We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oregon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center
Save
You added Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list
1750 State Park Road #2, Oregon, OH 43618   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oregon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hudson, Ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Relaxing Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Needing a quiet getaway, we booked the B n B package just a week ahead, and were very pleasantly surprised at how smoothly everything went, even on such short notice. The rooms had been redecorated recently and were very nice; and the food was fine, but not outstanding, but the service more than made up for it. The Sunday Brunch was quite elaborate, tasty, and nicely arrayed -- more than enough food. But the best thing about Maumee Bay is the site: it is perfectly situated on several acres on Lake Erie, and there are many things to do, esp. in the summer. We enjoyed the walking trails and the nature center this time, and can't wait to go back with the rest of the family when the weather is hot, as there are so many other activities there.

Room Tip: Lake view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    92
    14
    11
    8
See reviews for
114
57
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is my third stop at Maumee Bay over a period of about 5 years and it never disappoints. The scenery is beautiful, there are plenty of trails to walk and nature to see. I recommend a ground level lake view room - they come with a great patio and chairs!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Recently we stayed at one of the pet-friendly cottages on the Maumee Bay Resort property. The cottage was clean and spacious with plenty of room to accommodate a small family or group of friends.

The cottages were located in a relaxing, wooded setting. The only downside was hearing gunshots in the morning from nearby hunters. It was a little disconcerting so early in the morning.

We walked to the lodge to visit the gift shop and get a park map. The staff was very friendly, and the atmosphere in the lodge was relaxing.

The property itself is gorgeous. We enjoyed looking out at Lake Erie and hiking around the inland lake. It would be fun to return in the summer and experience all that goes on during the warmer months.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Ohio
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We just spent the weekend in the lodge at Maumee Bay State Park in Oregon, Ohio. We go as a family every year. We love this place. It has everything. Swimming (outdoors and indoors), golf, fishing, a beach, exercise room, boardwalk trails, bike trails, ponds, restaurant, bar, snack bar, raquetball, wallyball, basketball, tennis, a wonderful gift shop, activities for the kids during the summer, popcorn and a movie every night, I can go on and on and on. Sure, it's aged a bit, but it's clean, friendly, serence, quiet and comfortable. We are spending a week in a cottage next summer. Campsite also available. It's trul an amazing place and must be checked out in person. Take a chance....give it a try...you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at Maumeet Bay Lodge for 3 nights for a conference. The hotel is competely outdated as are the rooms (see pictures). The rooms are dirty (one of my co-workers had a trail of ants in his room). They smell musty are dark and not very welcoming. There was rust on the metal finishings in the bathroom and the door lock needed to be updated (this is important for women staying alone). The outdoor grounds are very nice so unless you bring your boat (there is a marina) to sleep in or pitch a tent (I might have rathered) dont expect much. It is a state park afterall... I would not recommend this place to anyone. Ever.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended a wedding at the resort and stayed one night. The rooms were up to date and very nicely decorated. The bed, bathroom and tv were all very good. The room was very quiet in the evening. The wedding and reception on the grounds required a fair amount of walking. This was a problem for our relative. However, the hotel had a loaner wheelchair that made everything much easier. The best part of the resort was the buffet breakfast/lunch. The price was reasonable, the food quality was excellent and the selection was huge. Overall the staff at the inn were very friendly and made you feel welcome. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We visited this property for a family wedding over the last weekend in October. The staff was very helpful and courteous to all of our needs. The room had a couple of minor cosmetic issues but was well worth the money and time we spent there. Great "resort, lodge feel" to the place. Has an onsite restaurant and bar area, indoor pool and jacuzzi area, fitness center, game room, and indoor volleyball and racquetball courts. I would recommend for family, business, leisure, or whatever you are in the area for. This is a great place inside and out.

Room Tip: Request a lakeview room to have a balcony and a great view of Lake Erie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 1750 State Park Road #2, Oregon, OH 43618
Location: United States > Ohio > Oregon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Oregon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the shores of Lake Erie and only 15 minutes east of downtown Toledo, Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center is a full-service resort-style property offering an array of amenities, activities and recreational opportunities: marina, championship golf course, swimming pools, boardwalk, biking trails, racquetball courts, tennis, small boat rentals, hiking trails, and more. All 120 modern guestrooms have a private balcony/patio and provide spectacular views of the surrounding park. The 24 cottages feature fireplaces and modern amenities. Meeting facilities are available for corporate events, reunions, church retreats and wedding receptions. The Water's Edge Restaurant is suitable for a special occasion or family outing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maumee Bay Hotel Oregon
Maumee Bay Ohio
Maumee Bay Resort
Maumee Bay Lodge And Conference Center Oregon, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maumee Bay Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.