We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely done” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Island House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Island House Hotel to your Saves list
The Island House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Welcome Birders
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Beavercreek, Ohio
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nicely done”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

You couldn't ask for anything cleaner. The room was done up very nice. Bed very comfortable but a little small. We elected for the queen bed to save a buck. We could hear a little traffic noise but over all nothing to complain about. We did some thoughtful arranging to have access to our things, The bath and bedroom are very small. Great location to the Jet Express! Rosie's pub and grill that was in the building was a nice little excape. We listened to some good music there. The ladies at the front desk were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    73
    13
    10
    8
See reviews for
36
107
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new orleans
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We appreciate and seek out older properties with character and history, and so are pretty forgiving of the small flaws that they can sometimes have, deriving often from the renovation to include modern amenities. That said, these ARE very small rooms, but with a little creative arrangement of our stuff, we managed nicely for a two night stay. The bed was simply heavenly! And we are picky on beds, having owned a Sleep Number bed for over 10 years. Front desk staff were friendly and accommodating. Location is excellent. Very quiet in the evenings, as even the bar closed at 10 on these week nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had vacationed many times in Port Clinton, Put-in-Bay and Marblehead, but never stayed at the Island House. We finally tried it, and we're glad we did. It's a charming place yet thoroughly modern and updated on the inside, very clean, and a good value. Location is also great, right downtown and across from the Jet Express. Personable staff, also. Rooms are quite small, but very nice and also quiet. Only negative was very static-y TV reception and no ESPN (although it was on in the bar), although most of the other usual cable TV channels were included.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms may have had a view (ours was an inside-facing one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was our first time in the area, so went by the great reviews here. I agree with all of them - the beds are great, very clean, huge corner room (lucky it was during the week) I have two suggestions for the owners/managers to make this historic hotel even better.
The hotel reminded me at first of many quaint European ones, with one exception. The free breakfast was nothing special and reminded me of those in chain motels. It would cost very little to provide real plates and silverware, real coffee cups instead of paper and perhaps croissants and jelly or nice pastries, instead of tired chocolate donuts. Those are all standard in most European ones.
Also, there is so much history there,that someone needs to write it down and make it available to guests. The friendly staff was helpful in repeating some of it, but I'll bet there are many more great stories about DiMaggio, Monroe and Babe Ruth.
All in all, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

What a great place! I am a little bit of a nostalgic so I am getting so very tired of the predictable cookie cutter Marriotts and Hilton properties. While you can rarely go wrong with these companies, taking a chance on an outlier and actually winning is so worth it! This hotel is right across from the Jet Express which takes you to the Lake Erie Islands so the location is ideal if you are touring those islands. My daughter and I stayed two nights; a Put-In-Bay visit in between the nights and it was a perfect plan. The hotel clerk was a lovely lady who treated us like long lost nieces or sisters. Everyone at the desk every day was professional, friendly and helpful. There are 3 reasons I can't wait to go back:
1) Historical ambiance. Great architecture and great nostalgic story about Marilyn Monroe having spent her honeymoon there. Can't find that at a Best Western!
2) Most comfortable bed I have ever slept in at a hotel. Not kidding. Had read this in a review and was skeptical. It is true. And not even sure why it was such a great bed. Just was.
3) The dining room food. All is made from scratch and we had some of the best food we have had in years all in two days. Prime rib rolls were to die for. My daughter had a duck on her plate that was enormous and delicious. Fettucini asparagus alfredo probably the best alfredo I have ever had. I left very fat and happy. The only criticism about this hotel is that there is absolutely nothing to do around the area. A couple little shops (one flower shop nearby has some cute gifts) but other than that you better have a good companion or a good book!

On second thought just forget this review. I don't want to have an issue with availability when I want to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very cute, quaint and clean hotel! The beds were a bit small, but we still were able to get a good nights sleep. The rooms were quiet and cozy with new amenties. The desk staff was great and helpful. This is a good alternative if you don't want to stay on the Island. Short walk to Jet Express.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvania, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband grew up in Port Clinton and was very familiar with the history of The Island House. We were so happy to learn that it had been renovated so we decided to book a stay and it was fantastic! Our room was immaculate! Beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet. The atmosphere is so cozy and rooms have a touch of nostalgia and history. The continental breakfast was good, although some hot food options would have made it perfect. The hotel is only a short block from the Jet Express if you want to head to one of the islands. I can't say enough wonderful things about our experience at The Island House.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Island House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Island House Hotel

Address: 102 Madison St., Port Clinton, OH 43452
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Island House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island House is a unique combination of boutique hotel with historic charm. Enjoy an attentive staff, charming ambiance and World Class dining. Walk to Jet Express, fishing charters and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Island House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Island House Hotel Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.