We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1. Oregon Inn at Bay Shore

1. Oregon Inn at Bay Shore
6067 Bayshore Rd, Oregon, OH 43616-4464
419-697-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 62 Restaurants in Oregon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

While the restaurant seems to place prime rib as it's best item, other items are just average . Case in point: Fried clams. Presented with a large plateful of clams, they were over fried and had mostly small pieces. Could not be sure there was even a clam piece in the heavy batter. The fresh onions rings are inconsistent. Sometimes perfectly done, other times the batter is so thick it feels like cake batter and turns mushy in a few seconds. The salad had mostly the white stem pieces of the head lettuce and the ranch dressing was so tick, it would not pour. The waitress had a hard time with the checks in our group.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YOU WILL NEVER BE DISAPPOINTED...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Wonderful food from perch to prime rib. Their salad dressings are all homemade and wonderful you will not be disappointed. I have been going their for years and can count on one hand the times that Art the owner has not been there to personally greet me at the door or stop by my table to offer the newest in wine selection...first class on the way... But definately make reservation..the good news has spread and they are always busy !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perrysburg
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Sunny Day Ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Food was a mixed bag - good chips with the bean dip but the dip itself was bland and borderline scorched(?). Great chef salad with lots of turkey and ham and hard boiled eggs. Great margaritas and since it was Tuesday, they were only 2.50. Prime rib burrito not real impressive - too much wrap and grisly meat.

Very good service by Holly and the atmosphere was pleasant with the gas fireplace and local paintings on the walls. Too chilly for outside seating.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

What a great little out of the way spot! This was our 3rd visit to the Oregon Inn, as we live hours away from it. Anytime we are in the area we stop here. Service was great, food was generous portions and tasted wonderful. The prime rib was melt in your mouth. Tilapia was fork tender. The chicken on my son's salad was tasty, as was my daughter's chicken sandwich. The artichoke dip is a favorite. They even accommodated the toddler with us. It's bustling on the weekends so call ahead for reservations! Great local favorite right by the lake.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My wife and the kids and I visited this place because it was "#1 on tripadvisor" in the area. Now don't get me wrong, this was a very enjoyable dinner, but it wasn't the "blow me away" that I was expecting out of a #1. The food was above average, but not spectacular. The prices were reasonable from what I remember. The staff was extremely friendly and did make you feel like family, which was definitely the restaurants strongest area. Everyone was extremely pleasant and accommodating, especially with our two small children. I do recommend this place for a nice, casual, relaxing sit-down dinner, but don't expect to get a seat around prime dinner time without a wait.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1. Oregon Inn at Bay Shore also viewed

 

Been to 1. Oregon Inn at Bay Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1. Oregon Inn at Bay Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.