We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quail Hollow Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Quail Hollow Resort to your Saves list
Quail Hollow Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   11080 Concord-Hambden Road, Painesville, OH 44077   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Painesville
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in August and were extremely disappointed. While the lobby is very nice, that is about the end of anything positive to say about the resort.

The rooms are outdated and drabby, which I could have overlooked if it were not for all of the other problems.

We had NO A/C during our 2-day stay, despite reporting this issue to management twice. It was August, so the room was hot, humid, and we had a dreadful 2 nights of sleep. We would have been better off sleeping outside.

The telephones in our room did not work, which did not seem particularly safe if there had been an emergency.

There was also a large water stain on the ceiling and the room smelled like mildew.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
As part of the management team here at the resort we review all guests’ comments. I do apologize for the issues you had and any inconvenience it may have caused you. We do take pride in our resort and our service and will use your review for future training. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, as we are certain our product will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    75
    73
    22
    22
See reviews for
64
86
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night, 8/31/12. Even though there was a wedding going on, we were not bothered by noise or anything. Our room, with a King Bed, was very comfortable. The bathroom and amenities were wonderful--Bath and Body Works soap, lotion, shampoo and conditioner--how can you go wrong with that.

The lobby upon entry is very comforting. We did not have the opportunity to eat in the restaurants or use the pool or gym--we were just on a quick trip out to the Cleveland Clinic, which is only about 30 minutes to the west, and with this resort being right off the expressway, it was very easy to get to and from. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor, at the end of the hall away from reception. This was not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you for staying at Quail Hollow Resort. We are pleased we exceeded your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondacks, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Quail Hollow looks beautiful as you drive up to it! It sits majestically on a hilltop and when you walk inside, you are greated by a gorgeous lobby! Unfortunately, this is about where our positive experiences end. We got to the room and our phones were not working; a maintenance man had to come to repair them. The bathroom was so poorly stocked that we had to decide whether or not to use facial tissues or call housekeeping before the night ended! Unlike most places, the room did not include a guest book for travelers that outlined their services, area restaurants, shopping etc. To complicate this, they do not include a local telephone book in the rooms for one to see what outside options are near. Oh yes, and then there is the $1.00 charge for a local phone call. Unlike the lobby area, the rooms showed their age. The wallpaper was ripped in places and poorly patched. The floor moldings in the bathroom were dirty. The breakfast buffet charge was $12.95 and it was nothing more than the complimentary breakfasts many places offer free with your night's stay. The ice machine on our floor was broken and it wasn't the only one we passed with the "out of order" sign on it. The layout of the resort created a situation where there were long walks to get to any of the public areas- and I mean long walks! If you have any physical difficulties, this is not the place for you! While we were there, a tour bus of seniors arrived and they were let off at the front door. I encountered several of these travelers as they truly struggled through the maze of long hallways to get to their rooms. For a resort of this size, the business center was laughable with only two computer terminals and no supplies. On the positive side, the two pools and fitness areas were great; they included locker rooms that allowed you to change, shower etc. after you were done with the facility. The cost of our stay here was nearly double of what we had paid for lodging over a ten day road trip and yet, it was by far, the poorest experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Quail Hollow Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn of your poor experience with us. Please accept my apologies for the lack of service in regards to your experience as well as the service received by housekeeping and maintenance; it is our responsibility to be hospitable and efficient at all times. I can assure you what you experienced was not the norm for the hotel. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. You are a valued guest and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you, so hopefully you can get a more accurate picture of what we have to offer at Quail Hollow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis IN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Friendly check in. Easy to get to room. Upon arrival, room was warm. A/C not working. Maintenance came immediately and rest the unit with a hanger reaching into the false ceiling. That's fine but it quit in the middle of the night. Fortunately same hanger found the switch he was turning off & back on to reset it again. 99% of guests aren't HVAC techs like me though. Room was nice but big stain on the floor. Balcony had view of trees and side of pool building. Other side would have had much nicer view. Pool area very nice. Big hot hot tub, indoor pool comfortable. Didn't go outside. Good value for the money.

Room Tip: top floor not overlooking the pool building for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Quail Hollow Resort. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the A/C unit in your room. We have the maintenance department working to resolve the issue. We do hope to have you stay with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

A friend of our's daughter had her wedding and reception at Quail Hollow and it was beautiful. We (a group of friends) made an extended weekend. The staff was very good and accomodating; however it was obvious that the they needed more staff; especially in the dining and welcome area. The rooms were fine. We had spa services at Jack Arra's Spa & Salon (up the street-you have to drive to get there or take shuttle) and they were fabulous! One of the best massage experiences I have ever had! The guys golfed and they said they had a great time. All in all it was great having a wedding there and staying there all weekend to relax and hang by pool.

Room Tip: Try and book your room in the main lodge area, less walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are honored to be part of your friend’s special day! We take pride in our staff and customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thank you for making us aware of the staffing issues you experienced, we will address and resolve. We hope you will choose Quail Hollow Resort during your next visit to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent two nights at the resort while attending a swim meet over at Spire. The accomodations were very friendly and the breakfast buffet perfect for our needs.

While we did not play golf, we did take a stroll after hours of the course and it was very nice. We might return to play golf sometime. The location was also convenient to Geneva.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for writing a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our amenities and local attractions while staying with us. We do offer many special packages that include golf, spa services, and additional amenities we offer. Please check out our website or book packages directly with the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When I booked the hotel, I asked for a room near the pool. Upon arrival, I was told that we were not near the pool and there were no more rooms available. The room we were in was nice and clean, but not close enough to walk to the pool so we drove - a slight inconvenience. The pools - one indoor with a spa and the other outdoor -- were very nice. Dinner that evening was good, but pricey. The Saturday buffet was okay,but also pricey. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari B, Director of Sales at Quail Hollow Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and apologize that we were unable to accommodate your request for a room closer to the pool. We hope this did not cause you too much inconvenience and that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quail Hollow Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quail Hollow Resort

Address: 11080 Concord-Hambden Road, Painesville, OH 44077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Painesville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Painesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quail Hollow Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Quail Hollow Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quail Hollow Hotel Painesville
Renaissance Painesville
Quail Hollow Resort Ohio/Painesville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quail Hollow Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.