We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for family retreat and honeymooners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa to your Saves list
Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Raya Merapi Golf | Cangkringan, Turi, Yogyakarta 55583, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turi
Bandung
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Just for family retreat and honeymooners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

When we (with 2 children) get late check in at 7.00 pm, the already sold our room to another guess although we already have prepaid voucher, Just think what do you feel if after more than one hour looking for the hotel in the dark & strange area because their location in remote area and far from anywhere the nearest village is about 5 kms, then we call their manager because the receptions can not make decision, finally we get room upgraded by pay 500K.

Beside the bad experiance of that, the hotel is ok, room is spacious with good quality furnish, big bathroom, Javanese Architect and beautiful landscape. There is small swiming pool share with another guess, free bicycle for getting arroud the hotel.

Food is ok but not much choices. enjoy traditional javanese dish. Just recomended for family retreat or honymooner.

Room Tip: room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
9
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautifully located just at the side merapi mountain, and merapi golf club, one of the best golf club in south east asia. The view from the golf is breathtaking with the volcanic mountain panorama. The temperature is around 20c very nice. This hotel has only king size beds, suitable for honeymooners also with good spa place also. Drive north from kaliurang, a bit far from bustling city of jogja, but if u want to find a place to relax, and play golf, this is the place

Room Tip: Book a villa is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Java
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We went there with kids, it is nice hotel for the price you paid
But we couldnt do much as we are on family trip
If you stay here with yr spouse then this is the place
Quite and romantic and far from anywhere and anything which this was our problem
We (kids) had nothing to do but bicycling around the villa
The pool in our room is too deep for them to swim

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had to make a quick trip to Yogyakarta and tried to get rooms on Agoda. I came across this hotel and thought hmmm... what I did was book on the hotel website itself! It was much cheaper! It could be because Mount Merapi was next door... hence I was one of the two guests in the hotel, But you know what? It was a wonderful place to be. I was busy the whole day with work, and came back to paradise!

Room Tip: Simple: email the manager Mr Ruby. He's very helpful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Maya Villa for two nights in early of April 2012. If you are looking for superb relaxing from busy city life..this is the place to stay. Top guest privacy with excellent service ! The villa even provided a golf cart for us to drive up to the club. We were surprised the swimming pool just in front of our room. Nice view of Mount. Merapi from the pool in the morning. SPA facility was also provided in the room and the cleanliness was acceptable. The breakfast and meals provided in the villa was alright and we love the Ayam Bakar very much. You may also ask the driver to stop at the roadside to get some 'Salak Pondoh', a sweet and unique local fruit. However, the location was a bit remote and difficult to get a restaurant nearby. You may join the Lava Tour but nothing much. Overall, it was a good experience to stay there and appreciated the service by the staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Courtesy pick up from airport, approx. 45 mins drive to resort through some villages. Promising start, nice welcome, pleasant staff, smooth check in process. The spa looks really nice but sadly "no staff, they only work in the morning and you need to book in advance".  Villa is nice, spacious and reasonably well furnished. The 'personal butler' appeared with tea (not ordered) and then vanished, never to be seen again during our 2 night stay. TV wasn't working but engineer resolved that fairly quickly. Ordering room service isn't easy if you can only speak English and the dinner menu is pretty basic. Breakfast was OK, reasonable menu and nicely served. The resort 'ran out' of hot water at 9pm though, the engineer came to investigate and said "if you give me some money I can fix this", at almost $300 per night, you really don't expect to have to bribe the staff to get hot water in your shower!
Overall, when it was built, this place was probably really nice but like so many resorts here, a lack of basic maintenance/cleaning and those managing & running the place with no grasp of what 5 star service is (as they promise/claim to provide) and it's now all a bit disappointing for what you pay/expect. Half the price and this would be a great place, but 5 star with personal butler it certainly isn't. We stayed at a holiday weekend but the place was almost empty. Cannot imagine how the owners are making money, maybe they should come and see how the place is being run. Must give credit to the ground staff, the gardens are beautiful - the room maintenance team need to learn from the gardeners.
Location is fabulous to visit Merapi but it's a good 45-60 mins drive to Jogjakarta town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We booked a room at Cangkringan Jogya Villas and Spas despite the mediocre reviews. We knew the hotel was located a good 30 minutes outside of Jogya and thought it would be nice to stay in a place with nice ambiance and relax on the grounds for the weekend. We rented one of the smaller villas with a shared pool area and shared outdoor living room area. The rooms and hotel grounds have a lot of potential and if well run could be really charming. Unfortunately, the hotel is poorly managed and this contributed to a disappointing stay which we did not enjoy.

Before arriving we wrote to the hotel to ask for information about a guided hike to Merapi. They told us it was not possible. I then found information online about Vogels Hostel and their hike, lead by Christian (highly recommend) and then asked the hotel to help me book a driver. At that point they opened a book with a large list of guides, including Christian's name and information on the Vogel Hostel hike, to call him and ask him how long it would take to get to his hostel. They had his information the whole time but told us that they didn't know any guides.

The resort was almost empty with only two or three other groups of guests when we were there. The rooms are well designed, but have become somewhat run down. The bathrooms were not well cleaned. The couches in the rooms are worn, some with wholes or cigarette burns, which could be easily recovered or replaced in Indonesia for a relatively low cost. We went down to the shared living room area and were relaxing on the outdoor furniture when another family staying at the resort approached us to say they were told it was their exclusive living room area and would we mind moving to the other area. They had talked to the hotel staff before approaching us to be certain it was for their exclusive use. There was a second shared area for the living room so we didn't mind moving to that, but I was sure that the two areas were clearly described as shared on the website. I looked up the description of our villa outdoor areas online and on the hotel's printed brochure and they clearly stated shared. The second living room area did not have cushions on the outdoor rattan-style couches, so we asked (in Bahasa Indonesia) for pillows to be put our so we would have somewhere to sit. The staff told us there were no pillows even though the couches were not meant to be used without pillows. This made no sense. After much back and forth, we asked for a supervisor, who told us there were no pillows and we would have to speak to another manager. After about 20 minutes of demanding assistance, and speaking to three levels of management, they went over to the area the other family had been using (they had temporarily left) and took their pillows and moved them to our coucesh. When we asked what the other family would say when they returned, the hotel staff eventually unlocked a storage room next to the couches and took out the spare pillows. At this point we were upset and angry, all we wanted was to relax and we were now stressed and frustrated. We also asked why they had told the other family and us the other living room section was private when it was not, and the hotel finally agreed that it was shared but they had not wanted to admit that to the other family to whom they had misrepresented the area.

Overall, the hotel grounds could be nice, but are not well maintained, rooms are not kept to an acceptable level of cleanliness, furniture is worn and dated, and service is terrible. We paid a discounted online rate that was still well over $100 US a night. For that price in Indonesia you should be receiving high quality service and accommodations. I will never stay at this hotel again and recommend other travelers avoid it.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa

Address: Jl Raya Merapi Golf | Cangkringan, Turi, Yogyakarta 55583, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Turi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Turi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cangkringan Jogja Villas And Spa
Cangkringan Jogja Villas Hotel Yogyakarta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cangkringan Jogja Villas & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.