We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotle and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Hotle and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We recently stayed at Fairfield in Port Clinton for a week while vacationing in the Sandusky, OH area. The hotel was clean, conviniently located to Sandusky, put-in-bay, and area attractions.

The hotel did offer a very good "hot" continental breakfast that consisted of home-made (you do it yourself) waffels, cereal, oat meal, pastries, bagels, Jimmy Dean hot breakfast sandwiches and an assortment of Juices. This was convinient and cost effective for our family.

The rooms were clean, nice layout and quite. Mini-refridgerators and microwaves available upon request.

Overall, we were pleased with our accomadations and would stay at this location again

  • Liked — Locations and Breakfast
  • Disliked — It took a while for the cleaning serivce to clean each day (cleaned my room in the afternoon)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    60
    30
    8
    5
See reviews for
66
28
8
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2008

Stayed at Fairfield Inn Port Clinton when traveling to Cedar Point. Hotel is about fifteen minutes down the highway from Milan Rd in Sandusky and about another ten to fifteen minutes to Cedar Point from there.

This hotel is clean and comfortable. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They serve up a hot self serve continental breakfast which includes microwaveable egg and sausage breakfast sandwiches, bagels, waffels, cereal, yougurt, and more. Great for a quick breakfast.

If staying at the Fairfield Inn Port Clinton or at the Fairfield Inn in Sadnusky, you can print off a discount coupon from lakeeiremotels.com.

I would recommend this hotel for others traveling in the Port Clinton/Sandusky area.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucyrus Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

My new wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon the stay was great and the room very clean even the hot tub was good. I have to say I wasn't impressed with the "indoor pool" they advertised about; it was cold when it was suppose to be heated and they put too much chemicals in it. The price was alittle high in my opinion for the location and hotel but overall a nice stay at a "little" above average hotel.

  • Liked — The Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — The Price and advertised pool
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, Illinois
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2007

We stayed here 1 night before heading to Cedar Point. The location was about 10 miles from Cedar Point but closer to Put-in-bay. The room was comfortable, with a larger bathroom. We used a free voucher, but I think the rate would have been $169/night --which seems pretty high for the area. The rate does include breakfast, which was a lot nicer than your average continental breakfast.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Disappointing for a Marriot brand! While the rooms were clean and the staff friendly, the "heated" pool was cold, exercise machines in the meager gym did not work, the coffee maker was not cleaned out or supplies replenished, and we ended up with a missing floor towel that we had to call in for - a note warns that any missing towels post departure will be billed to your credit card! Also, if you have heavy luggage, note there is no elevator, so get a room on the ground floor!

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights - with rates of $122 and $141 - overpriced for the area, in my opinion. The room was fairly clean with the exception of the coffee maker not being cleaned from the previous guests - big no-no for me! Also there was only 1 washcloth and no bars of soap. Had to call front desk to have the minor problems amended, but 1st appearances can make or break a place. Also appeared as if 1 of the pillow cases on the bed could have -possibly been missed changing because the others were nice and neat and this 1 was very wrinkled. Did not use this pillow. Pool area was nice and fairly decent breakfast if you like healthy selections. Dianna's right up the street had very good breakfast also, and open 24 hours.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2006

If you are looking for a place to sleep that is clean with no bugs this is the place. The price on the other hand is overrated. On the web site it shows pictures of the hotel on the beach, not true it is a highway. I had got a room with two double beds and a pullout sofa and there was only two drawers. Hello, if you are going to have six people sleep in one room for more than one night you need more than two drawers. There are no elevators and my room was hot when we arrive. I had to call about our airconditioner because it did not work, which they fix. My niece's towel got mixed up in their lanudry and the only thing we got was sorry we can't help ya (with some attitude). So if you are looking for a place just to sleep that is clean with no bugs this place is for you. Hide your towels, pack light to carry and to store, be prepared to pay the price you would pay to stay at a resort and don't believe the hipe of the pictures because they are misleading.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites

Address: 3760 East State Road, Port Clinton, OH 43452 (Formerly Port Clinton Islands' Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Port Clinton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Port Clinton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Carlson, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Port Clinton
Fairfield Port Clinton
Port Clinton Fairfield Inn
Country Inn & Suites Port Clinton, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.