We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another year...might be our last...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clay's Park Resort

Clay's Park Resort
13190 Patterson St. N.W, North Lawrence, OH 44666
+1 330-854-6691
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 60+ yrs. family owned/operated, 500 acre family oriented entertainment and recreation facility with adventure water park, full service RV Resort/campground, group outing pavilions and weekly entertainment and festivals.
Medina, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Another year...might be our last...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well we thought things may change this year but in one weekend, we are back to the same. Road improvements were made but for a very small amount of the roads leaving the rest to potholes, dust and bumps. Sewage smell fills the park as you enter near the fishing bridge. Restaurant is still run down with no improvements or menu appeal. Wifi is now available but you have to pay for it when it should be included in the site fees. Handbook came out earlier this year but was changed during the year even after many people have signed it. We are now being regulated on when we are allowed to play corn hole at our sites...very odd. Also, being regulated on improvements to our sites. Come spend your own money to fix up your sites at Clays since the park won't put money into and when you leave...leave your money spent with us so it looks like we made these improvements...come on Clays...what part of this place is the resort? Other than the talent for Country Fest...what are you going to give back to you paying customers???

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayspark, Public Relations Manager at Clay's Park Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
For some the glass is always half empty. We have a multiyear paving program in place and all most all of our season campers have expressed their appreciation. Your review also predates our maintenance of the roads for pot holes which could not be done before opening because of a late wet spring. Sewage smell does not fill the park. Like any sewage treatment plant there are times that it releases an odor that can be smelled if you drive by it. Improvements by campers are regulated for the benefit of all campers. The regulations prevent one camper from doing something that detracts from his neighbor. We run a small city during the summer and most residents appreciate that we have some rules. The Wi-Fi was made available at your campsite this year because an outside vendor made a significant investment in the equipment necessary. You do not have to take advantage of this new service if you don’t think the service is worth paying the vendor for it. What we give back to our paying customers is, 400 beautiful acres to roam, an indoor pool, free water park access, discounted tickets to events, and great times with fellow campers—to name a few. We have 400 season campers and a very, very high percentage renew each year. To them the glass is at least half full!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    13
    7
    1
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Yankee Peddler”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Great venue for this yearly event and others like it. Lots of parking and great space. Lots of fun to go for teh day and take advantage of the picnic area and water park.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Family Fun Swimming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

One of the neatest places to swim. Beautiful country setting, with music, food, and a swimming lake with more to do than I can name. The kids will love the zip line.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Place fort the kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I love going here, the only issue I now have is that you must wear life vests in the lake, even if you can swim.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayspark, Public Relations Manager at Clay's Park Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your times with us! We have required life jackets since installing the Adventure Zone, because playing on the rides/inflatables can be tiring and strenuous. Life jackets provide some relief without having to worry about swimming in the deeper water. We hope that you will join us again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dmjohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“My son almost drowned”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My son almost drowned in their pool with a life guard standing next to him. She wasn't paying attention- there water levels were higher than normal and they didn't tell anyone-- my son came off the water slide and couldn't touch because of it. He was flailing his arms around and she didn't pay any attention- my husband had to jump in fully clothed and save him. No apologies- they just asked us if we wanted to come back for free.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayspark, Public Relations Manager at Clay's Park Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are very sorry that you and your family had an unfortunate experience while you visited our Water Park. All of our life guards are American Red Cross certified, so we require that they perform to their standards. Please provide us with the date and approximate time of day when this incident occurred, as well as a description of the life guard in question. You may email the details to me at joan@clayspark.com so that we can check into this matter. As far as the depth of the water, The Department of Agriculture mandates that the water depth be at least 8 ft. deep at the end of the 150 ft. water chute for safety reasons. Additionally, we require that everyone in the Adventure Zone wear a Coast Guard approved life jacket for the same reason. I look forward to hearing back from you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay's Park Resort also viewed

Been to Clay's Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clay's Park Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.