We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn; comfortable but a little impersonal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast
500 South Main Street, Poland, OH 44514   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Poland B&B and Inns
Deerfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming Inn; comfortable but a little impersonal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a beautifully restored building. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, the premises clean. Breakfast is a do-it-yourself affair with plenty to choose from, albeit not much "home-made" or warm. All-in-all a restful location and lovely inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    3
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boardman, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff does not make the beds or clean the room daily, They leave clean wash linens on the banister or in a basket by your door but do not inform you of this. You are expected to leave your dirty wash linens in a basket outside the door. The pastries were frozen and the fruit was still partially frozen when served and cereal was served out of well worn original containers.
There was free wi-fi but our television was a 13 inch CRT model from the 1980's. There is no staff present during the day as they all have other jobs which they are sure to remind you of when you ask for expected services. We will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here during Christmastime, and we had a very positive experience. The rooms are all lovely, the Inn is historic and comfortable, and you get what I would call an expanded continental breakfast. Cereals, breads, pastries, fruit salad, yogurts, juice and coffee. She even made us a hot dish over Christmas. Rooms 1-3 are all lovely, but the 2 rooms that are upstairs get more light during the day, and they have bigger bathrooms. The price is very reasonable. You also get alot of privacy -- during the day there was usually no inkeeper around. You are given the code to the Inn and the innkeeper is there mainly during breakfast. And she was very friendly and helpful when she was around. We liked this arrangement -- the Inn felt like our own place. Also, the neighborhood is nice, and safe.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I called a couple of days before my trip with my daughter and two granddaughters. When I was told that the room with the two 4 poster beds was taken and I explained I was traveling with children, the assistant offered to give us room 4 and her room, which had a new bed in it and was connected to room 4 so we could all stay together. Both rooms were nicely decorated as were the other three. I checked all the rooms out. The inn was very clean, the breakfast was sufficient and the innkeeper and her assistant could not have done more for us. The girls loved the inn. The rooms were bright and sunny. They thought they were princesses and I loved the bed. and wicker furniture.

The innkeeper was not there when we arrived and it was a bit tricky getting the security code to work. If you go you need to turn the knob all the way to the right, listen for the click, turn it back, enter the code and turn again until you hear a click. The door opened easily. Our key was waiting on the table in the diningroom. We explored the entire inn. it was very clean and comfortable.

The innkeeper and her assistant were both at breakfast the next morning and did everything they could to make us feel at home. We ate in the diningroom with an electric heater in the fireplace. The sunroom has three tables (1 for two people and two for 4 people) they were full so we sat inside but it was very nice.

We will certainly make it our place to stay in Poland whenever we are in the area. Earlier reviews are inaccurate at this time. The home is 200 years old, in a safe neighborhood, has off street parking and is accessible to major roads.

Room Tip: I would recommend rooms 2 - 4. Room 1 is off the sunroom and if you like to sleep late you may be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a lovely and very relaxing stay at this charming bed and breakfast. The owners were extremely gracious and seemed very happy to have us there. Our room was comfortable and large with windows looking out on the green below. The bed was almost too comfortable - we didnt want to get up! The large bathroom with a tub/shower combo was perfect. We will definitely make this our go-to stop whenever we visit family in nearby North Lima. The village of Poland couldnt be more charming and has much to explore! Thank you so much and we look forward to our return trip!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENWOOD
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

Quiet, comfortable room. Breakfast was continental, but that was not a surprise as they advertise continental breakfast. No complaints. Good value. Would stay here again the next time I have business in Youngstown.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west chester, pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Please note: this property was purchased by a new owner in June 2010. Old negative reviews should no longer apply.

We stayed here in October 2010 while visiting relatives in nearby Canfield. Telephone registration was easy; check-in was seamless. We arrived early and were able to enter using the door key code provided at registration.

The inn is located on Poland's Main Street adjacent to a nicely groomed town park and in a historic area of town with other older buildings, many of which were constructed in the late 1800's. Although the street is a major thoroughfare for the town, it is quiet and lightly traveled.

The inn itself is what we have come to regard as classic B&B. Our room on the second floor was spacious with a comfortable four poster bed, working fireplace and in-suite bathroom. Downstairs was a welcoming sitting room with baby grand piano. The breakfast area was a brightly painted closed-in porch with a view of the garden. Personnel were friendly, eager to please and knowledgeable about the local area.

The above, plus a room rate which we thought offered excellent value, made this a very delightful lodging experience. We will stay here again when next in the area and we would highly recommend The Inn at the Green to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast

Also Known As:
Inn At The Green Poland
The Inn At The Green Bed And Breakfast Ohio/Poland
Address: 500 South Main Street, Poland, OH 44514
Location: United States > Ohio > Poland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Poland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Inn at the Green Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list