We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi

Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi
6190 Levis Commons Blvd, Perrysburg, OH 43551-7268
419-931-8400
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 90 Restaurants in Perrysburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A little on the expensive side. We can only afford to go with a groupon We can usually get two hibachi dinners and some sushi for about $80.00. The food is totall worth it and AMAZING! We love both the hibachi grill and sushi. Never had a bad dish from here and the hibachi is a ton a fun!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    33
    10
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, OH, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Trite Average Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A "hibachi-style" restaurant is something that appeals to the rube in all of us! My nine-year old daughter demands that we go here on her birthday and milestones (such as her 4th grade graduation).

If you enjoy corny jokes while sitting shoulder to shoulder with strangers, this place is for you! If you would like another round of sake, please note that you need to order one before your cook rolls his cart away and your teen-age server slaps the bill in front of you!

I would also add that the ambiance is poor. We were here this time (despite my negative review I have eaten here numerous time!) on business. It was so loud, I had a very hard time hearing my table mates speak. I also needed a knife as the squid I ordered as a side dish was so large and tough that I needed a knife to eat it. My knife arrived...25 minutes later (and with another request from the harried server).

In conclusion, if you are interested in eating what is basically very expensive fried rice with Japanese (actually Korean and Filipino) staff at a table with strangers with a definite cut-off point, this is the place for you! If you would like sushi and sashimi in a less hurried "touristy" place, there are a plethora of other places in Toledo I would recommend.





















?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Levis Commons restaurant go-to”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I go here at least twice a month if not more, especially on Saturdays when I like to treat myself! I love the salmon bento box (available only at lunch time). For about $12, you get miso or chicken soup, salad with citrus ginger dressing, 4 pieces of California roll sushi, shrimp and veggie tempura, teryaki salmon and vegetables, and steamed rice. You can do fried rice for $2 extra. I always have leftovers to take home!! There is also a sushi bar or you can go with hibachi and watch your food be made. You can't go wrong here!!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neat Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Went for a birthday party and had one of the guys cook our food right in front of us. Was really neat and the food was great

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

The service is slow, and even though the food is pretty good. The staff brings our appetizer after our meal dish came. The drinks we ordered took about 20 to 30 minutes to come, and the food about one hour. We didn't go for the hibachi table but sit on the other side of the restaurant. That's the way to go if you don't want to wait. You can get the same type of food but without the wait.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Japanese Steakhouse and Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.