We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hidden piece of heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Laksda Adisucipto KM 8.7, Depok, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Depok
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful hidden piece of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have to say first of All that I have very high standards when it comes to hotels. I’m platinum with Starwood’s and many other brands. I do travel nearly 200 nights a year in hotels.

I stayed at the Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa (Indonesia) for 3 nights.

This hotel is fantastic! I did enjoyed my stay at the Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa (Indonesia). First of all, I had a great welcome by the staff and Mr. Muhamad Munir, the General Manager. I do Believe that Mr. Munir has made this hotel very exceptional and unique over the years.

Be ensure that the clients enjoy the excellent services of the SPA and that the kitchen creates great and delicious meals with local ingredients. The pool is very quiet and the water very confortable

If your around, Its worth to go visit the mountains and the Merapi volcano.

I can safely say that this hotel is one of the best destinations in Indonesia, and my best in Java Island.

Again thank you to all the staff and make sure I will be back Shortly.

Guillaume Boutin

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Thank you for staying with Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa, and thank you for your wonderful review about our Resort. It's great to hear that your overall stay was a memorable one. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you, and we would be delighted to welcome you back in the nearest future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    200
    82
    26
    20
See reviews for
138
140
46
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights and booked this hotel mainly because of the pool complex and the gigantic Javanese style building. We were certainly not disappointed. although the location is far from the city centre of Yogyakarta (30 minute drive). It indeed had an amazing pool, but also nice communal areas and good food. However as mentioned in other reviews it's an older property and at times we felt like we were one of the few guests around. This makes you feel a bit akward. In my opinion this hotel definitely deserves much more guests than I have seen around during my stay.

We booked a lagoon access room, which had direct acces to an adjacent lagoon style pool away from the main pool. We could dive in directly from our room terrace, really awesome! The room itself was somewhat tired, but the bed and the flatscreen TV were very good (even had HBO and other movie channels). The main pool complex was very relaxing and had great lounge beds. One day the main pool was closed because of unforseen maintenance issues and we received a fruit basket to apologize, really nice! The staff in the entire hotel was really friendly.

Everyday we ordered room service breakfast and enjoyed it outside on our terrace. For only 5500-6500 rupiah per person we ordered an indonesian or american breakfast also including a fruit plate and freshly squeezed fruit juice and coffee, which we thought was an amazing deal! We also enjoyed dinner in the hotel, both in the lounge and in the one restaurant. Both had a great view of the area and mount Merapi. The food was good, but we were mostly by ourselves, which again felt strange in a large hotel like this. My only complaint would be the live band in the lounge played horrible music. Never heard anything this bad in a hotel before, it was completely out of tune. Other than that, I really liked this place and would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa for your recent visit to Yogyakarta. It is really great to hear that your overall stay was a memorable one, we do thank you for your review of our resort. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you, and we do apologize for the annoyance caused to you about the live music at our lounge. We would be delighted to welcome you back in nearest future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I was here for a weekend break. This is an older property, but is very well maintained. The staff are very attentative and pleasant. The location is very close to the airport - only about a 15 minute drive.

The breakfast has a lot of excellent local dishes that you can enjoy. I was looking to have some gudeg and I found it hand made at the buffet and it saved me from having to find it outside, and it was really delicious.

The executive lounge is a good place to wind down and the staff there helped me plan my sight seeing. There are a few snacks and beer and wine are available.

I see in the reviews that many guest like the lagoon pool. I was on the top floor and had the view of Mt. Merapi which I feel is better than the pool. Tbe lagoon(s) are actually separate from the main pool and are quite small and hidden in the shade. I balcony on the rooms facing the mountain are very nice to spend a sunset evening.

Overall this is a pleasant hotel for holiday or business and is a good value for the money.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room for a good view of Mt. Merapi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
It is really great to hear that your overall stay with us was a memorable one. We do thank you for your review of our resort. We have conveyed your feedback to all associates, it helps to boost our associates' confidence and willingness to always improve their sincere service. We look forward welcoming you back at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Excellent hotel close to the airport. The building and the furniture has seen a few guests is not the newest one, but it is maintained well. The food in the restaurant ist very good. The pool area is very nice.
I would like to mention the service at the breakfast buffet: When I went to the buffet first day, I was asked for my room number and my name. The usual thing. Second day I was adressed with my name and while walking to my table I was asked whether I would like to have coffee for breakfast and tee for my wife - like yesterday. They did not only remember my name, they also knew our favorites for breakfast. Maybe this is only a small thing, but these small things make the difference between a good service and an excellent service. Here I got the excellent service.

Room Tip: I liked the room with vulcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa for your recent visit to Yogyakarta. We are glad that you satisfied with our services and facilities, and we would like to thank you for sharing your positive comments about us in TripAdvisor. We have conveyed your compliments to all associates to motivate them in keeping up the good work. We would be delighted to welcome you back at our Resort in nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

i only had breakfast there cause i live in Yogya. Good location near Airport, Merapi view, and excellent breakfast, they also provide Yogurt Elle which is my fav. Worth the price u pay for all u can eat type of breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
May we extend our grateful for your kind words about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you. We would be delighted to welcome you back in nearest future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, New York
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I arrived at the resort very early in the morning and the staff was so gracious in taking care of me. Since I didn't expect my room at that time, I went off for some spa time. The staff saw to it I had lunch and by then my room was ready and my luggage already there. I found that everyone worked very hard to see that you were happy and they succeeded. The hotel is an open-air Javanese style building that is spread over a huge property. I loved my stay which seemed to go so well with my visits to Borobudur and Prambanan. I had hired a guide and driver for my four days and we filled them with sightseeing so I had a limited amount of time for the hotel and never got to enjoy the beautiful pools. My room, #525, had a small balcony overlooking the pools, gardens and in the distance, Mt. Merapi. The food was good and there were very large selections of ethnic dishes for everyone. It was delightful to just wander through the hotel since there was so much art and antiques. It was a short but sweet experience.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is facing Mt. Merapi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and it’s always great to hear that you enjoyed our service and facilities. We have conveyed your feedback to our associates and we do thank you for your review, your positive comments related with the room readiness experience really much valued for us to improve our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porto alegre, brasil
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

On our way to vivit Pambranam and Borobudur temples, we stayed at the Sheraton Mustika : thsi is a lovely hotel, full of grace: nice apartments, restaurant with a nice view, big and small pols in a greenish garden ! Do not miss it !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Executive_Office_SMY, General Manager at Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
May we extend our grateful for your kind words about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa. It is an honored to be able to give our best service and distinctive experience to you while you were staying with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back at our Resort in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa

Address: Jl Laksda Adisucipto KM 8.7, Depok, Yogyakarta 55282, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Depok
#4 Spa Hotel in Depok
#4 Luxury Hotel in Depok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort & Spa is offering unbeatable access to the must see attractions in the region, close to the UNESCO World Heritage Sites, and just minutes from International Airport. The night clubs entertainment are just within walking distance as it is in the hotel complex. In their warmly decorated guest rooms and suites, guests will enjoy private balconies and the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(TM) Bed - a nine-layered custom-designed ensemble boasting an exquisitely comfortable, plush mattress, fluffy down hypoallergenic pillows, crisp cotton sheets, cozy blanket and signature blanket and duvet. Hotel guests will enjoy dazzling views of the garden, pool, and mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Hotel Yogyakarta
Sheraton Yogyakarta
Yogyakarta Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Mustika Yogyakarta Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.