We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID THIS PLACE!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bayshore Inn

Bayshore Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bayshore Inn to your Saves list
Bayshore Inn
1.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   2149 E. Gill Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Port Clinton B&B and Inns
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS PLACE!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for my bachelorette party to save a little $. The man who own it's/ manages it was EXTREMELY RUDE!!! My sister accidentally locked her key in the room, she went to the office & ask for one, he said "REALLY?!?".... and then he THREW the key at her.

My mom is disabled by arthritis and he told her there would be coffee in the morning (helps get her joints moving).... There was NO coffee & the pop machines were "out of order."

Checkout said 1pm, he ended up yelling @ my sister and said that checkout was 11 and we MUST GO!

Worst experience EVER at a hotel

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    2
    3
    11
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We needed a room over Father's Day and didn't want to spend much $. Now we wish we had spent a bit more to upgrade. We slept ok, but clearly this place needs major work. The pics are nicer than what is really there. It wasn't dusty, but was musty with stains on carpet, mattresses, toilet and bath. The wallpaper was taped back into place. Breakfast was a prepackaged donut and coffee. The manager was quiet but cordial. On our 2nd day, we didn't have maid service, but found several hand towels left just inside the door on the refrigerator. Perhaps we got what we paid for. Will upgrade next time, for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Thought it seemed really cheap - but we checked it out and you do get what you pay for. Horrible, smelly, moldy rooms. After switching to different rooms twice we got our money back - we had booked through Hotels.com - who helped us.
Manager said they were going to remodel - they should be CLOSED until then and I still would NEVER go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I checked in for our anniversary two days ago. The reviews scared me but we already booked and it's non-refundable. We figured if it was horrible we would go elsewhere. We thought they were closed since we were the only ones there. We expected the worst but our check-in went smoothly, the room was basic but clean with a king bed and jacuzzi, microwave,tv,and fridge/freezer. We ended up with an almost empty motel the whole time- which gave us the pool to ourselves ( could have been skimmed but was acceptable) and we could go outside in our pajamas at night to watch the deer without the crowds. They cleaned the room the next day and replaced the sheets towels and shampoos and were neat and tidy. They don't Bother you. The reviews are probably hurting their business but for our trip- we loved all the privacy! I have stayed in motels that weren't even half as nice but were big names and we paid double. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Bay Shore Inn was absolutely disgraceful! First off, the owners spoke very broken English and barely understood anything we said. The pool was dirty and cloudy, we could not even see the bottom. There were bugs and a huge spider and when we asked the management to remove the spider, they said no, but then once asked again, he did. It was like pulling teeth, that's for sure! Rooms smelt awful, ours smelt of stale cigarrettes and our parents' room smelt like burnt tomato soup and very musty. It was beyond tacky and the mirror had stickers all over it. The carpets and chairs were stained along with holes in the upholstery including the bedding. I would definitely not walk on the floor or anywhere in the room without socks or shoes on. Secondly, the bathroom was relatively clean, faucet was cheap and handle came off. The showers are made for little people. Management was not very pleasant and said nothing to us the whole time we were there. Our parents' room had been complained about prior to us arriving, but they gave the people who complained about it a brand new room while they were stuck in the disgusting room. While we were there, we talked to the couple who complained about our parents' room and they said the health department was there the day before and were complaining about their inn, but they were having a very hard time communicating with the management, so I don't think they made a very large impact, sadly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveland ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011 via mobile

Went to visit Put n Bay, most of hotels on islands were booked for the weekend I wanted. Went up for first time with my husband and another couple, so we had no idea what to expect. I'm not picky at all, but the Bayshore inn was dirty, and old. Couldn't use pool the whole time because of pump issues . We had adjoining rooms , and first few hours the bathroom flooded and had to get other rooms!! Had to ask for coffee maker , and it was so dirty couldn't use it! We loved Port Clinton, Put n Bay, and Kellys Island!! Next time we will pay the extra for a better hotel on the water!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayshore Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayshore Inn

Address: 2149 E. Gill Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bayshore Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You’re going to love our motel in Port Clinton. We provide excellent Port Clinton accommodations with free Wi-Fi, Cable TV, and a large outdoor swimming pool. You couldn’t ask for a better location with Port Clinton Attractions, Downtown Port Clinton, and Lake Erie all within a mile. If you stop in, be sure to check out African Safari Wildlife Park, Adventure Bay, and the Jet Express all nearby. Come experience the Bayshore Inn difference yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayshore Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayshore Inn Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayshore Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.