We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but a bit out of the way - the map here is also wrong!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano - CLOSED

Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano
50 Filippou, Pylaia 55535, Greece
+30 231 032 3377
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but a bit out of the way - the map here is also wrong!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This reseaurant has reasonable Italian food and reasonable prices. It is a bit out of the way in Pilea and probably not worth a bit of a trip just to come here but if you are closeby it would be worthwhile. Also note that the map shown here has the wrong location, search for the address on google maps instead

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    7
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Good but far from great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The first impression was disappointment, due to the annoyingly noisy enviroment. The place was poorly decorated and felt almost like someone threw a couple of tables and chairs in an empty space. Also the service was below average, with just one waitor for all the tables.
On the other hand the food was delicious home made pasta, with simple but really nice tastes, great antipasti & very good pizza & all in a very nice price range. Try the "classics" & also have a taste of he tiramisu which is descent but not the best. Don't expect much from the wine list, although it also comes with a "pleasant" price range.
So the "value for money" makes it a place worth visiting if you don't mind the atmosphere of the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Total disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

After the recommendation of some friends and the good reviews on tripadvisor we decided yesterday to visit da Giordano. It was a complete disaster!
First of all they had no handmade pasta at all! When the first 2 from the company arrived (we were 7 in total) they asked if it was late (they arrived at 15.30) and if they could serve us. The waitress responded that they had no problem but forgot to mention that they had no fresh pasta left. And not only that, but they had run out of 2 more sauces and 2 more salads. However, we ordered and we were waiting for the best taste, as it was advertised from tripadvisor members. The food was bad. My dish was pasta with mince meat. The portion was small and it was not tasteful at all! Above all these we had a bad service from the owner’s daughter and in the end we paid too much!
Being in Italy for years I have a good perspective of the Italian food and that was a really bad imitation of Italian food. In the menu it was written in many of the pasta dishes that sauce was with cream!!! Italians almost never use cream on their white sauces apart from few exceptions. Don’t visit it!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
“do not miss the chance to taste something really nice.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

the best italian food i have tasted in thessaloniki..... delicious home made pasta and the best tiramisou in north Greece!!!!!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best handmade tortelli i've ever tried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Excelent food. I tried handmade tortelli stuffted with pumpkin and mascarpone as a desert, both delicious. It has also good glass of wine.
But why tripadvisor does not explain that the restorant is at Pylaia, Thessaloniki? Some friends searched for it downtown, where a street with the same name exists.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano also viewed

Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
 
Thessaloniki, Thessaloniki Region
Pylaia, Thessaloniki Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Casalinga da Giordano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.