We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ver Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MAPS Air Museum

MAPS Air Museum
2260 International Parkway, North Canton, OH 44720
330-896-6332
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in North Canton
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Massillon, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ver Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a very good time with our grandchildren there. It was cool and I feel it is a great place for familys to go.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    26
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Looks not nice from the outside but once inside this is a very nice museum. Well keep displays with good informatoin about it. Staff can answer any question you may have.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“History - and imaginations - take flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

History - and imaginations - can - and do - take flight at the MAPs Air Museum in North Canton - or right behind the Akron-Canton Airport. I loved climbing inside a C-47 - the WWII workhorse plane used to ferry airborne troops and supplies.

I took a Dutch friend who flies his own plane - and he loved climbing into the cockpit of a jet fighter.

Terrific gift shop - great place to do some Christmas shopping.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Take a step back in time, a passionate history of aircraft”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

MAPS Air Museum is a must see for anyone that has ever had a fascination with Aircraft or military planes. This group of dedicated volunteers restores aircraft and brings history lessons to all ages from the toys in the gift shop to sitting in the cockpit of a MIG! Your in for a real treat if you can make your visit when they have visiting aircraft on display.
Don't miss the excellent military museum room with pieces of aircraft, uniforms, photos, and models of history.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Syracuse, New York
Top Contributor
271 reviews 271 reviews
155 attraction reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Preservating the aviation past.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

MAPS stands for Military Aviation Preservating Society. At present the major project is a Martin B-26 Marauder bomber. This one of three that crashed in Alaska in January 1942. The bomber has been in restoration for 15 years, with possibly another 15-20 years to complete the project. A second a/c is an A-26 Invader bomber, fuselage only. Outside are more a/c waiting for restoration or in restoration.

Starting a tour of the museum, which is a hanger, are a number of bombs, jet engines and two anti-aircraft guns. Moving on is the B-26. In photos are step by step of the restoration process. Naxt is a 1908 home built glider, hanging from the ceiling, which was built in Canton, Ohio. Photos show the glider being towed by horses or an automobile to get airborne.

The museum's proudest section is the 'Gallery of Heros'. Here in countless glass cases are uniforns, flight suits, helmets, 'Rosie the Riverter', Pearl Harbor, the Tuskegee Airmen, the Women Airforce Service Pilots of WW 11, with much more to list. One case that stands out is WW I French Trench Art, items made from out of artillery shells. A very interesting and imformational gallery, much history is displyed.

Outside the Gallery is the gondola of the Goodyear blimp 'Spirit iof St. Louis'. A visitor enter the gondola is see the 8 seat passenager compartment. Over all the hanger has 8 aircraft. Most are outside.

A partial list of outside a/c are:
Grumman F-11 Tiger
F-100 Super Sabre.
F-102 Delta Dagger.
T-28 Trojan, in restoration.
Bell Cobra gunship, in restoration.
Grumman F-14 Toncat.
T-33 Shooting Star trainer.

I talked to two volunteers. One told about the museum, where the a/c came from, while the second showed me around the outside a/c. Another volunteer allowed to get an up close inspection of the Cobras's fire power. I can't say every visitor would be afforded this opportunity. However I appreciated the privilege. Part of the outside a/c are roped off.

The volunteers, 'Gallery of Heros', every other aviation item made the visit worth the admission . There is a gift shop. My visit was over three hours, talking to the volunteers, photographing and reading. Plenty of light for photographing. Since I knew this would be my only visit, I took my time. What the 'Gallery' has to offer will take 45 minutes, if every item is read and studied.

This museum hss one a/c no other museum will never have. In October 2006 the U.S. Aircraft Corporation A-67 protype Dragon crashed on take off and never repaired. If the plane was successful, it would have been built in Canton, Ohio. The A-67 would have been a ground attack a/c for second and third countries.

Admission:
Adults-$8.00.
Seniors Age 60 +-$7.00.
Children Ages 6-12-$5.00.
Children under 6-Free.

Summer Hours. April 1 to October 31.
Sunday 11:30-4:00.
Monday Closed.
Tuesday-Saturday 9:00-4:00.

Winter Hours November 1 to March 31.
Sunday 11:30-4:00.
Monday Closed.
Tuesdat-Firday 10:00-4:30.
Saturday-9:00-4:00.

While the museum maybe small, the contents, history, volunteers and being able to get close to the museum exhibits made the three hours very enjoyable. I highly recommend a lengthy visit, if possible. A visitor will not be disappointed, if anything they will be surprised.

Jack L., Syracuse, New York.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MAPS Air Museum also viewed

 

Been to MAPS Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MAPS Air Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.