We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really really good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi

Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi
3975 East Harbor Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
419-734-6400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 70 Restaurants in Port Clinton
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy a front row seat to a culinary performance at Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi. Hibachi chefs entertain with dazzling knife and spatula tricks while cooking the meals to perfection. Utilizing only the freshest and finest, Nagoya also offers an expansive sushi bar featuring fish flown in from around the world.
Lexington, Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stopped in Friday might and had appetizers and drinks at the bar. My husband had tuna tartar ~ one of his favorites and I had soft she'll crab. It was fabulous! Always enjoy sitting at the bar ~ lots of activity and we get great service!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The Sushi Bar is Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

As Port Clinton residents, we have been to Nagoya numerous times. We have gone as a couple and with family and friends on special occasions. The Hibachi experience was fun once, but we saw no reason to do it again. It would be great with kids, as they would appreciate the theatrics. We would also suggest that you go with a party large enough to have the whole table to yourselves. We were eating with several different couples, and at least one of them was unsocial.

That being said, the Sushi bar is awesome for Ohio. You can reserve a booth for dinner, as we do on special occasions. The seafood of all kinds, though pricey, is fresh and expertly prepared. It gets crowded at times, so be sure to reserve a booth, or just wait at the bar for an open seat at the Sushi Bar. In season, the soft-shelled crab and fried oysters are awesome, as are all of the sushi rolls, etc. The "special" dinners are superb, but hang onto your wallet!
Also, this restaurant, like many in Port Clinton, is seasonal in nature. Call ahead.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I go to Nagoya every time I go to Lake Erie, most times twice. Always sit at the sushi bar so can't comment on the hibachi. They have a great variety of sushi and always have some imaginative specials. Drinks are great and they don't skimp on the liquor. Service was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced, disorganized, great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We came here from spending the day at the water park. We were not properly dressed, but they didn't care. Upon arriving, they said we could be seated right away or wait 90 minutes for Hibachi. When the rest of the party arrived a few minutes later, they changed their story. They said first come first serve in the bar. We managed to find a table outside but the wait time took forever because the bartender was short staffed. Once we ordered, the soup and salad came quickly, then 2 of the 6 dinners with incorrect rice then the rest of our dinners. My steak was not cooked to order & they took it off the bill. The drinks were flavorful, the sushi excellent. No offense but I can get the same presentation of foods for less @ PF Chang or other fine food restaurants, as well as better service for a lot less cost. My bill for a party of 6; 4 adults, 2 teenagers with 2 drinks. $189 with 20% tip (felt sorry for the bartender).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Always packed and consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

After a day with FISH ON Charters just 2 miles away and a limit of fish we head for a good dinner. We have done the steak house or just the sushi bar - both are consistently good with good service. Water views also available and did not realize until this last visit when I walked up and heard the live music.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.