We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done Local History Museum with Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake County History Center

Lake County History Center
415 Riverside Drive, Painesville, OH 44077
440-639-2945
Website
Improve this listing
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well Done Local History Museum with Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I came to the Center for their annual paranormal exploration of the building, which is the old county poor house. My companions and I were so intrigued that we came back the next day to check out the exhibits. They really did a nice job with it. Many of the rooms were set up to show you what Victorian parlors and Civil War camps were like. Others were theme centered "stuff under glass" style exhibits. There was lots to see. Even though we were there on a day when they did not offer guided tours, the staff members showed us some things they thought we would be particularly interested in, including a preview of a not-yet-open new exhibit on the old street car system. It was well worth the $3 admission.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    0
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Willoughby, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local history and a work still in progress.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Attended the Band Organ Extravaganza this past weekend. Great show.

This summer is full of attractions. Some are past, but still to come are Bags N' Bones on Aug. 10. This features corn hole competition, barbeque competition (ribs) and great bands and beer garden. FREE Admission 12 noon-10 pm.

On Sept. 29 is the Best Clambake in N.E. Ohio. Reservations are required. Contact the LCHC at 440-639-2945.

Exhibits & Galleries are open other times Tues-Saturday 10-2 and Sunday 1-4. Visit www.LakeHistory.org.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best history education you can get in 100 miles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place is complete in many ways. If you want to take your kids to a place that wants to see and educate them this is it. They also have activities all the time for adults. The displays have been updated often so a return visit is just as much fun as the first one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still Working on It”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Lake County History Center is in the old County Home (poor house) which closed in 2003. They have exhibits on the first floor and a library on the second. They are in the process of opening more of the museum. The current exhibits were of old music boxes (they will play one for you), very detailed and engaging dollhouses and quite a bit on the civil war, They have recreated a store and a couple of homes as they would have looked during the civil war. This includes a display of a parlor for a home in mourning (including the casket).
Found it a little disappointing. I thought the county home would be the more interesting and unique thing to highlight. The docent told me that they have cells in the basement that they kept mentally in for example.
This would probably be good for families with children or civil war buffs.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake County History Center also viewed

 

Been to Lake County History Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake County History Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake County History Center to your Saves list