We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Ards
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

A group of us checked out trip advisor when we couldn't find a suitable hotel in Port Clinton, glad we did. This hotel ticked all the boxes, Value, Cleanliness, Location, Staff. Can't find anything to complain about! We are not likely to be in this area again but can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Greetings Steven R,

Thank you for the wonderful review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We love it when a guests stay and can tick all the boxes; that means we are doing something right. We love to hear when a guest has made the right choice by staying with us. We hope you can make it back to Port Clinton; if not it was our pleasure to serve you lodging needs. Thank you for choosing us!!!!

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    132
    51
    30
    17
See reviews for
127
107
20
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Recently remodeled and situated on an inlet of Lake Erie. Get a room on the backside of the hotel for a nice view. A short drive to all the spots of interest and the ferries to the nearby islands. Convenient to the OH turnpike and Ry 2.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you RobfromWL for the awesome review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We are very proud and very happy with the renovations. Thank you for the words of praise and your feedback. We value our guests input about their stay. It gives us the data in which we use to facillitate changes. Once again thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule. It is greatly appreciated.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well, this is the first review I've written about a location I've never visited. Decided to try to reserve a block of rooms here because it's only a mile from my wedding location. Called and asked to speak with the general manager, Kim, which is what I was advised to do. Kim quickly responded with, "we are not accepting blocked rooms at this time." Ok... So should I wait a few months? Am I just too early? "We are not accepting blocked rooms at this time." Ok.... I hear you. When would be a good time?"WE ARE NOT ACCEPTING BLOCKED ROOMS. OK?"
Ok. Fine. I understand if you're booked. But I received no explanation, no customer service, no "have your guests call and try and book a room without them being blocked because we'd still love your business." Her matter-of-fact ness was extremely intimidating. Just be nice. I understand if there's none available the wedding is... 8 months away. Due to her rudeness and clearly not caring to receive any of our business, (which is close to 130 out-of- town guests) I'll make sure to tell our guests to go elsewhere, even if we can't get blocked rooms.

Is customer service a thing of the past?

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohiogeo1, Owner at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello JBEHRENDSEN: I am sorry to hear about your experience when you called our hotel. We certainly want to service you and all of our guests. Please give me a call at 419.627.1671 X3301 - I would like to speak with you and see if there is an opportunity or not to get you booked in our hotel. I will give you my personal best. Thank you, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirtz, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

They are improving the looks as well... Great food and stay. Rooms are nice. You must stay here if you come to this area. The staff is very friendly. The pool and hot tub is very nice. Local restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Tracey C,

Thank you for your wonderful and outstanding review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We value our guests feedback and we are honored you were willing to share. We hope to see you again. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has a great location, we saw 2 bald eagles sitting ou by the reservoir , just off lake Erie. Even though they were remodeling, it was no inconvenience. And it will be gorgeous when it s complete. Staff was very friendly. Very clean. We were just ther for a quick overnite visit with family, never en in the area before. Would love to go back and explore the area and lake Erie in warmer weather.




Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hello Gersty34953,

We are honored and proud of our Bald Eagles nesting in the trees by our little lagoon. I am so happy you were able to enjoy them on your recent visit to Port Clinton, Ohio. We love the wildlife that our lagoon attracts like swans, birds, and musk rats. Thank you for the wonderful words of praise about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. We hope you can return and see the results of the hard work being done to make our establishment a great hotel guests love. Once again thank you.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were on our way back from Niagara Falls and decided to stop in Port Clinton on our way back to Toledo. We stay at this hotel often. The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is wonderful.
although there was construction going on, the noise level was low. The pool area was clean, the water was warm. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 118. The suite was very nice, clean and comfortable. although the bathroom was sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you Joyce0619 for the AWESOME review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites; we always enjoy reading our guests thoughts and recommendations. We value your feedback and thank you once again for taking the time. We hope you come back and see us on your next journey.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I were in Port Clinton for an overnight getaway, had dinner at Mon Ami adn spent the night. Check in was smooth no problems good breakfast would stay again, everyone there was polite and went out of there way to help.

Room Tip: First floor room had a nice view of the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KimBGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Greetings BLJ_905,

Thank you for the great review about our Holiday Inn Express and Suites. Great reviews are so enjoyable to read. The Mon Ami is a great place to dine while staying in our facility; we hope you remembered to show them your room key from the Holiday Inn Express and Suites to receive your 10% discount. We hope you will continue to use our establishment while visiting Port Clinton, Ohio.

Kim Bartish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton

Address: 50 NE Catawba Rd., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know that comfort and convenience are top priorities on every traveler’s mind. That’s why we designed our Holiday Inn Express & Suites® experience around your unique needs. Stylish accommodations and streamlined guest services help get you where you’re going, while our signature bedroom and bathroom collections might give you a reason to stay behind.A vacation at Lake Erie doesn’t get any better than when you stay at our hotel overlooking one of Ohio’s northern lagoons. Our large selection of comfortable and modern rooms and spacious suites are equipped for a great family vacation plus you’ll enjoy a HOT Breakfast, large atrium-style indoor pool, and children 17 and under stay free! The hotel has a stable and robust high speed wireless internet. •FREE Jet Express Shuttle (time and availabilty varies)•Free Express Start HOT Breakfast served every morning•Large atrium-styled indoor pool and whirlpool•High speed Internet access - Reliable, Robust and Fast!•Business center with fax and photocopy service available•32" HD Flat Panel Televsions - ALL HD - 72 HD Channels•Microwave and refridgerators in each room•In-room coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer and safe•Free local and 800 calls•Children 19 and under stay free with an adult ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Hotel Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Express Port Clinton
Holiday Inn Port Clinton
Port Clinton Holiday Inn
Catawba Island Ohio
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.