We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Port Clinton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Port Clinton to your Saves list
Travelodge Port Clinton
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1811 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Portside Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Travelodge because we were going up to Put in Bay for the day and did not want to spend the money on a hotel on the island. The Travelodge was great for what we needed. It was right on the lake, which was really nice. The room was older looking, and a little smoky, but we requested a smoking room so it was expected. Everything was clean, the bed was comfortable, and the price was right. If you just need a place to sleep for the night, I would not hesitate staying here. The worst part about it was the free breakfast. They had about 3 things to choose from, but that was not a big deal to us at all. If you are not planning a fancy getaway, and just want to check out the area, this is perfect. It was about a 10 minute drive to the Miller Ferry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    38
    30
    30
See reviews for
48
47
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erie
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Travelogde in Port Clinton Oh was pleasant overall. The front desk was very helpful and knowledgable. She knew exactly how many lights (4) then turn left and you were at the ferry in know time at all. A very short drive down the street and you were on your way to Put In Bay!! The room was very clean and inviting when we first arrived. The pool and the pier overlooking Lake Erie was a welcome sight. Continental breakfast wasn't extravagent but was clean and nicely put together. Coffee was good!! Mantainance could have been better because the garbage can near the pier needed emptied more often due to the holiday weekend and the pool, although nice most of the time, was starting to look a little cloudy in the extreme heat of the 4th of July holiday. The atmosphere was more Florida like and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Hats off to the girls at the front desk (all shifts) for giving us advice on good eats, directions and towns closeby (Marblehead , for one) and interesting sights to see!! Everyone staying at the hotel seemed to really enjoy sitting on the benches on the pier overlooking the lake, either early in the morning or at sunset. Just a perfect spot! We would definetily stay at the Travelodge in Port Clinton again. Oh yes, The beds were very cozy! ZZZzzzzzzz:)

Room Tip: It would be nice to have a room with the view of the lake but our room was very quiet and we always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The room was nice and it was conveniently located, but the staff wasn't so hot. I indicated we were taking the ferry last Sunday and the staff didn't offer details on their shuttle, didn't provide directions, and didn't offer any help. Two minutes of the front desk's time that afternoon would have saved us $10 in parking, driving around looking for the dock, missing the ferry because we couldn't find the dock, and the hour plus wait for another ferry. Next time we're staying in Marblehead I think. Much cuter and the people seem more helpful. If Port Clinton had nature trails, places to walk/run, a cute coffee shop, or a nice place to spend the morning, I couldn't find it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Stayed here for 3 days, not many people here, which meant check in was a breeze and peace and quiet,which was good for me! the hotel is average, but the front desk service was great and made up for the hotel.The hotel was a safe place to sleep and close to the 2 main attractions-the put-in-bay and the african safari. The pool was too small and no one seemed interested in going in..
This hotel is near 2 great eatery; Pattaya Thai and Sushi ( hi jackie) and Casa Las Palmas
I would recommend this hotel for short stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
butler
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

blankets were thin as paper the pool didnt work they should of sais something on phone when i had mad reservation that it was out.I had to call front desk 3 times before i got a room move because there was kids in a room above us running around at 6:15 in the moring waking us up.I finally got a room move at 1:30 that afternoon.Front desk didnt give me any information on hrs on anything.I will never return to this hotel again I do not recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: i do not recomend this hotel to anyone service was very poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua NY
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was quoted one price at check in and charged another when checking out.I questioned the clerk and she stated it was the correct price.Not a way for new owners to run a business.The room was clean but had a musty smell.The continental breakfast left a lot to be desired.Was close to lake and restaurants.All with in walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

we stayed in travel lodge at port clinton on May 4-6. The room was clean, little musty smell at first, but it was the first day it was open for the season. lake right outside of the rooms with nice walkway and place to fish if you don't want to travel far. Breakfast was very good and staff was very pleasant during our stay. The price was right and the heating and ac worked very well. Also was very quiet. Nothing bad to say here

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Port Clinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Port Clinton

Address: 1811 East Perry Street, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Portside Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Port Clinton 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are newly renovated as of June 2011. We have beautiful rooms with king or two double beds. We are located on waterfront of Lake Erie. Sit lakeside on our deck and enjoy the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Port Clinton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portside Hotel Port Clinton
Travelodge Port Clinton Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Port Clinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.