We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall but some issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Valley Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cherry Valley Lodge to your Saves list
Cherry Valley Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
ohio
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Good overall but some issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

Just had our 5th or 6th visit to CVL, the 2nd time with our daughters - age 4 & 6. CoCo Key was awesome - the staff very helpful despite it being jam packed with people. Even though it was crowded, our girls had a great time at the waterpark. We purchased discounted tickets online & saved a LOT of money, plus by the time we checked in the waterpark was sold out for two days of our visit - very popular over Easter weekend.

We arrived on Friday afternoon & the hotel was booked solid. Emily at the front desk still managed to find a double room for us, which was nice because when we booked all that was available was a single room. Our first room was an outer one but the next night Emily moved us to a room on the courtyard with an awesome view of the lovely pond and garden. Come Sunday we had the entire place to ourselves & it was very nice.

A couple of problems:

Both rooms smelled of stale urine, the first one only slightly and occasionally, but the second was really strong. I checked & the odor was coming from the bathrooms, which looked clean but... We ended up keeping the bathroom door closed in the 2nd room. We don't spend THAT much time in the rooms anyway. I complained about this problem upon checking out and also in writing and received a general, "thanks for commenting" email but no follow-up. Hmmmmm. I had expected more, especially for returning guests. This was disappointing. It wasn't as if I was fishing for freebies...I even listed all the wonderful things we enjoyed about the hotel & gave names of staff who did a great job.

Friday night many of the guests in the lower "600" number rooms allowed their kids to be loud & run in the halls well past 11pm. Our across the hall neighbor took a stroll down the hall after 2am with her teenaged daughter & they talked in a normal tone of voice the entire time, it actually sounded like they were mad. VERY RUDE! But not as bad as it could have been, I guess. Still, added security would be a plus when the hotel is booked.

Just an additional note about the surrounding area, nearby downtown Newark seems to have made a lot of improvements. The wonderful small history and children's science museum called "The Works" is affordable and has a lot to see for history buffs. They even have a restored old train car you can walk through....very neat! It's affordable too and our girls had more fun there than at COSI, where we went the day before, because they didn't have to wait 10 minutes for a turn at the displays! They have regularly schedued glass blowing demonstrations too which is fun to watch.

Downtown Granville is charming as ever, a slice of Americana. Aladdin diner is still there, we have observed that breakfast there is better than lunch. Denison University has a stunning campus on to pof a ridge. It's a nice place to visit. Dawes Conservatory & Arboretum is a must see for anyone who is into gardening or nature. This area is great for a slow-paced get away..

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    51
    43
    37
See reviews for
129
32
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbus, ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We stayed one night at Coco Key; the room had a nice arrangement, very clean and comfortable, although the bath towels and bed blankets were scratchy and rough. The waterpark is smaller than most others, but an advantage is the ability to keep track of your kids easier than at the large waterparks. The lifeguards were everywhere and paying attention. Food at the inside pizza hut was not outrageously priced compared to what you pay at an OSU football game or concert in Columbus ($1.50 for a soda). The adjoining Cherry Valley Lodge has a beautiful lobby and outside courtyard for visiting and talking. Several affordable family restaurants nearby for meals.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

I recently stayed at the Cherry Valley Lodge/CoCo Key Resort in Newark, OH. To put it mildly, this was one of the best vacations I have ever taken! From check-in to check-out, everything 'clicked' very well. I had the pleasure of enjoying a jacuzzi suite, which was a wonderful upgrade. The separate living quarters allowed me to get things done while my girlfriend slept. Being able to store perishables in the cleverly disguised refrigerator was also a very nice touch. Capping off the night with a nice bottle of wine in the luxurious lobby was a wonderful way to finish my last night at the resort. I would recommend this property to anyone and everyone. The service is incredible. Especially, the manager, Jill. She knows customer service inside and out. If you are going to Newark, OH or someplace nearby, I highly recommend the Cherry Valley Lodge/CoCo Key Water Resort. If you like luxury, and having a great time at the water park, stay at this location.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

We just got home from the Cherry Valley Lodge yesterday and we went to Coco Key Water Resort on both Saturday and Sunday of our trip. We went with14 total family members and were easily able to get 4 rooms together. Our kids, ages 7,5,2, and my nieces, ages 3 & 2, had a blast. My kids especially loved the lazy river and the hot tub.

The rooms in the hotel were very nice and spacious. I liked the unique layout. The hotel lobby is beautiful.

One complaint that I have is the price of the food inside the waterpark, but all indoor waterparks have expensive food. We did order a pizza from the PIzza Hut Express and it was hot, really cheesy, and delicious. Too bad it was almost $14 for a medium! But we were starving, so we gave in. There's also a Wendy's and an Arby's right around the corner. We ate at Wendy's for lunch on the first day of our stay.

My only oter complaint is the lack of towels. We wish we would have brought our own, as the website for Coco Key recommended. The towel supply as very low. When we were ready to leave on the second day and needed to shower in the locker room (we had to check out of our rooms already), I went to get towels and the girl told me they didn't have any clean towels and they were just getting ready to throw them in the washer. Shouldn't they have loads of towels going all day?

But with all of the fun we had and the overall quality of the hotel and waterpark, these complaints were very minor and would not deter us from returning. I imagine we'll go again in the next couple of years.

One other great part of this hotel is it's layout. We had an interior room with sliding glass doors that open to the garden/pond area that is in the center of the hotel. The hotel is designed in a circle and the center is an open area with a beautiful park-like area with a pond, gazeebo, benches, trees, etc. Our kids were so thrilled to see a bunch of ducks walking up to our door! My kids and my nieces all fed the ducks leftover breadsticks. This garden area would be so nice to walk around during the warmer weather, but it was pretty snowy still when we were there.

For the second day, we rented a cabana fo $75 and it was well worth the money because seating in the waterpark is hard to come by, especially with a large group. So our private cabana was a nice place to go to to eat our lunch and warm up the kids.

  • Liked — Waterpark with activities for all ages. Beautiful hotel with unique layout.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2009

This hotel and resort are by far the best in the area. We could stay for one night but get to enjoy the park for two full days! By far this is the best as most water parks will only let you stay until afternoon on the second day. Pizza Hut is located in the park and it is a one stop shop! I would recommond this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus,ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We recently took a trip to Cherry Valley Lodge with friends and our family and were very disappointed. We usually visit Kalahari resort in Sandusky but thought we would give Coco Key a try since it was a last minute trip and costs a little less. We expected it to be smaller and have fewer slides but did not expect to get unprofessional service. While there, our friends car was broken into and stolen. The staff was not helpful, telling us over and over that this was not their liabilty and took no responsibilty for what happened in their parking lot. We found out Cherry Valley has no security cameras as well which seems very odd for a resort with people coming and going so often. We spent our entire visit dealing with police and not enjoying the waterpark and more importantly, time with family and friends. Upon leaving the next day, the front desk told us they would not be compensating us in any way for our trouble because they were not at fault for what happened. although this may be true, it would not have hurt them to apologize for our trouble and invite us back again for a more pleasurable experience. The manager on staff would ont even come out of the office to speak with us personally. I would much rather pay the extra money to stay someplace with a professional staff that worked to make our stay enjoyable than save a few bucks to stay here. i would not reccomend this lodge to anyone.

  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newark hotels

Amish Country
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

Seeing how Cherry Valley Lodge/Coco Key has received mixed reviews, I'd like to chime in. We're a water park family. We love them. And for the past 3 years we've made a yearly visit to the Coco key.

Water Park:
* Booked online from an email promotional for $139 a night (you can register your email to get discounted rates)

* Cannot take food or drink inside the water park (A Pizza Hut and a bar area available on the inside). There are fast food restaurants a block away..)

* Age toddler-age 10.
I have elementary aged kids and they have no "issue" with the size. As a parent, I like it smaller. SO much easier to track your kids and family. This is much smaller than the Kalahari, which we also love but for different reasons

*Tubes: free and plenty

* Staff was great and personable, the one life guard was interacting with the kids and being well... nice.

*Game room: You have to buy a "card" for a dollar before actually using it?? What ever happened to quarters and tokens??

*Hours vary depending on day (opened @ 11am, closed at 8pm on day we were there)

*Can use the park 11am the day you are scheduled to arrive and then check into your room from the water park desk. You may then stay until close the day you check out.

* Lockers $10, $5 returned when you're done.

Hotel:
* Registration took less than 10 mins asked the front desk if there were "courtyard" rooms available, she said it would be a $20 upgrade to which the manager told her to "just give to me".

* Room~ King bed with sleeper sofa, fridge and coffeemaker in bath. Room decor is dated and needs some TLC. It's not the Wynn but it was clean so we were happy. Plenty of towels & linens. We prefer the king room to the 2 queen due to more seating options Couch, high back chair and 2 "dining room" type chairs.
*POOL AREA: Small swimming area with a hot tub facing the courtyard (which is covered in strands of lights for Christmas) So very magical!
*Restaurant available in the lodge area, we did not eat there.
*Lodge Area: Fire places, grand piano, lots of seating. Lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cherry Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Valley Lodge

Address: 2299 Cherry Valley Road, Newark, OH 43055
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cherry Valley Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Cherry Valley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Valley Hotel Newark
Cherry Valley Newark
Cherry Valley Lodge Newark, Ohio
Cherry Valley Lodge Ohio
Newark Lodge Cherry Valley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cherry Valley Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.