We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok if you REALLY like Mediterranean food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aladdin's Eatery

Aladdin's Eatery
5 W. College Street, Oberlin, OH 44074 (Formerly aladdin)
440-774-5282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 25 Restaurants in Oberlin
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok if you REALLY like Mediterranean food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ate lunch there while visiting the college. The food was decent, reasonably priced, and the service was good. On the downside, there was very little variety - if you don't care for Mediterranean spices or sauces, you will find very little to like here. Lots of hummus, yogurt, garlic with diced tomatoes and onions arranged with pita in some form, sometimes with beef or chicken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    16
    7
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Should be ranked higher”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This restaurant ranks fourth of twelve for my overall assessment of Oberlin restaurants, but first in terms of frequency with which we dine. First, it's such a dramatic improvement over its predecessor that it gets points for just for being on this crucial corner spot on the town square. Second, the menu has a great variety of mostly healthy foods. Third, the overall atmosphere is very nice--lively but not loud; convivial but possible to have a private conversation. Fourth, they serve wine (maybe beer?). Fifth, they publish detailed nutrition information on the web ("drizzle of olive oil: 14 calories). They also deserve recognition for the dramatic improvement in their service. They wound up comping our meals for perhaps 3 out of the first 5 times we ate there (including when they were at their prior location in Amherst). That hasn't been an issue for at least a couple of years.

On the down side, I will say that the food could be more flavorful. And, while gorgeous, the cakes in the display tray have little flavor other than that of being factory made. But, that makes it easier to resist eating something that few of us probably need to be eating anyway. The traditional desserts are better (e.g. baklava) but homemade rice pudding or apple tart would be a welcome addition to the menu (hint hint!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have eaten here several times and always find the food to be very good. Recently we dined here with a group of 16 and the service was outstanding. The food arrived quickly. We split the bill up and they calculated everything accurately. It's affordable and in a great location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasteless”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The service was good. I had the falafel salad. The falafel was fried so hard you could barely put your fork through it and the tahina dressing was bland and runny. Both were tasteless. It was a bad combo overall. I can make better falafel at home. Why pay for it here?

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently ate at Aladdin for the second time and found that it just doesn't do much for me. My husband and I shared a plate of tabbouleh as an appetizer, and it was very good - fresh-tasting and plenty for two. The pita bread that came with it was soft and nice.

But the falafel pita I ordered was barely warm at all and just not very interesting. Personally, I don't care for the way they toast the pita bread; to me it seems dry. I could hardly taste the hummus.

The location is great, though, right on the corner of Oberlin's two main streets which makes for good people-watching. Overall, I'm not sure it's worth it. There are definitely better places in Oberlin.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aladdin's Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Aladdin's Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aladdin's Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.