We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible customer service :(” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   375 S College Ave, Oxford, OH 45056   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pick an Offer Just 4 You!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible customer service :(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Tried to block rooms here for my wedding which was in March, so we called in December trying to get some rooms. The person at the desk said no problem, he'd let the manager know and she'd email us with details/confirmation. My fiance called a couple weeks later, we got the same response. Neither of us received a call or an email. Called again, they said there are no rooms. Went in, they told us they could give us 10 but that was all they had left - others had blocked rooms. (Probably was us, but they couldn't figure this out.) Said the manager would call us back to confirm. NOTHING. Finally went through 1-800 number for Hampton and managed to get 7 rooms in a block. Only 4 of those 7 rooms were filled, for some reason they said they were all booked. On my honeymoon, I found out that I was charged for 4 rooms that weekend at this hotel. The math doesn't even make sense, since 4 rooms were used! But two people were able to pay for their own rooms, and reserve their own rooms in this block... SO confusing and frustrating. Called and discussed this mistake - thinking it would clear up - front desk worker and manager (who wasn't there at first) were extremely rude and unwilling to see my point. Called 1800 number again and am waiting for corporate to take over this issue. Corporate called the manager and gives her three days to respond to the issue directly to me, and she didn't. I just hope I get my $500+ back from the hotel where we never stayed nor planned on staying. This manager doesn't know a thing about running a hotel. Never had such a horrible experience with a hotel in my life. :(

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    26
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
73
9
12
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Ohio, USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Brand new. The only problem are the walls are thin. My daughter and I could hear snoring from the next room over. The staff was so nice. The breakfast was good. Had coffee and tea all day. It was a great location to Miami University.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is wonderful! Brand new, very clean, nice employees that truly understand customer service. I booked this for a group and they were great to work with. The beds were comfy, and I love that they wash the duvets between guests. Very close to Miami University. The only complaint we had from our entire group of about 30 people, was that the hot breakfast could have been better. Food was plentiful, but it consisted mainly of dry premade bread items, some fruit, and terrible cheese omelets. Had bacon one of our 3 days there, and it was very good. Despite the issue with breakfast, everything else was great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon Lake, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Hampton in Oxford is very nice and I highly recommend it. It just opened in Nov 2012 so everything is brand new, very clean etc. The beds were very comfortable and the staff was very nice. Standard Hampton breakfast is included. Price is very reasonable. Location is very convenient to Miami University (just behind Patterson's Restaurant and CVS - I highly recommend Patterson's also - breakfast is great!). They have covered parking in the rear which would be handy during bad weather. There is a nice pool on the lower level. They call it a "salt water" pool....this is just an alternative to using chlorine...otherwise it's a normal pool. Internet access is included which is nice. We are so glad to have more hotel options near Miami Univ!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH

Address: 375 S College Ave, Oxford, OH 45056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Oxford University Area OH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.