We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in Port Clinton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Julesburg, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place in Port Clinton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was a bit hesitant to stay at Country Inn and Suites in Port Clinton, Ohio after a bad experience at one in Tulsa, Oklahoma. Pulling up was a little scary. Very dark. It was 11:30 PM though. Check in went very smooth. Don't let the outside fool you on this one! The inside is very modern and smells good. Angela the manager is very kind. I gave 4 stars because the WiFi was very slow and didn't work that good overall. Breakfast was the average Country Inn breakfast (eggs, sausage, bread, juice etc.). The hotel is located right off the freeway which was convenient. I was here for my sister's wedding by the way. I am very pleased with this property and will return next time I'm in Port Clinton! Thanks for the amazing stay!

Room Tip: All rooms seem quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Thomas_A903,
Thank you so much for writing this review! I am glad you had a great experience with us, and that you took advantage of all we have to offer, including the full breakfast. Our apologies that the WIFI was slow for you, we will be looking into it to see if there is anything we can do to solve that issue. You had mentioned our convenient location, and I agree! We are so close and convenient to Cedar Point Amusement Park and alot of Wedding Venues, including Mon Ami Winery and also Catawba Island Club, as well as The Lake Erie Isalnds and Marblehead. So much to do in our area at this time of year!
Glad you stayed with us for your Sister's wedding, and hope to see you again,
Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    61
    31
    8
    5
See reviews for
68
29
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We prepaid for one night's stay here. Even so it seemed a bit pricey, probably because it's was the height of tourist season. The room was spacious and clean. The complimentary breakfast was average for this class of motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Dusty_Archivist,
Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us. I am pleased you had a good stay in a clean and spacious room. This time of year is our busy season, with lots and lots of travellers going to Cedar Point or the Lake Erie Islands, but it was great to have you as our guest! Hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Angela Long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 10 years. The GM, Angela, is the greatest. She is very accommodating, pleasant and does what she can to make your stay the best. She always remembers us, we have alot of fun with her. The hotel is always clean, rooms are good size, and her staff is also very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, alot of things to do in the area with kids. Not far from Cedar Point and Put-in-Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Marie W,
10 YEARS!
Wow, I have been around for going on 9 years, doesn't really seem that long! We enjoyed your stay with us this year as always, and appreciate your loyalty to this property. The staff and I love love love our repeat guests, we get to know you more a little bit more each time.
We will see you next year and if you need anything before then, please give us a call!

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites Port Clinton
419-732-2434
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I would have given this facility a very good rating except prior to us checking into the room, the housekeeper, while doing a good job in the rest of the room, forgot to clean out the old coffee grinds in the coffee maker (mold started to grow on the old grinds) and didn't clean under the soap dish in the shower. We stayed for three nights and everything and everyone else was very good. Nice amenities, the breakfast was good and attendant was very personable and helpful. The persons at the front desk knowledgeable, friendly and responsive. We did not expect it but the front desk made an adjustment on our bill because of the minor housekeeping problem

Room Tip: We stayed 3 nights and requested a room on the upper floor. Whether top or bottom floor, I would re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear osprey 1939,
Thank you for your review of your stay! I wish you did not experience the few housekeeping issues that you did, but I am glad that all your interactions with the staff were great, including the housekeepers, front desk and breakfast. I remember speaking to you at the desk during the biggest week of birding. I was happy to make a adjustment to your bill. I hope to see you again next year for the birding in May!

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The carpet in the room was filthy all over with several LARGE brown spots. The bathroom walls above the shower had brown smears (probably bugs). While the staff were nice and the food was OK, the dirty floors were awful. The staff was nice enough and the breakfast was ok. The beds were comfortable, but nothing special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlsonRezidor, Online Support Specialist at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room and the conditions of the floors. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inn & Suites standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed here to go to Cedar Point. It was an easy drive only 15 minutes away. Nice clean room with a pull out sofa bed that our teenager used. Breakfast was great with different hot things available each day. I love that they have a lending library. You pick out a book and return it at the next Country Inn and Suites. They do not have an elevator, so if stairs are an issue, request a first floor room.

Room Tip: no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Laura C,
What a great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. You are with alot of other guests that appreciate how close we are to Cedar Point. Close enough for an easy drive to the park, yet far enough so you are not right in the congested area of Sandusky. Again, thanks for the review, stop back and see us again when you plan your next trip to our area!

Angela Long
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites Port Clinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, WV
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel offers a good value for the money. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The beds had smaller than average pillows which I did not like. The vanity in the bathroom was small. The best thing about the hotel was that it was quiet. I didn't hear a sound once I went in the room. I don't expect much from the breakfast for this type of hotel. But, it was not good. The eggs were just weird. They kind of crumbled. The potatos were warm on the outside but cold in the middle. Another guest asked to have their breakfast microwaved. After the first day, I stuck with the toast and pastries.

Overall, it was a good stay and I would return.

Also, note that there is construction on Rt 2. The westbound entrance ramp was closed. You had to detour to the next entrance ramp.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUDRIANNA_ASH, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Bvilletravel,
Thank you so much for your review of your stay. Reviews like yours help us determine what we need to work on. I am glad you enjoyed a clean comfortable room, and that you received a great value on it! I am dissapointed you did not enjoy the breakfast, we will review our menu offerings, and see if we can do some updating. Hope to see you again, and have a great rest of your summer.

Regards,
Angela Long
General Manager
Country Inn and Suites Port Clinton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Carlson, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Port Clinton
Fairfield Port Clinton
Port Clinton Fairfield Inn
Country Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.