We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and Uninspired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stella 12 Beech

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stella 12 Beech
12 South Beech Street, Oxford, OH 45056
513-523-7835
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 68 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Stella 12 Beech's head Chef Sean Bement uses his years of culinary experience to create unique Seasonal Menu's for the city of Oxford Ohio. Vegan, Vegetarian, and specialty request friendly. Open for Dinner 7 Days a week and Brunch/Breakfast on Saturday and Sunday.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Uninspired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The restaurant was basically empty and yet the service was slow. Not off to a good start, despite a reservation. The bruschetta, while delicious, was way overpriced, as was the chopped salad. The chopped salad was pedestrian - twice the price of Panera ($14) for a regular salad. On the upside, the tuna Thai salad was a hit, despite the price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Canada Flintridge, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“family visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Small, but attractive with good selection of appetizers (mushroom caps grilled) and main courses. We found the full salads to be just what we wanted and the quality was fresh and well presented. This is certainly a spot we would dine at again when we visit the area.

good atmosphere and not just packed with students, but a clear level above normal eateries in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Once again a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Swinging back through Oxford with my daughter and a friend to check out the University I decided to go with the restaurant I know (not venturing out I know). Once again great food, good atmosphere and the waitstaff were perfect - there BUT not overbearing. I also like the fact you are not sitting on top of each other's tables.

I will be returning to Stella if this is the chosen College!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Second time and still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

For the second time in a few years, Stella impressed me on another business trip to Miami University. This small, comfortable and nicely decorated restaurant sports a very attractive bar with low seats for dining—clearly seating of choice for some people considering that they could have had a table on the night I was there. The food is upscale and oriented toward foodies, carefully designed and expertly cooked. I had a special—a filet with roasted new potatoes and an aoli reduction that was nicely presented and cooked to perfection. My colleagues had dishes equally well presented and cooked to their liking. The salad options for starters are few but terrific; I had the roasted asparagus with greens and my colleagues had the beet salad with gorgonzola and the Caesar salad—all were first-rate. We skipped desert, but I hazard to guess that the choices are good. There’s an good wine list by the bottle ranging from reasonable to very upscale ($200+). By the glass, the options were well chosen. Service was attentive and polished. There’s no question that this is one of the better higher-end restaurants in Oxford, whose choices lean toward the pizzerias and pubs popular with college students.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
1 review
“What are you paying for?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I went to Stella with my girlfriend for a nice date. My experience there was less than par. The presentation was spot on, but taking a look around I noticed something rather odd. For all the raves it had why was no one in the restaraunts during peak hours on a Friday night? Our food came, I had the chili (soup de jour) and she had the salmon entrée. The chili had a good flavor and was hot, the salmon was presented very well. When I tasted the salmon, seeing it was $25 I was expecting it to be fresh, it tasted as if it were frozen and not fresh. All-in-all with tip our total was $60 for 2 people with only one entrée. I understand why people aren't pouring into the restaraunt during peak hours. The food is extremely over priced for the quality your getting. I can go to Kroger and get the same meal we had for under $15. If quality is what your looking for dine somewhere different; if presentation is what your looking for and wanting to pay for enjoy your dining experience. I'd rather pay for fresh quality food for $60 than fluffed up presentation. Very unhappy with my experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella 12 Beech also viewed

 
Oxford, Butler County
 

Been to Stella 12 Beech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stella 12 Beech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.