We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Northwood

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Northwood to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Northwood
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2426 Oregon Rd., Northwood, OH 43619   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northwood
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I had a great stay at this hotel. The staff and management are very great. They are definitely dedicated to keeping their guest happy and comfortable. My room was always clean daily with fresh linens. I must also mention that they have great rates too. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello mindyf1999,

We look forward to you staying with us again! I am pleased that you were satisfied and comfortable. We try hard to make sure you have what you need for a good stay. We will continue to work hard for you.....

Take Care,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
7
11
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Had a 5 day reservation for a non-smoking room with a kitchenette. They charged my credit card for the full 5 day stay. The room given us was a smoking room that reeked with no kitchenette. I returned to the front desk and asked for a non-smoking room. They explained that they were full, but would give me a Jacuzzi room for the same price. Only half the lights in the room worked, only one jet of the Jacuzzi worked, the TV was an old tube style with no connection for my laptop to stream movies. Furniture was broken, mismatch plumbing fixtures, a sink knob that turned the opposite direction, a microwave that could not be plugged in, and a general grime to the room. I woke up with a sore back from the bed to eat one of the most mediocre breakfast offerings that was described online as a deluxe breakfast. I checked out that morning and was told by the clerk that she would need to wait for the manager to issue the credit to my account. Long story short, after 8 days and many commutations with the hotel (corporate customer service was great), I was give a refund for the nights I did not stay in the hotel. The hotel General Manager sent me one of most insincere letter of apologies I have ever read. Hotel does not honor reservations, is run down, is misleading in description of hotel and amities, and has management policies and attitude that are negative. I will not stay at this chain of hotels again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi JefE,

Thank you for your comments. We do honor reservations. I apologize that the type of room you wanted was sold out. This was an unusual occurrence. Your Credit Card was charged properly for all 5 days because you received the weekly rate which is 1/2 price. Our Jacuzzi's are sold out on a regular basis, Guests enjoy them. Thanks again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I recomend that this is a good location nice clean and good prices and cheap resturants around has a bar attached to the hotel casino near by and a shutter bus to transport u to and back from the casino fridge and microwave,iron,hairdryer,coffie and condaments to go with coffie in your room free complimentry breakfeast in the morning from 6 to 9 outdoor pool and exercise room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Katricse,

Thank you for the nice review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try hard to make sure you are comfortable. The restaurant and bar have great food and prices. Sounds like you had a great getaway with the Casino so close. Come back and visit us soon!

Warm Regards,

Sean Victor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akron
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Gross is the only way to express my opinion for this hotel. We were put in a room that smelled so bad, I had a headache. They did put us in another room, which was much nicer, but still not very clean. The first room did not have a microwave. When they brought us one, it was filthy and not much could be said about the guy who brought it. We wanted to use their computer, but it wasn't working. The power went out the next morning. The "Continental Breakfast" consisted of bagels, toast, English muffins, donuts, cheerios, watered down orange juice and coffee. No hot food, unless you wanted to pay for it. The first room we had, the hallways smelled like pot. I will not stay at this hotel again. There was one particular gentleman at the counter that was very nice. If it hadn't been for him, it would have slept in my car.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor smell terrible and the hallway smells like pot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello soberlin,

I am glad your second room was nice. We appreciate your comments and take all our Guests comments seriously. It helps us to improve and our goal is to make our Guests comfortable. We do have a Continental Breakfast. If you wanted a hot breakfast it is very reasonable. Our staff is trained in hospitality and I am pleased to know they made you happy!

Good Wishes,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware City, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nites April 5 & 6 2013 . The door locks leading to the outside parking lot were protected with card locks ALL of the time because they were broke and no one at the front desk cared.The Ice machine was in total disaray with parts all over the place obviously wrecked. The Bistro /restaurant was a hang out for people that I did not want to hang out with. The only thing this place has going for it is cheap rooms that are ok.I would rate this place as one star above the dump.As far as safety it is pretty iffy.

Room Tip: Get a room clos to main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are sorry to hear you did not feel our hotel was safe. Our key locks to the exterior doors do work. Ice machines do need repair from time to time. We are located in a small town and it is safe. We do not have any major problems at the Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience.
We take your comments seriously so we can work on improving our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband travels for work and we stayed here several weeks. The rooms are furnished with pieces probably salvaged from other motels updating, but are not horrible or too dated. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are pretty clean and housekeeping comes by daily (and are all very pleasant people.) Excellent water pressure. Can get noisy on the weekends if there are a lot of guests. There is a restaurant/lounge attached and the food is decent. The workout room has an elliptical and an exercise bike and an incomplete total gym piece. We were there in the winter, so I can't comment on the outdoor pool. There is guest laundry (a very old washer and dryer, but they do work.) Not much around the area but a couple of gas stations (one with a Subway) and an Arby's down the road. It is right off 75 and provides shuttle service to the casino (although we never used it, so I can't comment on the reliability.) Management is fairly helpful, but could put in a little more effort and really make the place great. Overall a decent place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello hlclark,

So glad you and your husband enjoyed your extended stay with us. We do our best to make sure you are comfortable. We appreciate your review and hope to see you soon......

Many Thanks,

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

4 of us went to Toledo from the Kent, OH area to attend a concert downtown, but wanted to stay at a hotel near the new casino (Hollywood Casino Toledo) and the Ohio Turnpike, so as it turned out the location of this hotel (less than a 1 mile from casino and less than 4 miles from downtown) was perfect (and they had a shuttle running back and forth to the casino 24/7)... very good experience at the right price... good deal....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean V, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear mherchek,

I am glad you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. We do offer the Shuttle to the Casino and it was great that you were able to use it. Sounds like you had a fantastic getaway! We look forward to seeing you soon........

Best of Wishes

Sean Victor
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Northwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Northwood

Address: 2426 Oregon Rd., Northwood, OH 43619
Location: United States > Ohio > Northwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Northwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Northwood 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn South, a Northwood hotel near Westfield Franklin ParkThe Comfort Inn® South is conveniently located east of Toledo off Interstate 75, just 25 miles from Bowling Green State University. Area points of interest near this Northwood, OH hotel include the University of Toledo, Westfield Franklin Park mall, Owens Community College and COSI Toledo, a hands-on science museum. The Toledo Express Airport is 14 miles away.Cedar Point amusement park, known as the "Roller Coaster Capital of the World," is within 50 miles of the hotel.The hotel is near several shops and a wide variety of restaurants. Bill's Bistro and Lounge is the on-site restaurant and cocktail lounge. Other local restaurants include Bob Evans and The Docks.Hotel amenities and features include:•Free breakfast with hot waffles•Free wireless high-speed Internet access•Outdoor courtyard pool•Exercise room•Meeting and banquet roomsBusiness travelers will appreciate access to copy and fax services. This Northwood, OH hotel offers guest rooms with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Some rooms also include refrigerators and microwaves.Whirlpool rooms and business king rooms are also available. Non-smoking rooms and handicap accessible rooms are offered for guest convenience.Whether traveling to the east Toledo area for business or pleasure, the Comfort Inn South is sure to exceed all travel needs. Call today for a great rate in a relaxing room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Northwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Northwood Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Northwood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.