We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Camelot Inn to your Saves list
Camelot Inn
1.0 of 5 Motel   |   22989 Lorain Rd, North Olmsted, OH 44070 (Formerly Econo Lodge Airport West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in North Olmsted
Strongsville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay Away!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

It was a nightmare! For starters, we were charged $150 for the jacuzzi room, which normally would not be a problem. So here is what we got for $150.00!
*TV that was not working properly
*Door frame that was falling off the wall, and the deadbolt was put on backwards so it would not have worked to protect us anyways!
*DIRTY filthy room!
*NO FRIDGE
*NO MICROWAVE
*open and used soap that had not been replaced (although I bring my own anyways) but still disgusting!
*It had snowed but nobody there knew how to shovel. We had to drudge through snow with luggage to get to the room. (mounds of snow!)
AND last but not least,
*We got the heart shaped jacuzzi suite for a reason! WE HAD NO HOT WATER!!!
When my husband and I brought this to their attention we were given no help what-so-ever. They were rude. We were given no discounts or anything. Our one night out a month was destroyed.

Room Tip: There are NO good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    3
    0
    11
See reviews for
1
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

i stayed for a week had no problems. My room had refrigerator, microwave, ironing board, Tv was old but it had all channels and an OK wifi connectivity. they also had morning breakfast. I come to this town 5 to 6 times a year and i need a affordable room to stay and this place is in my budget. Restaurants are very close by so i didnt had to worry for my food. Its an old property so there are some signs of wear and tear, also some equipment are old but they do tend to work. Its a safe place Cops round at night. I also like that they have a stack for morning newspaper for free. I think if they renovate this property it is located at very amazing location. Would stay again at this motel as the price is unbetable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

for starters most of what i have read is true even though we haven't seen as many of the listed problems. the room smells horrible and has smelled since we walked in the door. we arrived here around 2-3 am because we were on a long trip and not 5 minutes after entering the room we found the corpse of a bug in the bathroom beside the tub. when speaking to the manager and other worker at the desk they said that since we had been in the room and because there we're no other open rooms there was nothing they could do about it. after looking at the sheets there were stains on them. and other problems with the room including mold on the tray of the mini fridge we have been sitting here not wanting to leave and waste the $96 we spent on the room but we do not feel comfortable with sleeping. for the record we were sent here from the super 8 down the road that also owns this property. they sent us here when they had no available rooms. if the super 8 owns a place like this and this place alone is in this kind of condition i wouldn't stay in either of them.

Room Tip: This place is horrible, go somewhere else. it wasn't even that much of a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We pulled up to the Motel and I thought my husband was joking. It looked like a dump right out of the get go. I said, oh my gosh this does not look too good. He was so tired from driving from VA that I thought I would not say anything. He came out with the room key. We had to pull all the way around to the back of the motel. This had a woods behind it. (Oh yes, plenty of coverage for the shady) We opened the door to a very dimly lighted room. The smell hit me like a ton of bricks. I can barely smell to begin with so this was really bad. I said to my husband I really have the creeps here and plus I can't breathe. He said just get in the truck and lets go. I wanted to stop at the front desk but my husband said, "NO" I do not want to argue with anyone. He was tired and just wanted to find a place to stay. I called the motel ten minutes later and told them we left. The man who answered the phone said he could not do anything about it. I wanted my money back. He said to call the manager in the morning. I did just that and she said because I did not come into the office that day, she would not do anything. I tried to explain the man said to call her the next day. At no time did he say come back or I would have. So $80 some dollars later we were out. She did not care one bit. Never once did she apologize for the poor room condition. I even told her I was going to contact BBB and she said go ahead I don't care. THIS WAS THE WORST SERVICE I HAVE EVER RECEIVED IN MY LIFE!!!! STAY AWAY!!!! THE SMELL IS STILL STUCK IN MY NOSE!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbook
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

we checked in and checked right back out. wife was going to sleep in car before she would stay in these rooms. i looked at 3 rooms and all the same. everything you read on these reviews are true and very accurate. spend the extra few bucks and go down the road. not even worth the rate. will not even look at this place not even in passing. if you are traveling with family just skip this place. just plain dirty and scary. i would not recommend this place to anybody. i am still wondering how they are even open with all that unsanitary filth. just nasty.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2008

We specifically picked this hotel because it was advertised on the website that there was a hotel shuttle to and from the Cleveland airport. NOT the case. One of our friends was flying into Cleveland airport, and it would have been nice to know ahead of time that there was not a shuttle. Three of us were driving, so we were able to pick up our friend from the airport. When we tried calling the front desk about this, no one answered for a long time. After we tried calling again, their explanation was that the website was wrong. I've since checked the website and I think after multiple complaints, the mis-advertisement has been fixed. The hotel did not appear to be 1-2 miles away. After we picked up our friend at the airport, it was more like 4-5 miles away. This is definitely a budget hotel. Beds were okay, not the most comfortable, shower appeared dirty (my friends were scared to use it), but the bedsheets appeared clean. Shampoo comes in packets, not bottles. There is a refrigerator and 2 sinks, one small one in the small bathroom and one bigger one outside of the bathroom. There is cable TV, so that was helpful. Our clock radio didn't work, but since we weren't in a rush to get anywhere, it wasn't that important to us. Doors open directly to the outside, so you can definitely hear families getting up in the morning and loading up their kids in the car or late night stragglers. The hotel's location appeared to be okay. Across the parking lot is a Mexican restaurant that closes at 10-11pm. We had a car, so if you drive further up the street, there are more restaurants. We had breakfast at Cafe Stratos, which is open 24 hours, and breakfast was good. Skip the hotel's continental breakfast. We stayed here because we were going to Cedar Point amusement park and had to pick up our friend from the Cleveland airport. Overall, this hotel is good for spending the night before your next destination.

  • Liked — Budget hotel, you pay for what you get
  • Disliked — Doors open to outside, so it's noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marco island, fl
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

I admit it. I read the reviews but figured people were just too picky.
Not this time. Everything they said was true and more. The website write up is simply a lie. If they have any rooms that were remodeled after 1970, I sure didn't see one. And I looked at four before I found
one that was acceptable. Even then, I had them swap the TV from another room so I could have one that looked like it was made after 1980.

Dirty doesn't begin to describe this place. Run down and filthy is more accurate. Places in the room and bedroom were so digustingly encrusted with filth I couldn't even look. I pulled out a couch to look for a plug and there was food and crud piled behind it. There was dirt and stuff from previous occupants in the drawers. The high speed internet only works in certain rooms. There was no HBO. They said they called the provider on Thursday, but when I left on Saturday there was still no HBO.

The floors were filthy--this is the ONLY hotel I ever kept my socks and shoes on the whole time. The desk chair was broken and wouldn't roll and one arm was unconnected. The "breakfast" consists of white bread for toast, a box of donuts, some apples, corn flakes or rice krispies amd a 4-5 oz (portion controlled) cup of regular coffee--no decaf. Their "juice" machine offered three choices--water, lemonade and fruit punch (my favorite "juice". If my wife had been with me I would not have stayed even one night. She would have slept in the car.

Oh yes, the bed had only flat sheets, not fitted, so when you moved around they simply pulled out and left you sleeping on the bare mattress. I don't even want to think about that. The tub and shower were painted over with a brush and were covered with black crud. And be aware--this was the room I chose after looking at four rooms. This was THE BEST they had to offer.

Other reviews said the people were nice. Yes, they were. But then, they didn't have to stay there overnight! This is as bad as it gets folks. Oh, and by the way. It's not anywhere close the airport--it's a couple of suburbs away.There is no shuttle. And the places of interest they list for things to do are all 15-20 miles away in downtown Cleveland.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Everything from check-in to check-out
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot Inn

Address: 22989 Lorain Rd, North Olmsted, OH 44070 (Formerly Econo Lodge Airport West)
Location: United States > Ohio > North Olmsted
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in North Olmsted
Hotel Class:1 star — Camelot Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camelot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge North Olmsted
North Olmsted Econo Lodge
Camelot Inn North Olmsted, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.