We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   500 South Main Street, Poland, OH 44514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Poland B&B and Inns
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

My husband and I wanted to have a little weekend getaway but still be able to accomplish some Christmas shopping without the kids! We were able to accomplish this at The Inn at the Green because it is located in the beautiful small New England-style town of Poland, OH, but is less than 10 minutes to Boardman, OH where there is all the shopping I could ever ask for! The owners of the Inn were very welcoming and the whole place was beautifully decorated. We were treated to a great breakfast and felt very cozy in our room which was impeccably clean. The Inn has been kept in great condition despite it's historic age. New carpet adds to the cleanliness of the entire place. I would highly recommend this place. We plan to return again, as we only live about an hour away!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

I've traveled throughout Europe staying, exclusively, in B&Bs, plus a few in the States. TIATG is as welcoming, comfortable, quiet, private, and accommodating as any I've ever seen. This was, for us, a true oasis to which we retreated each evening. In harsh weather, our room was warm as toast. The custom-ordered breakfast they provided in the all-glass patio room was exceptional.
24/7 gourmet coffee/tea, free snacks, chips, yogurt, bottled water, power bars, fancy chocolate... even a classic decanter of wine makes guests feel like they are in their own home. Bring your own wine or takeout food? In the "butler alcove" you'll find real wine glasses and silverware. The front sitting room, complete with a grand piano, would accommodate several visitors. The home is elegant and well appointed. The shower had a flexible stainless steel covered hose and multi-setting nozzle. No flimsy box-store DIY fixtures anywhere in sight.
The only possible negative would be the fact that the owners don't live in the home, so if you're used to such local interaction, you'll have to confine yourself to chatting with the very competent house staff lady who brings breakfast at the appointed hour, and recharges the coffee/juice/ filtered water pitcher etc. We would gladly drive out of our way to stay here again.
One price, including taxes and everything else is the no-surprises bill. Just exceptional place to stay.

Room Tip: The first floor room is where we stayed and we loved it. Best room in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiana, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

My husband and I had a lovely getaway night close to home but not too close. I slept fine but my husband found the bed too stiff. Everything was lovely. I love to take baths, though, and it would appear that the porcelain tub in the private bathroom was original to the home, and it was very narrow, the narrowest I've ever been in and I'm not large. The heating system must also be as the original design - I was comfortable but my husband was too warm, and there are no controls in each room, as it is all controlled in one place by the furnace.

I really liked how private it was. When you make reservations, the email tells you the code to unlock the main door. You let yourself in, where there is a homey dining room table with a guest book to sign, an envelope with your name on it (which holds your room key), a welcome sign, and other instructions about procedures. We never even saw anyone until breakfast time, and we only heard other guests briefly, once or twice, when they were in the hall.

It was all very beautifully decorated, especially downstairs (sitting room, patio room, etc.)

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

The staff was very attentive and helped us get in and settled after a long travel. The room was comfortable and clean. The home is warm and inviting with a lovely breakfast room. The area is very trendy yet has a small town feel. So much to see within a fourty-five minute drive and easy access to the highway. Shopping, Eating and many historical sights nearby. Good job Mark, Kathleen and Terra; You made our trip spectacular and our memories of Ohio special. Being from Florida,we had "special" sunshine needs! I don't know how you did it, but you even provided 40-50 degree weather while we visited in late December! We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 is quiet and warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Glad I decided to stay at this little Inn. Very historic comfortable and quaint. The inn keeper made sure everything was satisfactory. They even washed sheets and towels in tide free for me (with advanced notice) because of allergies to perfumed detergents. Inn has been under new ownership since January and they are doing a good job of maintaining, repairing and keeping the inn as historic as possible. The beds are comfortable, the location is incredible, very close to many great restaurants a walking trail and shopping. The only reason I did not give 5 stars is because the middle room we stayed in only had one AC vent that was behind the bed and the room was very stuffy while the rest of the house was very cool. The inn keeper provided us with a fan for circulation, and since we were the only ones there, we opened our door to the hall which helped out a lot. Overall a wonderful experience and we fully intend to return next year.

Room Tip: Middle upstairs room is stuffy, and downstairs bedroom is right off breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

So glad I stayed in this gem of an Inn. The minute I entered, I could feel a sense of comfort and peace. The new owners can be very proud of their accomplishments in making this a great place to stay. I felt very much "at home" for the short time I was there. The bed was especially comfortable, the breakfast was WONDERFUL, the staff was attentive, the location was excellent, and the free Wi-fi was much-appreciated. Also loved the central air. Will definitely stay here again!! A terrific value in this quaint village.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

What a pleasant surprise.......charm and history greeted us as we walked onto the property.........set in the boyhood home of President McKinley.Not only did we enjoy the walk around town, listen to a free concert but enjoyed the beauty of the Inn, hospitality and friendliness and a healthy breakfast. A real must, if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Bedroom on the first floor is great but bathroom is tiny.......all upstairs rooms looked cozy and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast

Address: 500 South Main Street, Poland, OH 44514
Location: United States > Ohio > Poland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Inn at the Green Bed & Breakfast" offers a memorable retreat in a uniquely luxurious and historic setting in the heart of beautiful, Poland Village, Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Green Poland
The Inn At The Green Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Poland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.