We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Highland Blvd., Newark, OH 43055   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Plainwell, MI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Went to Ohio for a girls weekend and stayed at the Courtyard Marriott. Staff there was very pleasant. Rooms were ready when we got there. Rooms were clean. We requested adjoining rooms and that was taken care of. Would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Kmthequeen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about us on TripAdvisor. We loved having you and your friends stay with us on your special weekend and appreciate your compliments about our facility and staff. We invite you all back for next year’s gathering.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    30
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
13
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

While on a business trip to Ohio State University in Newark, Ohio, I stayed at this property, since it was about a 5-minute drive to the campus. This is a very nice facility near a main roadway which facilitated access to all locations in Newark. The hotel is also close to Denison University. The Marriott is just a short walk to a McDonald's restaurant across from the hotel's front entrance. Also, there is a bistro-style cafe right off of the lobby area with a nice selection of food and beverages. In the immediate vicinity, there are at least 4 full service restaurants within walking distance. There is an indoor pool, fitness center, and a laundry room on the first floor level. The very comfortable suite that I stayed in was roomy with a refrigerator and microwave oven. The balcony area was nice, however, the view was nothing but a constant stream of cars. In fact, the only negative thing that I can say about this place is that since my side of the hotel faced the highway, the traffic noises were non-stop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
4Wheelsgo,

We are happy to hear from you on TripAdvisor and appreciate your compliments about our hotel. It sounds like you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed visiting the surrounding area. We do invite you to stay with us again the next time you’re in Newark, Ohio.

Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I was on a big tour of Midwestern colleges and chose the Courtyard Newark because of its proximity to Denison University. The rooms were nice and standard Courtyard fare. The best part of the visit was the front desk staff. Although my keys did not work initially and they had to rekey them, they were happy to recommend restaurants when I asked and they were honest. We ended up at a local bar and grill which was excellent. The hotel is right off the highway and is a quick drive to a commercial district with chain restaurants and shopping. There was a group of young baseball players in the hotel so it was a little loud but things quieted down at 11:30. I would recommend this hotel to parents who are visiting Denison with their kids!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Sevenstates,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel and for recommending us. I will pass along all of your comments to our team during our next weekly meeting. We look forward to seeing you again!
Sincerely,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have stayed at this Courtyard by Marriott several times... can't say I have ever been disappointed in the slightest. I stayed here several years ago on a college visit to the OSU branch campus right around the corner from here. I've come back since and almost always stay here when visiting friends. The rooms have always been clean, and the beds... oh I love Marriott beds... customer service has always been efficient and friendly, maybe just because I'm an Elite member? lol. The location is very convenient with tons of places to eat nearby. This hotel is also within driving distance of many historical area, an arboretum, an NHRA race track, and Buckeye Lake.

GO BUCKS!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K-W, Ontario
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were booked for 3 nights but the massive power outage that hit most of Ohio and other states hit Newark hard. The staff were very professional. The bar was open for anyone who needed refreshments while waiting (fruitlessly) for the power to come back on. We were manually checked in at close to midnight and led to our room by flashlight. The next day, we checked out and the (new) staff member told us that she would take care of cancelling the rest of our reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I was very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was good along with the service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
amy b,
Thank you for your review and recommendation!  We’re so glad you enjoy staying with us; we greatly appreciate your business and taking the time to share your comments.

Yours truly,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I spent a weekend here. I was permitted to check in early. The room (2 queens) was well appointed with very comfortable beds and lots of pillows. Room was quiet, even the a/c didn't bother me as it often can. The bathroom was clean & the shower worked well. The room appeared to be clean & well cared for. Front desk helpful and courteous. There is an indoor pool and hot tub that I didn't use, but were cleaned as I sat outside with friends. My only 'beef' is the individual serving coffee maker, but it did work, it's just cheesy.

Room Tip: Mine was street side & two from the elevator and still quiet, so I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are so pleased liket2travel, that you and your friends chose to stay at the Courtyard Newark Granville! Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience and for recommending us! I will pass along your positive comments to our housekeeping and front desk team. We look forward to seeing you and your friends again!

Truly yours,
Thomas Mate, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville

Address: 500 Highland Blvd., Newark, OH 43055
Location: United States > Ohio > Newark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Newark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Hotel Newark
Newark Courtyard
Newark Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott Newark Granville Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Newark Granville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.