We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Crust!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie Pizza

Magpie Pizza
65 East College St., Oberlin, OH 44074
440-774-2470
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Oberlin
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Crust!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My daughter and I stopped by Magpies on a Sunday evening while in town for a college visit. As it was summertime, the restaurant was relatively empty, but the customers we saw were families with younger children. We were promptly greeted and brought drinks. The menu was varied with some creative and delicious-looking options. We went for the straightforward Cheese Trio. The pizza came out quickly and I could tell from the first glance I would like the crust - it looked crispy and pillowy. The sauce was flavorful but not overpowering and the crust was perfect. The 14" pizza was more than we could finish, but it was hard to stop eating it. Nice to know that if my daughter decides to attend Oberlin, she has the pizza choice figured out already!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Plaines, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Inventive Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The specialty pizzas here are truly unique and delicious. They have a wide selection of ingredients, so if you want to create your own, it is very easy to do so. They also have some great salads.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyria, Ohio
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

You tend not to expect really good pizza if you're from someplace that is known to have great pizza...certainly not in a small town in the midwest, but Magpies surprised us.
We took a shot and tried it out and came away quite happy with the service and the food.
The pies were made to order, thin crust and quality ingredients and we found them quite tasty. The selection ranged from plain to quite inventive and we tried one of each and found both to be very good. Not quite NYC, but still plenty good.
Service was attentive and quick and we had a nice dinner. The ambiance does leave something to be desired...it was more upscale cafeteria than restaurant, but light and bright and clean.
If you have a jones for pizza while in Oberlin, it won't disappoint.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Friday Night College Town Hang-Out Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Magpies is a bit pricey, but the quality of the pizza is well worth it! Everything is fresh, the crust is very pillowy. All round, the best pizza I had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bella Vista, Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Better Service and Specialty Pizzas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

If you like to try new things, try one of their specialty pizzas. I had the Mediterranean I think. They can make anything taste good on a pizza, and the crust is outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Magpie Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.