We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the outstanding arboretums in the country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dawes Arboretum

Dawes Arboretum
7770 Jacksontown Rd, SE, Newark, OH 43056
740 323 2355
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Newark
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“One of the outstanding arboretums in the country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Located just north of I-70 on State Route 13, Dawes Arboretum is an easy 40-minute drive from Columbus.
Specimens are grouped and labeled so identification is easy. I suggest making sure to tour the house and visit the Japanese-style garden near the visitor's center. Just beautiful in the spring!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, OH
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Beautiful Arboretum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Beautiful place to visit! Been here numerous times, I took my daughters Senior pictures at Dawes in the Spring of 2010. Fall foliage is always gorgeous every year as well. Peaceful place. Nice gift shop and exhibits as well.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
192 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Busy yet peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I saw quite a few families playing along with people hiking on the trails or using the drive as a walking trail. However, the place was peaceful and relaxing.

I hope they can fix the tower to see the writing soon. They have immense letters made from bushes to spell Dawes Arboretum but the tower was down after storm damage.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have visited The Dawes Arboretum many times and found it beautiful in every season! Numerous walking trails, a beautiful Japanese Garden, free admission, auto tour, family programs and lovely woods make this a true gem in Licking County. Just 30-45 minutes from Columbus, it is so worth a day's visit!
Check out their web-site for programs/info www.dawesarb.org

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This free park-like site is worthwhile at any time, but it also has numerous special presentations (such as drawing maple syrup). Get on their email list.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawes Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Dawes Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dawes Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.