early for all the employees; so they could have a hot and yummy breakfast before starting their long days at Davis Besse Nuclear Plant.

Thank you for the positive comments concerning our staff here. We take GREAT PRIDE in giving outstanding service to all of our guests and it makes us glow with happiness when our guest notice such fantastic service.

Once again thank you from myself, the staff, and the ownership for such a rave review, your patronage, and now your loyalty. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    132
    51
    30
    17
See reviews for
127
107
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year and it was pretty new. This year it still looked new. The room included a fridge,microwave and safe. It was VERY clean. The bathroom was also very clean. Pillows were labeled as to softness and bed was very comfortable. Breakfast in the morning was hot and plentiful. All in all a good place to stay. Looking forward to next year.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Hello Patti54,

WOW!!!! THANK YOU for the fabulous review. We take such great pride in our cleanliness and we have an awesome housekeeping department who go through extensive training to ensure the proper cleaniless of the room. They are the best and we appreciate all they do. We greatly appreciate the time you took out of your busy schedule to let us know how we are doing. We look forward to your next visit.
Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I love coming here it is like visiting great friends. The rooms are always perfect. The pool and workout room are perfect. Great breakfast in the morning and a great cup of coffee. If in the Ohio area this is a must stay location.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Hello Bp6623,

Thank you for the outstanding review. We really appreciate you taking the time to let us and other travelers know what a great stay you had at Holiday Inn Express and Suites. WE LOVE OUR GUESTS who are like FAMILY; we appreciate their business and their loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Sincerely,

Kim Bartish and staff (your Holiday Inn Family)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, OH
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this property for 2 nights and were very happy with the facility! The hotel is very clean and well maintained - nice indoor pool, breakfast area and small but sufficient workout room. The rooms are nicely appointed ; the bathrooms are small. Overall a great place to stay in a great location with restaurants, grocery stores and of course, Lake Erie close by.

Room Tip: Rooms 111, 211 and 311 back up to elevator shaft..... Not extremely loud... But enough to be bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Hello Tam1222,

Thank you for choosing our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. It was our pleasure to serve your lodging needs. It always brightens our day when we can read such a fabulous review written by a satisfied guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a great place to stay, The Front desk was helpful, The breakfast bar was clean and plenty to choose from, if you wanted hot food or some thing simple it was all there, the pool and hot tub area was clean, well stocked with towels, the room was awesome, got plenty of rest, got my wake up calls on time, the are defiantly into detail. and care about their guest.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms are best for guest that have AT&T cell phones,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Beachbum2014,

Your high words of praise about the service and the establishment mean a lot to us. We are so proud that you immensely enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will always continue to use our Holiday Inn Express and Suites while visiting Port Clinton, Ohio.

Sincerely,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

This was recommended to us because we were in nearby Marblehead taking care of some business. The room was outstanding! Clean, and very comfortable. I could understand why a couple would prefer to have queen sized beds, but our standard double suited us just fine. We will stay there again if we're going through the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Hello Dpdossin,

It means a lot to myself, the ownership, and the staff that you would take valuable time out of your busy schedule to let us know how much you enjoyed your "HOLIDAY" at our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. It is our pleasure to serve your lodging needs and exceed your expectations in the process. We take great pride in our facility, service, and cleanliness thank you for noticing. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Respectfully,
Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved this hotel! Rooms very spacious and cleanliness was first class! The hotel staff was one of the best I have ever been associated with! Breakfast was always ready on time and hot coffee or tea was available at all hours!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Greetings Arnold S,

We greatly appreciate your wonderful words pf praise. It gladdens our hearts and brings joyous smiles to our faces when we have exceeded our guest expectations. We hope you will continue to use our Holiday Inn Express and Suites while in Port Clinton, Ohio. Once again thank you!!!!

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.