We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quality Chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of LaRosa's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LaRosa's
21 Lynn Ave, Oxford, OH 45056
(513) 347-1111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 68 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Restaurant details
Oxford, Ohio
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A Quality Chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I don't normally review chain restaurants, but, since Larosa's is a locally owned chain, and one of my wife's favorite eateries for dine-in and delivery, I've decided to make an exception. Over the course of the last decade, I've certainly tasted enough of the menu to offer you, dear reader, an educated assesment of Larosa's quality.
Larosa's dining room in Oxford, Ohio is comfortable enough. It is clean, and rarely crowded, which is uncommon around dinner time in a college town. The lighting is dim, but not dark, and the staff is friendly and helpful. Delivery is timely, bordering on fast. My last order arrived in 25 minutes.
The menu has a variety of Italian dishes to offer. Among my favorites are the Roma pizza, the chicken alfredo pasta dish (add spicy sausage), the build-your-own calzones, and the garlic fries with cheese and bacon (best cheesy fries in town). My wife usually orders the Baked Royal Italian sub. If you are in the mood for something fried, try the chicken tenders. My wife and I are both partial to Larosa's breading.
Larosa's also offers frequent coupons and deals. As an online customer, it is commonplace to recieve coupon codes from Larosa's for significant discounts. One of Larosa's most overlooked, everyday deals is the Just Right Combo. Nearly every entree is offered in a smaller portion, however, the combo includes a salad or soup, and the price is unbeatable.
The only disappointing item that I've found on Larosa's menu has been the chicken wings. Thrice I have ordered them with the appetizer sampler, and thrice I have been dissatisfied. The clearly frozen meat seems undercooked and gelatinous, and the sauce suggests hints of amonia. Stick to the Italian menu, Larosa's.
Keep Larosa's in mind the next time you're looking for a comfortable dining experience and soulful Italian food away or at home. As chain restaurants go, Larosa's is one of the most personable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, IN
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great locally owned pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We always have great pizza here & it's reasonably priced. They have added an additional room which can handle large groups. Some nights they even have a live band.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
“Franchise down, franchise up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

As one outlet of a Cincinnati-based chain, this LaRosa's location has seen both bad and good days, largely (it appears) as a function of its franchisees. It even closed for a while after the former franchisees apparently gave up. Under its new owners (in summer 2012), it appears to be clicking again.

The menu is standard LaRosa's - mid-range Italian offerings. Our 12-year-old son lives and breathes their spaghetti. Their pizza is good (though, in my opinion, not the best in town - that honor belongs to SDS). This location is a frequent gathering place for kids' team get-togethers.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“100% improvement after new owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

New owners took over approx 1 year ago and REALLY improved every facet of this hometown favorite.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
“Worst family dinner experience ever!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I am a college student and went to La Rosas when family came into town to visit. For starters they wiped the table off with a filthy cloth and when asking for a clean one to be used instead we were told it was their policy. The service started out horrible and did not get any better during the entire eating duration. Firstly, the waitress (called herself the shift leader or something) took a drink order and took atleast 15 minutes before we saw her again. We had to instead stop another waitress to place a secondary beverage order to get any drinks. Then after ordering with the "shift leader" again we waited at least 40 minutes for our appetizer and another 45 minutes for the actual food. If this was not bad enough we could not get any one to refill any beverages during the entire duration and when confronting other waitresses for refills we were only told "she has it covered, and they will be out shortly". When our waitress finally made a reappearance she brought us our food which was cold. We never got any refills even when asking again and one member of our party never was even given her order until we were about to leave since it was "on its way out" for the next 40 minutes. There was a few waitresses who apologized for their shift leader and said they would help if they could but were not allowed. Overall this was the worst dining experience I have ever undergone and was extremely embarrassed to take my family to such an establishment. We should have left when we witnessed the dirty rag being used to wipe off tables but instead stayed around to witness the poor service firsthand. The entire establishment appears to be more concerned about being social and talking among themselves then actually waiting on their customers. NEVER EAT HERE!!!

  • Visited May 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LaRosa's also viewed

 
Oxford, Butler County
Oxford, Butler County
 

Been to LaRosa's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LaRosa's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.