We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub for dinner, bed & breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Stiperstones Inn

The Stiperstones Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Stiperstones Inn to your Saves list
The Stiperstones Inn
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Stiperstones, Snailbeach SY5 0LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Snailbeach B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent pub for dinner, bed & breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a fantastic stay, comfortable room, good dinner, a few pints with friendly staff and locals. Great to see a proper, traditional pub thriving. Also, a great location for walking the hills, all in all a great pub to stay in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We've eaten here four times now I think and we've never been disappointed. We are particularly impressed by the vegetarian / vegan choices. On our first visit my partner queried why one of the ploughmans wasn't labelled as vegetarian and the landlord advised that they couldn't be sure about one of the cheeses. As any veggie will know such diligence is rare indeed.

The food itself has always been great - nothing over the top, just traditional pub food cooked to a very high standard. Most importantly perhaps is the fact that the prices are reasonable, an extra portion of chips is £1.50 NOT £2.95 as you find elsewhere. Also, the menu states "if you are feeling hungry ask for a larger portion at no extra cost".

I could go on - I haven't even mentioned the surrounding Shropshire hills......but I won't. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Stiperstones Inn was always on my list of places to stay in Shropshire & I'm happy I made the right choice first. I was only able to stay one night but wished it could've been longer. My room was spotlessly clean & very comfy and I couldn't have asked for any more. I slept soundly even though there was a howling gale outside and woke refreshed to a beautiful day and stunning views across Shropshire. The food is homemade and as good as I've had anywhere (in fact so much better than a lot of places!), with portions so big they'd feed the British Army quite easily! Absolutely nothing was any trouble for the staff and I was made very welcome there. I'll be back there for a return visit without question!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

set on the edge of the beautiful stiperstones range of hills this pub is well worth a visit/stay. we stayed for 2 nights, the room was clean and comfortable, the food and beer excellent and very good value. the staff are friendly and nothing seems to be too much trouble. well nourished we slept well, only the nocturnal wanderings of the pub cat could be heard. unfortunately the weather was hostile to say the least, it was june after all, so the views were obscured by mist and driving rain and we could not take advantage of the beer garden sadly. maybe next time

Room Tip: there are only 2 to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We had a really enjoyable night here. It is cheap and cheerful but you get what you pay for. Very cheerful staff and the pub is very ancient in places. About 400 years old I think the landlord said. But the bar is formica which is sad but it doesn't really matter. The food is really good heary portions and was good but not sure if home made might mean made in someone elses home.

Our room was really fine but unfortuately then showed me the first room on your right a the stop of the stairs when we went in and this room was huge compared to ours.

Really nice stay - if you want to place to sleep with nice wine at good prices (Rijoca was £14) then this is the place and the scenerly and walking around here is epic.

Room Tip: See title - this is the room to go for
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Stiperstones Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stiperstones Inn

Address: Stiperstones, Snailbeach SY5 0LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Snailbeach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Snailbeach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Stiperstones Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lara & Phil would like to welcome you to The Stiperstones Inn, where we offer refreshments, food and accommodation in the heart of the South Shropshire Hills. The Inn is in a great location for walking the Stiperstones ridge, the Long Mynd and surrounding countryside, or for just chilling out in beautiful surroundings with a good book.Open everyday from 11:30am, the Inn is a traditional free-house which has been in our family for over 40 years, and has a public bar, lounge bar, beer garden, two dining rooms and two beautifully refurbished en-suite letting rooms. Function space is available for small parties (we can also offer conference facilities and equipment on a day and half day basis).We offer morning coffee, afternoon tea, and real ale. Between 12:00pm and 9:00pm we serve a full menu with over 30 maincourses, including: vegetarian, vegan, gluten and dairy free options in either of our two dining rooms or by one of the roaring log fires in the lounge and bar areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your The Stiperstones Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stiperstones Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.