We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place & Strategic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cakra Kusuma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cakra Kusuma Hotel to your Saves list
Cakra Kusuma Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Kaliurang Km 5.2 No. 25, Depok, Yogyakarta, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Depok
Depok, Indonesia
1 review
“Nice Place & Strategic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel Cakra Kusuma is a nice place to stay during your vacation to lovely town Jogjakarta. I stayed here 3 nights 4 days and I feel comfortable. Also the location is strategic and easy access to go everywhere. It's easy to find some restaurant or cafe surround the hotel location. Breakfast and afternoon tea/coffee very good. Just the hotel management should do some improvements in some part in the room, such as bathroom door and curtains. Overall good and nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with tiket.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CakraKusumaHotel, General Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear sanara_h

Its an honour to have you here as guest, thankyou so much for you to stay in Cakra Kusuma Hotel, Our hotel is the unique hotel that providing calm and relax athmosphere to stay, even we are not in malioboro street, you can reach that place only 10 minutes or less, because Cakra Kusuma Hotel is located on city.

Thanyou so much for caring us, And also we sorry for the Extra Bed, because we are the extrabed queen sized only, we already change the bathroom water tap to make sure guest statisfy with every detail in Cakra Kusuma Hotel.

Best Regards

Erwan Sakti
General Manager IC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
9
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

A lesson learned here. On reading the trip advisor reviews I must admit that I didn’t check to see who had written them. Had I done so we probably wouldn’t have stayed at this hotel. Not to put too fine a point on it ....... it simply doesn’t cater for Western guests.

We booked a superior room and on entering our room we thanked the gods that we didn’t book a standard room. The website photograph did not match our room! Our room was small, plain and void of any of those things one considers “normal” for a hotel stay. The most noticeable omission was drawers. There was a cupboard with hanging space but nowhere to store other clothing. This meant living out of our suitcases, something we both dislike immensely. The room did have a queen size bed which was quite firm, as were the pillows (one step below cement bags)! The bathroom housed a shower and a toilet. The hand basin was out in the room and only had a cold water tap. Try shaving with cold water ....... it hurts!

The buffet breakfast was great, if you were Asian. The only foods that came close to a Western breakfast were fresh fruit (not a wide range though), toast and eggs, though their idea of scrambled eggs was to make an omelette then chop it into small pieces. I finally took pity on the staff and explained the difference between an omelette and scrambled eggs (i.e. milk)! Any positive score the breakfast might have earned were lost completely by the horrible lukewarm coffee. No amount of milk would change its colour from black. Not once during our week long stay did I manage to get a cup of hot coffee. Also, whoever it was who came up with the concept of “beef bacon” should never be allowed in a kitchen anywhere in the world. After many years of trying, I have yet to find any of this repugnant substance that tastes like bacon. It has all the characteristics of lukewarm beef jerky rather than nice hot crispy crunchy bacon.

Ok, as much as the hotel and catering were a failure, the same wasn’t true of the staff. No, they didn’t speak very much English (thank goodness I speak read write Indonesian) but they were polite and pleasant to deal with. Hotel did do the basics – it was clean, the shower was adequate (it pulsed hot & warm) and the roof didn’t leak. Three laundries in close proximity, though you take your life in your hands trying to cross the road to one of them. The traffic is relentless, 24/7!

Bottom line – not a hotel most Westerners would find acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CakraKusumaHotel, General Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Mr kaandjp

Warm greeting from Cakra Kusuma Hotel Yogyakarta

Thankyou for choosing our hotel during your stay in Yogyakarta.
we are sorry due your inconvenience as you mention before about we are not hotel for westerners, it depends on our basic hotel concept smart and friendly traditional hotel, so we prioritize our culture of javanesse, we provide mostly indonesian food as our main or side dish. altough we provide western food as request. we are really thanks to you about all corrections, we about to fix it. and will recheck immediately.

Best Regards


Erwan Sakti
General Manager in Charge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This hotel is situated in a nice location and the ambiance is just great. The restaurant, the lobby the swimming pool are fantastic. The rooms are also decent sized but the bathroom is shabby. I had asked for an extra bed and paid in advance but they provided just two queen size beds. The bathroom had the water running in splurges. And one of the knobs of the water taps was missing. i had to use a tissue paper to operate it. The rooms are so far from the lobby that it takes a time for the services to arrive. Also the sleep quality is not so good as you can hear people moving in the corridor.

The break fast is average with more emphasis on local culinary. There is limited option to western cuisine. And whatever is there is not up to the mark.

But overall, this hotel is better than some other hotels I have stayed across Indonesia.

Room Tip: Do inspect the room properly before accepting it to avoid inconvenience later on. Especially check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BindutzAtmaja, General Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear mr Pradeep A

Its an honour to have you here as guest, thankyou so much for you to stay in Cakra Kusuma Hotel, Our hotel is the unique hotel that providing calm and relax athmosphere to stay, even we are not in malioboro street, you can reach that place only 10 minutes or less, because Cakra Kusuma Hotel is located on city.

Thanyou so much for caring us, And also we sorry for the Extra Bed, because we are the extrabed queen sized only, we already change the bathroom water tap to make sure guest statisfy with every detail in Cakra Kusuma Hotel.

Sincerely Yours

Nur Agung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

When i stay here last month, i get a great facility here. the hotel is so luxurious and cozy, the hotel is clean, the worker has good service, there are completely RECOMMENDED.
you can see the beautiful view if you stay in top floor

Room Tip: choose the top floor, you can see the beautifull view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nindy S, Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear

Greeting from smart and friendly traditional hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cakra Kusuma Hotel Yogyakarta and for taking the time to send your review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear that our great place is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel and hotel is so luxurious and cozy, the hotel is clean, the worker has good service

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours

Heri S. Buhori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solo, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Looking for a nice place to sleep over when in yogyakarta? There is Cakra Kusuma Hotel. With the exotic culture, there give an exotic feel with interior and exterior which strong at these java culture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nindy S, Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Alfad

Greeting from smart and friendly traditional hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cakra Kusuma Hotel Yogyakarta and for taking the time to send your review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear that our exotic culture is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel and interior and exterior which strong at these java culture.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours

Heri S. Buhori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

this hotel look small from outside, but when I came in, the building so neat, with traditional architecture. the swimming pool so clean with shades trees inside. The customer service is quite good, when I came to this hotel, the parking lot is full, but the local security help me to find the open area to park my car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nindy S, Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Iman Tamam

Greeting from smart and friendly traditional hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cakra Kusuma Hotel Yogyakarta and for taking the time to send your review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear that our building so neat with traditional architecture.is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel, the swimming pool so clean with shades trees inside and the local security help me to find the open area to park your car.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours

Heri S. Buhori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

i booked this hotel from online travel. i choose this hotel cause the current price is quite cheap among the other. and i really surprise, although this is just three starts hotels, but the hotel was very good and the service are very nice, friendly and very polite. the building is old, but maybe cause it, the traditional atmosphere was very exquisite around the hotel. i love the food, cause really yogyakarta taste. location ya... surrounded by areas prone to misfire but it's ok, i still can get around jogja. great hotel,maybe i can called excellent hotel with great price, i mean low price actually. i will stay in here again while i come into jogja.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nindy S, Manager at Cakra Kusuma Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Ariana P

Greeting from smart and friendly traditional hotel in Yogyakarta…

Thank you for choosing to stay at Cakra Kusuma Hotel Yogyakarta and for taking the time to send your review on TripAdvisor.

It is nice to hear that our the traditional atmosphere is your very satisfactory choice in Yogyakarta and we really appreciate your kind remark about our hotel and for food.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely yours,


Heri S. Buhori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cakra Kusuma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cakra Kusuma Hotel

Address: Jl. Kaliurang Km 5.2 No. 25, Depok, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > Yogyakarta > Depok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Depok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cakra Kusuma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Smart and Friendly traditioal hotel located near by UGM the popular University in Jogja Indonesia, consist of 70 rooms incl. suites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cakra Kusuma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cakra Kusuma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.