We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ice cream and sausages.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lancers House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lancers House to your Saves list
Lancers House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Ice cream and sausages.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this as an opportunity arose for a weekend escape and to be honest we would normally have found a hotel but there were none available. Lancers House is a large B&B and the first impression was good. Easy to find on the A30 outside Wilton, nice room, lovely countryside etc. They do dinner as well as breakfast, but we didn't book for the first night as we assumed there would be space. That was our first and fatal error.

We hadn't realised just how good the food was, Saturday night was rammed and so we had to eat in another, local pub, and wait for breakfast to find out what we'd missed. Home made bread, (check out the chilli and onion) free range home grown eggs, homemade sausage bacon, hash brown, beans, tomatoes, with option for lemon curd, jam, cheese, homemade croissants, the list is too big for here and was just fabulous.
We had to wait for dinner to eat there again and once again no disappointment. Home grown peas and mint in the soup, lovely rich fish pie and the amazing home made ice cream, (3 scoops of heaven, £4.50) ended a lovrly day exploring.
So in conclusion. A little pricy for a bed, fantastic breakfast, and a dinner that guaranteed that we will stay here again and make sure we book to eat both nights!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we are so sorry our restaurant was full on the first night. We are delighted you enjoyed our food so much and we plan to show everyone just how we do it, with a range of cookery courses, starting with the bread making courses in September.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    39
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
39
106
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome, clean and comfortable bedroom. Ample parking and free wifi. But, best of all was the home grown, home cooked food. Ideally located for Wilton, Salisbury and Stonehenge. Beautiful morning views of the sunrise over the hills. Able to see the Fovant badges on the chalk downs. Would definitely stay at Lancers House again and would recommend highly to family and friends. Thank you Nik and Jayne for a lovely weekend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at Lancers House last week (7 Aug) with my husband and 2 young sons and I can thoroughly recommend it. Ours was a last minute decision to stay in the area and I was glad of the sat nav to get us there. We arrived later than planned and Nick was concerned that we needed an evening meal - he offered his own restaurant or was happy to recommend a local pub. We chose to stay at Lancers and were glad that we did. All of the food is home cooked, fresh to order and delicious. The home made ice creams are absolutely fantastic. We used the family room which was lovely, clean and homely. It wasn't the biggest room that we have stayed in but, heh, you don't spend long in there anyway and it was fine for the 4 of us. There is also a great lounge downstairs should you want more space. After a good nights sleep in the comfy beds it was breakfast - all home made again, delicious. Overall we were very happy with our stay at Lancers and will recommend it to friends and family and look forward to visiting again ourselves. Thanks Nick and Jayne

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you all back again, thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed our food so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Lancers House is one of the nicest B&Bs we've ever stayed in. The Vi-Spring matress made for the most comfortable night's sleep my husband and I have had for months. Although our room was quite compact it was suitable for our 3 night stay. It was very clean,had lots of 'those little extras' (clothes brush, sewing kit, shaving kit) which made for a nice attention to detail, and a great power shower.

Nik and Jayne were so welcoming and the quintessential hosts; nothing was too much trouble and their pride in what they do gives a real sense that they are constantly striving to improve on all aspects of their business and genuinely welcome guest feedback.

The food was excellent. We had dinner on the first night (and would've eaten in-house again if our plans had permitted) Everything was home-cooked, very tasty and served with pleasure in the cosy and charmingly decorated dining room. We had the BEST STICKY TOFFEE PUDDING EVER (and we're aficionados!)

Breakfast was also a feast for foodies with a large choice including superb home-made bread, sausages, preserves, yogurt and the tastiest, freshest eggs from the chickens which roam freely at the rear of the property.

The location was quiet and proved a good base for exploring (Salisbury, Wilton, Longleat, Stonehenge) and we would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and, although our room was on the 'main' road, it was not noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. Jayne and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and our food so much. We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. If you think the Sticky Toffee Pudding was good, wait and see what we have in store for next season!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Really enjoyed staying here, away from the bustle of nearby towns but still close to Salisbury to visit the Cathedral and Stonehenge. Great room with gorgeous bed and everything we could possibly need, and as we had an early departure for Heathrow a picnic breakfast was prepared for us. Slight trick to getting door locked but once told of knack it was OK. Enjoyed a walk across nearby public pathway with wonderful view across countryside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review, Jayne and I hope you had a really pleasant trip home and we hope to see you again on one of your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We arrived at Lancer's House after a long journey on a hot day, exhausted and in need of a rest. Our children immediately ran to the pool and we knew that our holiday had begun. What a lovely place, what friendly people! We stayed three nights and enjoyed the delicious breakfasts and evening meals. The home made breads and croissants were my favourite and my partner really enjoyed the Lancers House lemon curd. Our boys preferred the home made ice cream. Nik and Jayne went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one and we would like to return next year. Although we saw Stone Henge and the cathedral, had a beautiful walk in the woods and saw many pretty villages, we feel that we only scratched the surface of this lovely area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the area. If you would like us to put together a suggested itinerary for your next visit, then just drop me an email and I will set to work on it for you. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. The room was perfect for the three of us, nicely decorated and spotless. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice and lots of homemade goodies.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nik L, Owner at Lancers House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again next time you are all in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lancers House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancers House

Address: Shaftesbury Road, Sutton Mandeville SP3 5NL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Sutton Mandeville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Mandeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancers House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancers House is an elegant, licensed guesthouse set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Wiltshire, nestling in 3 acres of its own grounds and benefiting from stunning views across to the downs and over the historic Fovant memorial badges and is conveniently located off the A30.Our rooms are all individually designed and decorated and because we know how important a good night's sleep is, we have supplied all our rooms with beds of exceptional quality ranging from Memory Foam or Relyon to Millbrook and Vi-Spring. Each room has an LCD television and access to all the digital channels, a hairdryer, alarm clock, sewing kits, tea and coffee making facilities and bottles of filtered water come as standard. Every room has its own en-suite shower room complete with heated towel rails and a range of toiletries.We don't believe in hidden extra costs such as parking and have therefore built our own free on-site car park which provides enough space for up to two cars per room. Wi-Fi is available and again this is supplied with our compliments, mobile signals are exceptionally good across the range of networks.When it comes to our award winning breakfasts we try to bring you a piece of "The Good Life" with a large cooked menu to compliment the diverse continental offering. Our breakfast offering includes various vegetarian options as well as homemade produce including marmalade, preserves, sausages and our butter is even home churned. The eggs come from our own free range hens that can be spotted foraging around the grounds and we bake a variety of breads on a daily basis.Why not relax in the guest lounge which is equipped with a TV and comfy sofa's. You could even enrol in one of our artisan bread making courses.Lancers House offers all the comforts of a smart hotel but at bed and breakfast prices and backed up with our personal service.Lancers House is a great base for exploring the South and South/West of England. Just a short drive will enable you to visit the World Heritage site of Stonehenge, Salisbury Cathedral, The New Forest, Wilton House, Sherborne and it's two Castles, Longleat Safari Park or even the Jurassic coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lancers House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lancers House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.