We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivy Tree Inn and Garden

Ivy Tree Inn and Garden
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oberlin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Tree Inn and Garden
Save
You added Ivy Tree Inn and Garden to your Saves list
195 S Professor St, Oberlin, OH 44074   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Oberlin B&B and Inns
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while my son checked out Oberlin. Charming, clean, comfortable, terrific breakfast, convenient location, and great host! What more can you ask for? This is where I'll be staying if I become Obie parent next fall!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
3
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Over the years I've enjoyed the informal hospitality of Ron & Steve's comfortable inn on many occasions. Features that keep me coming back are the porch made for lounging, the well-tended gardens surrounding the property, the cozy rooms with all that an individual or couple might need, the friendliness of the innkeepers who remember and care about their guests, and the truly wonderful home cooked breakfasts. No pretentiousness or hassle, this is simply a restful and very pleasant place to spend time in Oberlin. Located an easy stroll from the campus, the Ivy Tree Inn and Garden is a great choice for anyone visiting Oberlin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Enormous angel begonias, feathered with ivy and hyacinth, hang from the country cottage porch and welcomed me to the best kept secret in Oberlin, The Ivy Tree Inn and Gardens.
The seasoned travelers (many of whom I have met around the dining table) prefer the Ivy Tree, noting its location, just down from the college, its cuisine (the chef sports a culinary background), and its style (eclectic groupings of both period furniture and architecture with sprays of antiqueness and modernity juxtaposed, blended, and bafflingly elegant). I personally stayed in the Magnolia room and enjoyed the private hall and bath, both of which were quiet, serene, and immaculate. My business brought me to Oberlin for 2 weeks, all of which were spent at the Ivy Tree. The inn keeper, a wealth of information on the local fare, graciously advised must-see local museums, restaurants, and beach trips as well as car rentals and airport transportation. Finally, at day’s end, I enjoyed a cool breeze as the sun’s rays set over the back lawn, ripe with flowers, ferns, and fountain, the perfect place for a drink or a long-cherised read. The Ivy Tree Inn and Gardens receives 6 stars, 5-stars for the accomodation and the 6th for the one-of-a-kind inn keeper! Thanks Ron!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We spent one night here while in town for a Conservatory tour a few weeks ago. The room was peaceful and attractive, the bed was very comfortable, and they were able to accommodate my husband and I as well as our son in one room--unusual for a bed and breakfast, in my limited experience. Breakfast was delicious! The setting is lovely (it was a trip down Memory Lane for my husband and I, who both attended Oberlin long ago...) And, as happens at B&B's, we were able to strike up several informative conversations with other guests also doing the college-tour-thing. I'll definitely try to stay there again if we decide to go back for an audition,etc!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

The Ivy Tree is lovely! The rooms are charming, clean and confortable. Cable tv and free wifi, delicious breakfast and warm hosts make the whole experience delightful. The location is also perfect; a short walk from Main Street and the Oberlin campus make a car unnecessary. We will definitely stay here whenever we visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scituate, MA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed here with my son while he visited Oberlin College. Lovely inn, well appointed room with a queen and a double bed. Airy and light. Wood floors. Bathroom small but adequate, nicely tiled shower, pedastal sink, very clean.

Very quiet, inn is on a tree lined street walking distance to town and campus. Excellent breakfast, beautifully landscaped grounds.

Will definately stay here again if visiting Oberlin.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I've stayed at the Ivy Tree on a couple of trips to Oberlin and plan to stay again on future trips. The Inn is conveniently located and quite comfortable. Ron and Steve are delightful and inobtrusive hosts. I also appreciate the free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ivy Tree Inn and Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Tree Inn and Garden

Address: 195 S Professor St, Oberlin, OH 44074
Location: United States > Ohio > Oberlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Oberlin
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Hotel Oberlin
Ivy Tree Inn And Garden Oberlin, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivy Tree Inn and Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.